We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor...food could be better!”
Review of A Summer Place - CLOSED

A Summer Place
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stazione Centrale
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great decor...food could be better!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very cozy reasturant, excellent decor, fast and good service! Staff was very polite and they tried their best to serve us and answer a few questions we had about food and the sourrounding area. We had pizza and Cotolette Milanese. Pizza was great but the cotolette was nothing special...we expected something more tasty and more...italian! Fair prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demos95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

It rained a lot when we were here so it was nice to find a reasonable hotel close to our hotel,the westin palace, where we could get to without getting too wet. Had an enjoyable meal ther the staff were very pleasant and it had a nice ambience . The food was good not fabulous but very good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maureenManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nice budget restaurant with friendly staff and an Italian menu. Odd quirks in the decor but more than happy and will return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No love in food and service”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a disappointment to us, and we really don't understand the good reviews at TA. You can get so much better food in Italy, with much more love prepared, this was the worst restaurant in our 5 day stay in Milan. The restaurant is indeed cozy, we were there on Saturday evening. Every table has different tableware and different glasses, which adds to the atmosphere. But the food is not so good. Maybe we should have tried the pizza! The complimentary bread was dry and hard. We ate the Salade Caprese, but the tomatoes were tasteless and hard. For main course we had the veal cutlet and the entrecôte. The portions were large, a whole plate full with meat, and maybe that's the reason for good reviews. But it didn't look and taste appetizing. Although the entrecôte -not medium done as ordered, but rather raw- was moderate. The veal cutlet however was tasteless and dry, and it needed a lot of lemon juice to get it swallowed. We noticed that the two waiters were hard working but they were not attentive, and mainly in a hurry. No room for small talk. We ate half the main course and left within 45 minutes without coffee and desert. I don't think they cared because the waiters were busy with a large group that walked in. Not so nice place to spend a Saturday evening to wine and dine. Although not expensive, to much money for this quality. But maybe it's good if you want to have a very fast dinner with pizza.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A must visit for a delicious meal in a relaxed atmosphere, no rushing you out of the door.”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The food is great, and is reasonably priced, three courses and a couple of drinks each for two came to €63, that and the fact that many Italians, of all age groups, eat there is, in itself, sufficient recommendation.

The starter of Tuscany ham and salami with black olive pate was out of this world, as was the ravioli with meat and tomato sauce.
Portions are good-sized and the tiramisu to finish was delicious and plentiful.

Highly recommended and very close to a tram stop for tram number 1 or tram number 33. (Less than a minutes walk.)
It's worth making the effort to attempt Italian pronunciation when ordering as it engages the staff.

It's located just across the road from the Hotel Sanpi Milano where we stayed. That's also highly recommended.

Finally, it may not look as if it is in the most elegant of locations but it is very safe, spray paint seems to adorn buildings everywhere in Milan!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mezonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Summer Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing