We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, but good price/quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #80 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a citytrip in Milan.
The price of the hotel is good and totally worth the money.
Service is good, staff is very friendly.
The free wifi connection was also good.
Rooms are a bit old fashioned, and totally not sound proof.

Breakfast was good, but not enough space for everyone.
Could happen that you had to sit with strangers at a table.
And the juices taste chemical, definately not ecologic.

The hotel asks you to leave your key at the reception every time you leave the hotel.
If you return you can get your key at the reception. One time, after a misunderstanding we received the key from another room. From that moment we decided to keep the key with us.

Location is okay, outside the city center, but there is a subway station within 5 minutes walking. There is also a big supermarket close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Patrick,

thank you for writing this review about us and for your stay in our EcoHotel.
We are sorry for the mistake with the key, but we ask every time to leave it at the reception, only for security reason (in case something happens, we know if you are or not in your room).
About the breakfast, maybe there were a lot of people that morning because we were fully booked, but we have a lot of table in breakfast room, for about 50 people.
We are sorry about the juice that you said was chemical, because 90% of our products are from organic farming.
Anyway, we would like to invite you to stay another time in our EcoHotel.
Ciao e arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Eco-Hotel La Residenza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hello there from Cyprus! We have stayed there for 4 days with my family last week. Very nice and clean. Economy solution also.Very important, NO hidden charges. (only have in mind the city tax which is paid ceparately) As we had to travel around to see Milano and Venice we didnt stay for long time inside but i can say that the staff its very kind and friendly, speaking english (important for those that travelling to italy to know basic italian-how at least to order food). Breakfast its nice. I loved the butters!!:)) Room was cleaned every day. Quiet area. A park is nearby for the kids to play. So a very good and thank you siniori for the hospitality. How to get there? Read the instructions of the hotel. Yellow line M3 from Centrale station to affori centro and then to the left. Couldnt be easier. A small problem on check out was our fault but was solved out quickly and politely on reception.I will visit you again . Thank you. Suggested to anyone who is travelling to Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyriakos796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for the special review and for choosing our EcoHotel.
We are very happy thaht you enjoyed your stay with us, the breakfast, the room and our location.
We hope to see you soon in Milan!
Have a nice journey and arrivederci

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good value; close to metro - only 6 stops to city centre; excellent breakfast; use bus from Malpensa to Centrale then cab - total cost E25; reasonable alternative just outside the city; management friendly & responsive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longdistancetravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,
we would like to thamk you for choosing our EcoHotel and for the review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is a very good value in the Milan area. On the plus side you can take the MXP express train for 12 Euros to the Bovisa Nord stop, the get a cab from the bus stop at this station for 9 Euros to this hotel. From the hotel it's a7 minute walk through a small part to the Affori Central Metro stop for. 20 ride to the center of Milan. The beds are comfortable, the restaurant is alternative hippie with prices not as high as in Milan. We had a before hours breakfast and they graciously made us coffee and a packaged bun.
Now the flaws. The rooms are very small, there is a slight kitchen smell, and the hotel is nonsmoking but some rooms have a strong smoke odor as ours did. The management moved our room, but offered no help with our luggage. The hotel was full so someone who checked in later got the smokey room.

Room Tip: Check room for smoke odor before moving your luggage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiesci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our EcoHotel and for letting us know your opinion about your stay.
As you mentioned, we are in a very favorable position with respect to the main points of interest in the city and we are well supplied by public transport.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our restaurant and we hope that you will be able to try our buffet breakfast in your next holiday with us.
We are very sorry that the room was too small for your tastes, so we recommend for your next trip to ask for a superior or prestige room, more spacious and comfortable . As you could see, we have not hesitated to change your room, when you have reported the perception of the smell of smoke. We would like to point out that the host who stayed in the room that was previously assigned to you, did not have the same impression of smoke smelling; it is certainly a very subjective question, but please be assured that we have checked before renting the same room to another guest. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you had. As you pointed out it is forbidden to smoke in our Ecohotel but every day we have to face the problem of bad smoke smelling in the rooms, despite our efforts to avoid it ( we inform our guests at the check in and also with written notices in many parts of the hotel). Unpolite people who smoke in the rooms make a big damage both to our guests and to us; our staff has to follow a long procedure of cleaning that takes many hours of work.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
About the smell of the kitchen, probably depends on the fact that during your stay we had an issue with the extractor fans in the kitchen.
However, we hope to welcome you again .
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Decent sized rooms. The breakfast was great. Lots of meat, cheese, grains and fruit salad. Coffee and juice too. The staff are very friendly and helpful (a bit of a shock in Milan). The room was clean. It's a bit far from the city centre but the metro is very closeby and the ride isn't too long. A superstore is nearby and a really good pizza place too. Satellite TV works well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BackpackerCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing our EcoHotel and for the review you wrote about us.
We are very happy that you appreciated our good breakfast and the other services we offer.
We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I have spent 5nights there,the room was tiny,but nice.The wifi signal is a bit weak at the 2nd floor,but it is free and that's the main point.
The breakfast was awesome,vide range of hams,breads,juices,coffees and sweet croissants and other.You could also eat ham&eggs if you want.If you want to drink real italian espresso,you have to ask the staff to bring one.(you won't find it in the coffee machine)
The hotel is close the metro line3(yellow line) and you could get to the doumo within 15minutes.

If you want a nice&cheap room while you're in Milano,than that is your place.:)

2  Thank bence91
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for writing this review and for choosing our EcoHotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our EcoHotel and that you appreciated all our services.
We hope too see you soon in our EcoHotel.
Best Regards
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a room for a family for 4. The room was in an office building next door with 2 wide open offices as you walk into the building. Literally desks with paper work and computers. Then on the side is a "hotel room" with a few beds and a bathroom. Completely weird and uncomfortable.

Besides that this hotel is in a terrible/dangerous area. Not safe to walk in at night and drug deals going on in the park during the day. Really disappointed with the other reviews that thought this was a great location b/c it's close to the metro.

Also breakfast was horrid! For an Eco friendly hotel and organic breakfast, not one piece of fresh fruit was provided.

Seriously skip this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

we thank you for choosing our Ecohotel and also for giving us your opinion based on your personal experience. As you know Tripadvisor is important both for travelers and for hoteliers. Thanks to the reviews we may know your opinion about our hotel after your departure.
During your stay we never received any complaint from you and so we are quite surprised for your review. It perhaps means that we have not been able to understand your discomfort and as a consequence we could not take any immediate action to solve your problems. We regret to know that you do not consider our hotel suitable for families; every day lots of parents with their children of all ages spend their holidays with us and they really feel at home.
We have decided to accommodate you in one of our Eco Apartments in order to give you much more comfort along with a bigger space than in a standard hotel room. In addition we would like to point out that our new apartments are modern and fully sustainable, made with real wood floors and a bathroom with 1.40 mt shower and chromotherapy inside. The support of a renowned architectural firm, AA-Laboratory of Architecture who took care of the interior design, gives an extra value to these apartments.
However, we know that style is a matter of personal taste and it may not satisfy all the people but our efforts will be always on the way to satisfy all kind of request.
The offices that you see at the entrance before the access to the apartments is our travel agency and we are sorry to hear that this presence has invaded your privacy.
We also regret to know that you did not appreciate the arrangement that we have assigned you and we assure you that in case you will come back to the Residenza hotel you will be accommodated in one of our family rooms.
As far as the safety in our area is concerned, we inform you that the residential neighborhood that surrounds us is absolutely safe and secure, as well as the adjacent Parco delle Favole, where families with their children spend most of their spare time. The reviews you read of the other guests completely confirm the peaceful atmosphere that reigns in our area.
Our organic and biodynamic breakfast is one of our strength that usually affects all our guests. In our buffet you can find both sweet and savory with a daily fruit salad prepared by our chef with 100% organic fruit.
Finally we express once again our displeasure for your opinion about our hotel and we hope that our answer will help you to clear all the doubts you reported.

Best Regards
The manager and the staff Ecohotel la Residenza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Palladio
#75 of 426 in Milan
406 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#166 of 426 in Milan
6,294 reviews
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#156 of 426 in Milan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acca Palace
#49 of 426 in Milan
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel La Residenza

Address: Via Vittorio Scialoia 3, 20161 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £48 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel La Residenza 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Residenza is an ecohotel certified by the EcoWorldHotel environmental quality mark, located in a green and quiet area in the northern part of Milan named Affori.The subway station (M3 Affori Centro) is at only 300 mt far from the hotel and it allows to reach quickly the center (Duomo – 5 km) and the Central Station (4 km).The ecotourism philosophy is spread throughout the hotel: several solutions are adopted to reduce the impact of the facilities on the environment, such as the use of alternative energy sources, low voltage light bulbs, ecological paper and toiletries with a fully recyclable packaging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco-Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing