We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i hate it”
Review of Verona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Verona Hotel
Ranked #387 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 22 August 2011

the staff is not friendly.
the facilities in room is not good
-fan is not working and noisy.
-bathroom's water will stuck when we bath
-dusty window
-dirty wall
location
-few minutes walk to the central station
-noisy street at night

*it totally spoil out mood of the milan trip and the sleep quality is low staying in this hotel *

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jujuneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

Clean, walking distance to central train station, which is great, cheap and the staff are great.
BUT walls and doors are paper thin, windows are old, tv doesn't work, the walk from central station is very scary. I can hear conversations going on behind my door, people keep banging into my door. It's midnight and the bar directly below, open most evenings, apperas to have invited all of milan's youth to sing songs in the street.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbarellaOcchiBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I had no high expectations about a 1star hotel, but at least appropriate heating at the end of November I did expect. On the first two days it seemed they turned on it only for a couple of hours in afternoon and at a rather moderate level. Even 2 blankets were so so, even if normally I am not the one who freezes. And the staff considered it necessary to leave the window open after the room cleaning!

The guys at the reception are at 1 star level. No interest in their job (rather facebook on pc), as if they know that guests will never return to the place.

The cleanliness was so so. One day nobody came to clean the room, probably because I went out 'too late' - around 11 a.m. On arrival there were hair in the bathroom, it didn't seem well-cleaned.

Bathroom was a disaster. There is no shower cabin or curtain, just the shower itself attached to the wall and a whole in the floor for water to run away. It means that everything gets wet and actually I had to remove all towels, toilet paper etc from the bathroom before taking the shower. Water leaked into the room, too.

The only good thing was the location - it was also the main reason I chose this place as I wanted to stay within a walking distance from everywhere paying less than 40 euro per night (single room).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We are a young couple with a relatively small budget, so we opted for the cheapest hotel we could find (at that time) in a decent area.
The location is pretty good - it's close to the Central Station (trains, direct bus lines to all the airports and metro) and Piazza Repubblica (metro, suburban railway station). Even if you decide to walk to the center, it doesn't take long at all.
The staff was a bit unprofessional on occasion (we booked the hotel through a website for a lower price they asked us to pay at the end, but we got that figured out in a short while), but very kind overall. Our room wasn't big, the bathroom was very small, but it was decent considering the price. The biggest problem we had was the air-conditioning (or, more accurately, the lack of it). We stayed there in late November and we had to sleep in sweatshirts.
Also, although we didn't expect much of a breakfast, it was very poor - and, if you're avoiding sugary food for any reason, you can just skip it.

Long story short - if you're looking for a comfortable hotel, avoid this one. There are way more comfortable one-star hotels in Milan. But, if you're looking for a cheap hotel on a decent location, this might be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikingQueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Pretty basic hotel which was OK for a crash pad near (ish) the main station. Drab, quaint and extremely dated but no real problems with cleanliness. Reception desk were happy to help with taxis and such. Just don't expect more than the basics.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank science_299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Have been traveling across Italy, stayed in the hotel Verona two nights, and was completelly happy with my choice. Two nights costed me 50 euros each. Arrived at 19 in the evening and had no problems with late arrival. Staff is ok, depends on who is at the desk, generally good service.

Double room (I had a chance to see several, as hotel had empty rooms) usually consists of proper (not two singles put together) double bed, wardrobe, tv table, two bed tables, air conditioner.

TV is working: main italian chanels and MTV.

Air conditioner isn's very helpful, but still is ok. Room is cleaned every day, bed sheets and towels all clean and changed every day.

Bathroom is clean, not smelly or anything. The drain on the floor is working really well and overall shower is much better than it may look at the picture. The system at Hotel Verona appears to be much more comfortable than usual shower tube. Shower gel & shampoo and soap are provided (no hair conditioner), however I recommend women better use their own shampoo. Hair dryer is proveded at reception on request free of charge.

Breakfast is ok, better than most budget hotel would have: cereals, chockolate cereals, croisants, jams, butter and honey. Juice is only of one kind, which one is still a secret to me (defenately not natural, but you won't find natural at most budger hotels).

Area of hotel is actually one of my favourite to stay, as is in the middle between rail station and centre. Porto Venezia is also close by, where two large supermarkets can be found. Hotel is also close to Porto Garibaldi - a nightlife area.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone on budget, however for 65+ euros per night it is possible to find something better. For under 60 euros - this hotel is one of best you may find.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Hotel staff is not helpful and concerned only on the commission it could get.

My room does not has any shutters and there is only a very transparent curtain. My quality of sleep is therefore bad.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cistine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 428 in Milan
6,461 reviews
Bicocca
B&B Central Hostel Milano
B&B Central Hostel Milano
#110 of 283 in Milan
210 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Hotel

Address: Via Carlo Tenca 12, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Hotel Class:1 star — Verona Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Verona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing