We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best if no frills expected”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Florence
Ranked #133 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“still the best if no frills expected”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

2nd times at the establishment .Actually I was supposed to stay at my friend's home but his babydaughter was slightly ill so I did opt to pop again at the florence nearby for a night.
Well so far it seems has improved a lot since my first time here, new flat tv set, new bed and so on. At the time I did reach the reception I put myself on a cue waiting for the check in process and I realised the absolute brilliant performances of the front desk clerk dealing with 3 russian ladies and two US guest and 1 japanese chap......that's was real human multitasking.
Room rate is 70 euro which as far as myself is concern it is worth, guest walking around the hotel is well groomed ,mostly europeans and russian and few from far east . Breakfast is fairly good but surely there is room for improvement. They keep an eye shut to bring food and drinks from the nearby supermarket. The evening clerk help me out to find the nearest bialetti coffee shop maker and he was very effective.At the end the rate is 10 out of ten and keep going.

Room Tip: top floor mates
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renelavary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest
We are really happy to have confirmed the positive impression he had of us and at the same time you have noticed the improvements made. Our reception manager, Alex, thanks you personally for your compliments. We consider valuable your suggestions for improvement and we will try to do better.
We hope that for your next trip to Milan you'll choose to come directly to the Hotel Florence and consider us as your second home in Milan.

We take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    193
    82
    18
    11
See reviews for
82
122
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spend a night and enjoyed a good rest. The receptionist was really kind and spoke Spanish what was an advantage for us. The hotel is located 300m from a metropolitan (metro) line that took us to Il Doumo in 20 minutes.
The area looked safe and there is a plaza just in front with games for the kids.
Our room was quiet even when there was over the very transited street. It also have a nice private terrace with two chairs and a table.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest,
We are happy to have left you such a good impression despite the short stay. It's a pleasure for us to be able to accommodate our guests speaking in their mother tongue, so as to put them immediately at ease and help them to enjoy the most of their vacation. We hope you'll come back in Italy soon and that will choose our hotel again, but with the promise to stay longer!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Were encouraged to book this hotel because of rhe rave reviews and think there must have been some crisis since they were written, as we did not experience anything like the same as other guests for our two night stay.
The most positive part of our stay was Alex- as mentioned by many others - who was very helpful and cheerful at all times. He is far too good for this hotel quality. Also the breakfast was a very good spread for an Italian cold buffet and the serving staff were good.t. There were a few strange offerings on the buffet: coleslaw, prawns (tinned?) and olives, but no forks to eat these with. The dining room chairs were filthy.
The bedroom appeared clean and had a good bed. The bathroom had a ridiculous sliding door and a step so you had to enter up and sideways. One bulb had burnt out over the mirror in the bathroom. There was no information at all in the room regarding T.V. Wifi or fire exits.

Two lights over the desk were burnt out and not replaced. Alex did provide a small lamp but apparently there were no more bulbs available. This seemed to be the case throughout the hotel as many bulbs were burnt out. The bedside lamps were low energy and it was impossible to read by them. Most of the lights in the corridor were the same and were on automatic control, so often we were walking half in the dark. Also the lounge area was not lit up while I was using the free internet for an hour.
WIFI was on/off in the room all the time and having separate codes for every device every day for two of us was ridiculous. (Two laptops, two phones). We were on business and were frustrated at not being able to deal with our work for 2 days because of this. The broadband in the lounge area was on/off all the time and there was no desk space in the lounge area to sit with a laptop. It was also in a wind corridor as the back door was left permanently open by the girls and owner in the breakfast room.
The stair carpets were filthy.
We were told by another receptionist that we were only allowed one city map per room as he had only 10 left! As we were going separate ways we found this ridiculous.
There is secure parking for 2-3 cars only as the owner parks his large van there as well. The car park is used by the owner's dog as a toilet and dog mess was by our car for the two days it was parked there. On leaving the hotel, the owner got very stroppy as he had to move his van to let us out and seemingly my husband was not getting the car out fast enough for him, so he hurled a lot of abuse, joined in by his wife. He was altogether a very unpleasant man who sat around in the breakfast room all morning reading his paper.
On check out we were asked to pay city taxes in cash and were very unpopular when we refused.
The whole hotel needs a facelift and a change of management.
The final straw for us was that we discovered 1 inch of water on the bedroom floor as we were going to bed as the very heavy rain had actually come though the closed window. We had to use all the bath towels to moep up and in the process found previous guests' toiletries under the bed.
We visit Milan several times a year and have stayed in many hotels there and elsewhere, but will never recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Proprietario at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for writing your testimony very valuable for us.
First of all, thank you for pointing out the quality of our services, ranging from reception staff always available and ready to meet the needs of our guests, the offer of our breakfast buffet, which tries to satisfy the tastes of our international clientele who appreciate the assortment of seafood, meats, cheeses, pastries and Italian products.
The olives, shrimp and more are highly appreciated by customers, just because elevate the standard of our buffet compared to the other three star hotel our competitors. We are sorry that you found it “strange”.

With regard to your room, we are happy you appreciated our beds recently renewed and of first quality.
There are sliding doors in the bathrooms for reasons of space, so as not to obstruct the movement of guests. They are functional and provide privacy. To be sure no one had never described as "ridiculous".
We apologize for the problem on the lights in your room, which were promptly replaced.
There are no instructions for the TV ( normal one, not Pay TV) since the use of a remote control does not need instruction.
The use of the Wi-Fi is explained at check-in and each guest receive a ticket with an individual username and password for each device. This is in compliance with the Italian Law that for security reasons obliges us to provide different passwords to control each access.
Finally, in every room there is a folder with the instructions indicating the evacuation in case of fire and is translated into 4 languages, in compliance with legal obligations. Given your attention to details that can be seen from your review, we are surprised you’ve not seen it.

The automatic light in the corridor responds to the needs of energy saving. The hotel management is sensitive to environmental issues and contrary to the waste and try to raise awareness among our guests to do the same. However, there are lights on the stairs that light up the corridor so as not to leave anyone in the dark.
The case of the lights not working is possible, but as you can imagine, the wear in the hotel is very high and this can happen, but were promptly replaced. This certainly does not make our hotel gloomy and inhospitable. The several positive reviews , compared to the few negative ones, prove this.

In the lounge Wi-Fi is fully functional, moreover there are two computers flanked by two small desks often used by our guests for work. We are sorry you haven’t seen them , you could have asked to Alex, he would have been happy to show them.
Many of our guests use this place with satisfaction, cause they like to work with music in the background were is possible also to order a drink at the bar open 24 hours.
The back door is kept open during the morning cleaning to ensure good ventilation. We are sorry to have given trouble, although there is no air flow and the temperature outside was still very pleasant (about 20 degrees on average). Here, too, if he had asked we would have close it.

The car parking in our hotel is housed in an inner courtyard of the building dating back to the '30s. For obvious reasons it is not huge and for practical management reasons and to avoid traffic jams annoying for guests, we do not park more than 3 cars at a time. No one has ever complained before or has never entered into the merits of managerial decisions that have nothing to do with the quality of the stay. We are sorry that you not agree with the policy, but we realize that we can not please everyone.

With regard to the unfortunate incident recounted , I apologize for the treatment that has been reserved to you . To tell the truth, that morning the person who had to park his Van waited for several minutes for you to finish your phone call, regardless of the waiting of that person , creating to him traffic problems on the road. Maybe it has created nervousness for which we apologize once again.

The dog that you mentioned , belongs to one of the partners and not the owner ,who is a woman of 35 years. It does not use the car park as a toilet , since it uses the dog areas in the park in front of the hotel . It is also a polite, clean dog and it do not attend the common area. We are a dog friendly hotel and many of our guests appreciate our philosophy and choose us for this reason.
Finally, we do not understand how the silent partner who reads the newspaper in a separated room , can be unpleasant and disturbing .

The maps of Milan are given to each customer. The receptionist gave you 2 the first day. One morning you asked for a third one, and when the employee asked where you had the one given the first day, you replied that you had left it in the room and that anyway you and your colleague had to go in two different places. The receptionist, pointing out that there were not many available, however the waste, has given you another one .

City tax is required in cash, because the City of Milan does not reimburse the costs of the banking committee of transactions to us hoteliers. However the City tax is included in the income of the room and in the receipt. We ask all customers to pay in cash, but do not force anyone to do it. We proceed to charge the credit card with those who refuse.

Finally, we inform you that the Hotel Florence is constantly engaged in renovation works, the most important of which are scheduled for the end of the year. We would be very pleased if you would come back to stay with us so that you can personally verify. Knowing now all your needs, we are sure to meet all and satisfy them.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Florence for three nights with my brother in May 2013. This little older type hotel is located near a metro station allowing access to various places to visit in Milan, and faces a nice quiet park. Inside lobby/sitting area is cosy and has computers available. Rooms are fair-sized, comfortable and very clean. Bathrooms with shower only are well equipped and offer sufficient amenities. Breakfast room offers a buffet-style breakfast with everything from bread and croissants, to cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, vegetables, pies and cakes; espresso, cappuccino or other-style coffee is made on demand by staff-member at bar, where juice, water and other beverages are also available. WiFi access throughout hotel. Reasonably priced. Hotel manager and staff are discrete, friendly and always ready to assist. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies in front or at back of hotel. Hotel is on quiet street and faces park if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest,
is indeed a pleasure to receive comments like yours! In a few sentences you caught the spirit and the mission of our work : to maintain our identity as a family hotel but at the same time professional, who devotes much of its commitment to provide a rich and pleasant service to that the guest can carry with them as a souvenir .
We really hope to see you again soon, come back again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

A well presented hotel that represents good value for money when staying in Milan. Located in a quieter part of the city 2 blocks from the top end of Buenos Aires it provides access to transport and around a 25min walk to the busy hub of Milan....it's is around 50min walk to the Duomo / Piazza.
The room was a fair size and overall quite clean except for the shower which was simply showing its age with some cracking and minor mould.
The staff were approachable and friendly, always happy to provide information and directions. Their English was also good.
The only thing that I think could be improved significantly is the breakfast offering. If you like pastries, cured meats, cheeses and similar deli items you might think differently.....however I would have liked a broader offering to cater for various tastes. I would have given 4 stars if breakfast was more impressive.
Overall, I would stay here again and don't be put off by the excessive graffiti in the area....it adds character.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. It's really important for us to have positive feedback on our service, the location and the quality of our breakfast. We would be very pleased if you'd come back and visit us to taste our enriched breakfast assortment

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We flew into Milan from Australia and stayed our first 3 nights at Hotel Florence before heading for Stresa – Lake Maggiore.
This is a small hotel in a great location not far from via Buenos Aries and Loretto train station. If you have concerns about getting around, be assured the Metro trains and trams are fabulous and easy to use in Milan. As mentioned Alex and other front of house staff are helpful and happy to speak English. The hotel has a lift but we did encounter 3-4 stairs to get to our room which might be problem for some people.
The breakfast buffet was great and the girls were very good at making coffee. The Free internet access and WIFI is of course always appreciated and handy for travellers with i-phones. I made sure my phone was unlocked and bought an Italian sim card with TIM for the month including internet access for less than $15 Euros – Fantastic – don’t even consider Telstra global roaming.
Our room faced the street with a small balcony overlooking a tree filled park/piazza. The room has aircon so the windows can be kept closed which is important in a country where mosquitoes are terrorists!
You need to be aware that this is a noisy location by city standards, even with double glazed windows. ! If noise is an issue for you might be worth seeing if it’s possible to get a room not facing either road (corner location). If I was a party girl I definitely would have gone to the bar just across the intersection – this place was “happening” until 5am every morning! The noise when the party ends, has to be heard to be believed! Being more a gelati type – don’t miss the artisan gelato just opposite the park – the pistachio flavour is the best I had in Italy during the month.
This hotel represents value by Milan standards – but be aware that and price paid for 3 & 4 star hotels in Milan will get you a five star in many other places.

Room Tip: A room not facing either road may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanivagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Sir,
thanks for the review so detailed.
Thanks from the staff of the reception, (Alex, Stefano, Ovidio and Silvana), by the breakfast staff and the room mate staff.
We would be happy to have you back as our guest again, maybe during the Christmas period, so as to discover the beauty of Milan during another season of the year!

A warm greeting from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like others who have previously reviewed this hotel, we found the staff at the hotel to be great. In particular the manager who was the first Italian local we had the pleasure of meeting. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Florence_staff, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Florence, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Mr. Brian,

thank you very much for your rewiew from the Manager and all the Staff.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest !
We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Hotel Florence Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel San Francisco
#102 of 428 in Milan
537 reviews
Aspromonte Hotel
#151 of 428 in Milan
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palladio
#64 of 428 in Milan
390 reviews
Lido Hotel
#69 of 428 in Milan
280 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#202 of 428 in Milan
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Aspromonte 22, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing