We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bernie, Guest Relations, is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #35 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bernie, Guest Relations, is the best!”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

When we arrived at the Grand Visconti Palace, the last leg of our Italy trip (Rome, Florence and Milan), we were happy with the hotel, itself, but concerned about its location in relationship to the "center" (duomo) of town. Bernie Gallotta, the hotel's amazing master of guest relations, provided us with precise maps and directions to great dining and shopping experiences, all easily and safely accessible by walking or traveling on the Metro (we regretted using a taxi instead, one morning, when we realized the trip took twice as long). The hotel provides in-room coffee pots to heat water - I would recommend bringing instant coffee, such as VIA (Starbucks), if you wish coffee first thing in the morning. A delicious selection of breakfast foods is available in a large dining room beginning at 7:00 a.m. Coffee is not self-served from urns, but is served by waiting staff according to your coffee preference (therefore, you cannot bring it back to your room -- it is served only after you are seated to eat breakfast). The swimming pool was a very pleasant treat after a day of walking - and the park-like garden a peaceful spot of green. The rooms have great clothes closets and shelves -- room enough to stow travel gear out of the way so the room is not cluttered. The bathrooms are roomy, functional and attractive. Stop by the guest relations desk to meet Bernie, and he will make you feel welcome and even happier you chose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liberty3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear libery3612,

We thank you very much for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace as well as for taking the time to give us your opinion which is important to us!

I’m very glad to hear your feedback, I feel very lucky for my job which I believe being the best in the world! Dealing with people is my life, and my best satisfaction is to share my knowledge with our guests.

We really appreciate the value you have given to the Metro instead of using taxies, the subway system is very efficient, the several lines allow you to reach many different destinations even out of the City! Plus it’s a “green” choice to save and respect the Planet, less pollution longer life!

We also thank you for the value given to our breakfast; we believe it is one of the most important meals of the day and we are happy to provide you, in the very Italian Style, with as much food and drinks as possible.

Looking forward to "stopping" you at our Concierge & Guest Relation desk soon, we send to you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    627
    139
    48
    29
See reviews for
332
591
65
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Although it is 4 metro stops from the city center, this hotel has great facilities, beautiful rooms, excellent and varied breakfast buffet, and a very helpful concierge named Bernie who suggested restaurants, drew directions to get to places and was just so very kind. If you aren't afraid to take the metro, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear GFKatz,

what can I say...just thank you for your lovely words expressed to my attention and for the different services we offer in our hotel. It makes us proud and gives us the incentive to do it better because your feedback is very, very important for us!

We are glad to hear about the value expressed regarding the short distance which separates the Grand Visconti Palace from the Duomo cathedral... we're really glad to be the unique Resort behind the Virgin Mary!

Waiting to welcome you once again with us we send you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We got in early from our flight from Manila via Hong Kong at 9am, so since our room was not yet ready, I asked the help of Marco, who was in the concierge desk to locate my contact in an Apple Reseller to try to help me buy an IPAD 2, and he helped me get in touch with her. Since I had to pick up the ipads immediately, he explained how I was to take the Metro. Within 30 minutes, I was able to buy the ipads, which are difficult to find, and by the time I got back to the hotel, I just waited a few minutes, and Marco handed me my keys to the room. I was not able thank him for the excellent help, but I hope someone from the hotel can pass this message to him. Grazzie Mil.

Room Tip: Best room is facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinoSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear NinoSO,

thank you so much for your effort made to delivery your congratulation to our Marco, he is so proud about it and thanks you very much for your kindness.

Our main goal is to provide our guests with the best service and make you feel like at home, we are glad to see you enjoyed our service and our staff made you experience the famous “Italian Hospitality”.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance or any further suggestion you may have to improve our service.

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Pologne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We decided to spend a long weekend in Milano, staying at a centrally located hotel, with good connections by Metro, italian feeling and a pool to relax. We could have not chosen a better place to stay ! The hotel has a nostalgic feeling about it , perfect rooms and commodities and very firendly staff. The firendlyness and utmost professionalism of both the concierges ( a lady and a gentlemen) helped us to spend every minute in the City according to our predisposition - they REALLY know their City inside out and give you the feeling that a friend is advising you :) Thank you ! Whether for business, a romantic weekend or longer stay in this city - do not hesitate, this is the place to be !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravellerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Timetravellerone,

first of all we will thank you for choosing Grand Visconti Place as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very important for improve our service.

We are very delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us and it has been a pleasure for us being at your disposal during your stay. Antonella and Bernie are absolutely proud to hear your words and thank you so much for your kindness.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please feel free to contact us for any further information/suggestion you may have, we are at your complete disposal.

Kindest Regards.

Ornella Sileci
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Dont get me wrong the public areas are attractive and spotless. The gardens are a bonus and likewise are well kept. However this is not what is so important to me. The rooms are a little on the small side and dont try to use the bathroom with the door open. This was our second hotel in Milan this week and the restaurant would do well to visit the Radisson. In 30 years of travelling around i have never woken up and thought, I would like some cold sweetcorn & carrot. The breakfast buffet as a whole looked sparse and the salmon ran out at 9am. Yes, it's adequate, but so are most hotels and this is not what i pay for. Traffic can be an issue for some rooms due to the U shape of the hotel. The bins were emptied in the street at 0030 hrs for those interested. Location is good. Metro straight from Duomo (4 stops) and a five minute walk.
Staff were friendly and the hotel itself could be very good with a few alterations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Ropley,

thank you very much for your comment, it is precious for us to know your experience with us and in our hotel.

We have taken note of all your suggestions and informed the management in order to satisfy your request and make your future stay delightful.

We remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance and information you may need.

Kindest Regards.

Ornella Sileci
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2011

On the occasion of my 50th birthday my wife had arranged a surprise weekend in Milano. The choice of the Visconti hotel was one of the very nice elements. We enjoyed our stay very much. The (standard) rooms are very comfortable, although not very spacy. The breakfast and diner exceeded our (already high) expectations. Both food quality and service in the restaurants/bar are of the highest standards.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Even a nice gift, including personal congratulations of the hotel management was delivered in our room. The concierge service is another very fine aspect of Grand Visconti Palace. We were supplied with excellent suggestions for dining options. We will definitely return in the near future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the right wing of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankStraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Dear Frankstraat,

We thank you very much for choosing Grand Visconti Palace to celebrate your 50th birthday in Milan as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback it is important to us!

We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We are happy to know we have contributed to make your birthday a bit more special with the quality of our F&B department as well as with the special care our Concierge & Front Desk staff provided you with. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main goal!

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Please feel free to contact us for any further information/suggestion you may have, we are at your complete disposal

Yours Faithfully

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

In a hotel marked by excellence in every category, the concierge Bernie Gallotta stands out as the most memorable feature of the Grand Visconti Palace. Bernie's English is excellent. His knowledge of Milan and, most wonderfully, his desire to help his guests knows no bounds. The next time we come to Milan we will stay at the Grand Visconti Palace because we'd be crazy not to put us once again in Bernie's hands.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fubbiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear Fubbiano,

We thank you very much for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback whicht is important to us!

What can I say, just thank you for using these wonderful words toward my person. It has been only a big pleasure being at your disposal during your stay with us, I strongly believe that the satisfaction of our guest is one of the main reason of our work…see the smile appearing on your face is the best gratification we can receive from our job.

Looking forward to having you here soon, we send to you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,306 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise Hotel
#33 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Uptown Palace
#50 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing