We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #82 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The staff at the hotel is what makes it stand out. The place is reasonably priced, outside the center but with good transport, the rooms nice but not great and there is everything you need. What makes this hotel better than good for us was the friendly staff that always smiled helped out and remembered us even if we were only there a short time, also its nice that they care about the environment having biologic products in the restaurant, the bathroom and other details like that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AskeNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your review, the words you said about our staff. We are pleased that you noticed the high quality of our organic food.
We will be pleased to have you back.

Arrivederci!
La Direzione e lo Staff dell'Eco Hotel La Residenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is far away from city center. Yes you are 5 minutes away from "Affori central" subway station, but it takes a good 25 minutes then to get to Dome by subway. I can't really tell why they call it "eco-hotel" apart from the paper furniture downstairs and some fruit products available at breakfast. I think this is just a cover for keeping overall costs at a low level.
Staff was nice and friendly, breakfast was ok, rooms were clean and standard size, but without fridge, wi-fi internet is free and it works fine. It's difficult to sleep with the air conditioning on, and if you want to open the windows, you're in great danger of getting bitten by mosquitoes as Milan is full of them. For mini-bar you need to ask for a separate key. Beer at the downstairs bar is 5.5 EUR !!!

Room Tip: there were heavy workings going on at the building to the left of the hotel, so try to get a room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BogdanGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for the time you spent reviewing our hotel and for the appreciation for the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the room, wi-fi connection and the quality of our breakfast. We are very sorry to read that you didn’t appreciate neither see the environmental sustainability of our structure. Some aspects are clear, for example the furniture of the Biologic Bar that you noted as well; some others are not visible for example: we have water and energy saving systems installed in every room and public areas. We also adopt a natural system called "Quantum hotel" to eliminate all the bacteria and the limestone from the water. All the lamps you find in our hotel are Energy-saving.
All our guests are asked to be aware when they use bath towels: the request of a change has to be done only if necessary to avoid waste of Energy and water.
The toiletries in your room, as well as the detergents used for cleaning are completely biodegradable and environmentally friendly. Our mission of respect for the environment, it is a constant commitment that we carry on every day with passion and reliability.
"Ecoworldhotel" is a company that classifies structures by assigning from 1 to 5 leaves according to the actions adopted to reduce the environment impact. We got 3 leaves and the long list of actions adopted are available at the front desk in out "environmental policy".
Anyway, we want to thank you for letting us know your point of view, so that we can improve the way we communicate our green policy.
Regarding the distance from the city centre, on Google map it is quite easy to check our location in Milan. Our location is available on our website and on the main booking websites. Often our customers appreciate the fact that we are in a residential area of the city, next to a big park and well connected to the city centre: in 15 minutes you can get there by underground.
Regarding the noise of the air condition: we checked and the unit works fine. The noise you heard was the minimum for its operating. Anyway we are sorry if that bothered you.
Regarding the prices of drinks at the bar: our prices comply with the ones you find in Milan. € 5.50 for a large beer (0,66 cl) is not expensive in Milan. It is an average price.
We remind you that with just € 5.00 in our hotel you can have 2 bottles of water, 2 soft drinks and a little bottle of Prosecco wine from organic farm.

Hope to have you back in our hotel to show in details our environmental policy.

Best regards,

Eco Hotel La Residenza Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My family and I reserved well ahead based on the good ratings. Although there was graffiti around the neighborhood, it was not a reflection of our experience here. Staff was nice, although we had a slight issue with one of the rooms that I canceled well ahead of schedule. One member I think limited by his English did not understand what I was explaining until another member came in to rescue the situation. Overall, it served our purpose which was a place to sleep. Breakfast options were nice. Lastly, it was close to the metro (Affori central) which was easy to take into town.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your positive review and we are sorry about the misunderstanding for the room.
We hope to welcome you next time to our hotel.
Best Regards

Eco Hotel – La Residenza management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staff was pleasant, they all spoke English, and I found them to be extremely helpful. Yes, they did keep our passports to make copies, which was a little odd, but it was fine. The hotel itself is a little old and outdated, but we were not staying for modernity. It served our purpose which was to have a good night's sleep in a safe, clean place, and that is what we got. We stayed here our last two nights in Italy and 3 of 4 of us agreed that is was the quietest, most restful sleep we had gotten on our 17 day journey. The towels are super big and the shower is hot, and the breakfast is amazing. Rooms are small, but it's Italy. I agree with previous writer that there is a lot of graffiti, but we never felt unsafe in this neighborhood, and we did walk through the park at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Marietta,

thank you very much for your comment. Your review confirming that our work is recognised by our customers.
Hope to see you soon.
L'aspettiamo

The management and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First off, the neighborhood is plagued with graffiti and I was advised not to walk through the park at night BUT it's a "great neighborhood" as mentioned by hotel staff. It's far away from the city center appx 25 minutes by train. When we tried checking into the hotel, some of the hotel staff was not meant to be front desk, as they were loud and very rude. We were told to leave our passports at the front desk so they could make copies and get our information and come back in 15 minutes to collect our passports. My friend and I mentioned it wasn't a problem, we'll wait for our passports and proceeded to wait when we were again urged to go to our rooms by this bossy front desk guy. Again my friend told him, we'll wait & we're not comfortable leaving our PP and he got offended and then we ended up yelling at him and then he gave us our PP back when we was finished. I've traveled to so many places and never once have I ever experienced this urgency to leave my PP and go visit my room. I've never gotten a request like this is my life. We were given 2 passes to 2 free drinks and when we tried to redeem them, we were told we could only receive one. The room was not modern, the linens were hideous, that we tossed them on the floor and the hotel itself was not an "eco hotel." The only good thing abt this hotel was basically the breakfast which had an array of items and that's why it only got 2 votes of mine. ALSO they were charging a fee of $2.99 for your entire stay to use the wifi, which I ASSUMED IT to be free as listed on their website. You know it was a rip off bc HOTELS usually charge $2.99 per night not your entire stay. However, I figured out the password and didn't pay as the password is basically the same password they use to log into their computers which they limit the use to an hour per day, and their PCs didn't even work and the staff didn't know how to use it! TERRIBLE! Never again! You should pay your money and stay somewhere else even if it's a bit extra. STAY AWAY!
STAFF NEEDS TO BE TRAINED ON NOT BEING LITTLE TYRANTS WITH POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE & BAD ATTITUDE.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Direttore at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Mrs Sara K.

Thank you very much because your review helps us to be aware of the problems our guests could have during their stay. You wrote about “the neighborhood is plagued with graffiti”. Everywhere in Milan you find graffiti, even in the very centre and this doesn’t mean that the neighborhood is dangerous.

We have been running this hotel for more than ten years and we have never been reported any dangerous situation or facts happened in our “neighborhood plugged with graffiti”. Considering the distance from the city centre we are at nine stops from the city centre and the underground station is at 300 meters. As you can read, all the guests appreciate our location and the proximity to public transport and the park.
.
Concerning the documents we do not understand the situation you describe. Italian law obligates the hotels to register all the guests at the check in. Maybe there was a misunderstanding on the copy of the documents; this could avoid a waste of time. If the desk is busy with many people waiting we propose to go to the room and come back later to collect the documents.

It makes no difference for us to offer one or two free drinks and when the guests need to get them, people at the bar do not make any problem.

Our hotel has been renovated six years ago with a classic style, quite traditional as you can read in the previous reviews, this style is very appreciated. We can assure you that our hotel is an “Eco Hotel” certificated with three leaves by the ”Eco World Hotel”, a company that last year received “The President of the Republic's National Prize” for our actions towards the low environmental impact and the use of natural products also in the lines we use.

Concerning the wi-fi: we have been offering free wi-fi connection since June 2013 and we offer a free wi-fi service even if this new policy is not yet available on booking web sites. You said that you used the password that we give to the people at the bar to surf with your computer in your room, this will have certainly limited the access to the net at the people of the bar. We usually asked for 2,50 euro for wi-fi connection valid for all the guests’ stay and we have always considered that a nominal fee. We limited the use at the public access point at the bar at one hour to give everybody the chance to use it.

We usually get the highest score on our trained staff, you can check it on the previous reviews. Maybe your opinion was influenced by the misunderstanding during the check-in and this changed your opinion on everything.

We do our work with great passion and this is recognized on a daily basis by all our customers. We are sure that our future customers will appreciate this commitment and at the same time we would like to prove it to everybody in the near future

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It was a quick decision from my side, booking a room in this hotel, but it absolutely did worth it. I spent one night there, but it matched with my expectations. Finding the hotel was not a problem, around 10 minutes merto ride from the centre of Milano (Milano Centrale, yellow line, M3, till Affori Centro), after coming up from the metro, there was a sign with the name of the hotel,, to show the correct direction. Arriving the staff was really helpful and friendly, both at reception and in the restaurant. They also didn't mind speaking English. My room was fine, clean, comfortable for one person. No trouble with keys, internet connection was also perfect. The dinner was delicious, the portions are well-sized. Nice breakfast buffet with a big variety of fresh food. I was totally satisfied, the price was also correct, absolutely worth booking this hotel. I would like to spend more time there, and I can recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Milano.
Thank you very much for the nice experience! Grazie mille!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoraVajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Madame,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate tour comment.
Best Regards
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after driving from the Uk, we just needed somewhere for the car to have a rest and to lay our head!

We had a reasonable stay, room was ok, hotel was reasonably priced and only a tube journey away from the centre of Milan, the station is only a 5min walk from the hotel, the area itself isn't amazing, there is not much to do and it can feel rather intimidating but that's hardly the hotels fault.
Drinks/food were rather expensive, we had 1 evening meal, admittedly it was nice but we were on a much too strict budget ;-) Breakfast had a good choice and the coffees were very nice!

There was a lovely waiter called Roberto, who was lovely & very helpful when we mentioned we were travelling to Venice the following day, the lady in the breakfast room was very nice and bubbly too.
We had electical issues in the room which meant we could not use our phones/tablet as they needed charging but they refunded the cost of the WiFi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile reception at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Madame,

thank you very much for your report.
We would like to inform you that our hotel is situated in an elegant residential area of Milano;
near one park and with a lot of green things all around.
In our hotel we serve only biologic, biodinamyc and organic food.
For these reasons our costs are higher than normally food, but inside resonable prices.
We are sorry about the electricity but was not under our control.

Hoping to see you again in our hotel.
We remain with our best regards.

The managemente and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#166 of 428 in Milan
6,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#154 of 428 in Milan
248 reviews
Acca Palace
#52 of 428 in Milan
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel La Residenza

Address: Via Vittorio Scialoia 3, 20161 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £44 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel La Residenza 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Hotel La Residenza is a pleasant and modern 3-star environmentally friendly hotel in Milan, where you can feel at home in a relaxing family atmosphere. The historical old town centre of Milan, central station and main sights are all within reach, thanks to the Metropolitana underground MM3 Affori Centro station in the nearest vicinity. Our bio-restaurant offers delicious wellness menus made from organic, biodynamic farming foodstuffs (the ‘zero-kilometre’ principle) and branded with a Fairtrade certificate mark. We invite you to discover old, long-forgotten tastes of the traditional local cuisine. Our Organic Chef specialises in preparing excellent risottos in all seasons. We recommend trying at least one of the 15 risottos on the bio-menu. We also specialise in preparing ad-hoc menus for vegetarians, vegans and people with coeliac disease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eco-Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing