We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #297 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'm confused by all of the negative reviews because honestly this place serviced our needs just fine. If you are looking for a location extremely close to the train station and with friendly staff and amazing prices then go here! Also a close walk to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comment, Rebecca S. We hope to see you soon in Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    52
    34
    37
See reviews for
19
66
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crailsheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I just booked this hotel for short city trip and as I travel through the Italy by train, it was important for me to stay close to central train station...when I entered to standard single room....the first view was....ufff....terrible smell in room, terrible bed...you're afraid even to touch something. People are not animals!!! Even for those prices!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category: 35,00 euro, city tax included. Possibly the cheapest price in town.Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price.
We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it.
Finally, we would like to add, that we love animals as human beings and we are glad to host them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We needed a hotel for just a few hours.
Virgilio Hotel in Milan was the perfect choice for this, as it is really near the central station (only 5 minutes).

Yet, this - the lobby - and the friendly personal was the only positive things.
The bathroom was shared and its condition really bad. I was glad not to be in a need of using it too much. For example, there was no curtain between shower and the toilet.

The room was - despite the bed - quite bad. The condition was low. For example only one plug in the room, which was also kind of broken (it was working but no save).

One more point, that was really bad, was the city tax. As an 2-star hotel. we should pay 2 Euro per Person (1-Star - 1 €, 3 Star - 2 €). Yet we had to pay 3 Euro p.P. Although we didn't get any receipt for it, so if you stay there make sure to ask for it.

One more thing was the wifi. We got an password for it, but it didn't work at all.

To sum up:
+Location
+Friendly personal
+Good lobby
+Clean towels

-Condition of the rooms
-overpriced room and tourist tax!
We payed way to much!! This room was not worth more than 20 (max. 30) Euro together!!)
-WiFi not working
-Wrong pictures in the internet. The real condition of the rooms is much worse.


To sum up: Its ok to stay for a night, but i don't recommend it if you find something better, stay longer or avalable alternative solutions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank And S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOwner2013, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Virgilio, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
A big thank you from the front desk staff.
We suppose that the room this guest refers to, belongs to our most economic category without private bath. Possibly the cheapest price in town. Of course we have a choice of rooms with more facilities at a slightly price. We have just reopen after two months of renovation. There are still a few things to do, but we are working on it, especially for the cheap rooms without private bath. At last, we believe that shower curtains aren't hygienic, so we prefer not to use it
Our two stars hotel has to pay to the Comune di Milano a city tax of three euro for guest for night.
Everybody can have at the reception the receipt.
1 ✩ - euro 2
2 ✩✩ - euro 3
3 ✩✩✩ - euro 4
4 ✩✩✩✩ - euro 5
5 ✩✩✩✩✩ - euro 5
Wifi is free. One month ago we made a contract for fibra 100 with fastweb. With our disappointment they wire Adsl 20! We requested to comply with the contract. They have to respect the contract as soon as possible.
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#381 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Malta Hotel
#252 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#211 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#292 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Hotel Edy
#209 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Pier Luigi da Palestrina 30, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Virgilio 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2-Star Hotel recently renovated, located in avery quiet though central area, close to the Central Station and to the Underground lines.We offer double and single rooms with bathroom and amenities, and Economy rooms, with shared bathroom.Breakfast not includedin the room price, available upon request in a conventioned bistrot nearby.Snacks and hot/cold drinks distributors in the hall.Small size dogs allowed upon management approval.No smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing