We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious hotel four metro stops south of Duomo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #39 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed three nights. Front desk was stretched and they did not acknowledge us as we walked up to it - just a "Sorry, I will be with you in a moment" would have sufficed. However, once we had their full attention the staff were friendly, helpful and gave us a free room upgrade probably because they were not busy during a rainy week in November! I thought that all staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The room 218 had a nice view over the garden and was quieter than some hotels in Milan. Tacky gold plastic clothes hangars in the wardrobe broke under pressure but overall well maintained furniture. Walk to the metro is only 3-4 minutes down a main road. Few restaurants in the area unless you are prepared to walk 5 minutes, but those that are nearby were good quality and reasonable value. Free 30 mins internet access in lobby was useful. Breakfast was decent. They told us that taxis would only take 5 mins to appear when called but we waited 10-15 mins so beware of this if you are in a hurry and book earlier during rush hour. We would stay here again as long as we could get a good room rate through the usual Websites.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace Milano and for taking the time to give us your feedback: your opinion is important to us.

We deeply regret that the receptionists did not give you the attention requested when you arrived in the lobby. Please be assured that this situation is by no means standard to our house and that we have taken actions to prevent this from happening again in the future.

It is so nice for us to know that you had a pleasant stay as well as you discovered and appreciated the quarter around the hotel.

Taxis do normally take five minutes to show, however, when it rains the waiting time stretches to 10 or 15 minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kindest Regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Visconti palace is a comfortable well appointed hotel. As I was there on business I did not have time to check out the Spa facilities, however the rooms ( I had a room overlooking the inner courtyard) are comfortable and well appointed. The bathrooms are lovely, nice big shower, however the hotel lets itself down by providing only one nasty little plastic cup on the coffee making tray. It's a little touch but makes all the difference if you can drink from a proper cup or mug instead of something so cheap. At the time of my stay the hotel was full, which meant at breakfast most of the bread and eggs ran out without being replaced or not during the half hour I was there. For the price ( almost full rate as I booked late) I would have expected better. During the days the hotel was not full , this was not a problem and there was plenty of choice, however that should not make a difference for me as a guest, and I would have expected to have choice and replenishments to happen frequently when your hotel is full of business people all wanting to eat at similar times before going to the office.The rooms was too warm for me to sleep comfortably, but eventhough I tried to turn the heating down in my room every evening, (the temperature gage in the rooms shows that you can turn it down or up) ,the actual temperature remains the same so I guess it is centrally controlled. I prefer my bedroom to be cold, so this together with the breakfast and plastic cup for tea or coffee has prompted me to not score this hotel as very good.

On site parking and Internet is expensive and should be taken into account if you have a budget, as in today's world you can get free wifi internet access in coffee shops, restaurants and much cheaper hotels, it is annoying to see that this hotel ( and others, this is not he only one guilty) still see internet access as a nice little extra earner.

Despite my negative comments, this is a lovely hotel and the rooms and public areas are very nice and if you manage to get a good deal, it will be an excellent choice.

Some other reviewers have commented on the lack of facilities in the surroundings of the hotel, however my colleague and I found some nice restaurants within 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. Taxi fares to the Duomo area vary from 11 euro on the way back to 16 euro to the centre ( I guess this is as the hotel has to ring a taxi and the taxi charges for turning up from around the corner??)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear LadyC77,

We would like to thank you about your comments which are very useful for us in order to improve our service as well as to be aware of our minuses.

We do agree with you, who loves drinking tea the porcelain cup is a must, that is why we already put the request to our Management attention in order to replace the plastic ones.

As far as it concerns the heating system; during this time of the year we only have heating and not air conditioning. In order to have it chanced according to your need you can always refer to the front desk at any time.

Internet connection is available for free in the lobby both with your laptop and with our computers with printers in our business point located in the lobby as well. In the rooms the 24-hours wi-fi connection costs € 12 inclusive of 24/7 assistance and many interactive services such as on line international newspapers, radio, tv and chats.

Our parking fees are in line with the Milan parking fares, and eventually cheaper than most of the parking lots in the city.

As last we are glad to inform you that we simply call radio taxi cabs with the two main Companies of Milan. Whenever you catch a cab, even from the street, it departs with a minimum fare of about € 3.50, consider at night it becomes € 4.50 as well as during holydays ( Sunday, bank holidays etc). Whenever we call from our machines we receive a ticket reporting the number of the taxi and the waiting time, it is a very transparent system working pretty well.

Thanking you again to have found the time to give us your feed back, we look forward to welcoming you soon at GVP!

Best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel and from the moment we stepped through the doors we were made to feel very welcome.

The Duty Manager who checked us in on the first night, down to the bar staff who would recommended wines to us each evening they were all so friendly.

We met the lovely Antonella from 'Guest Relations' who spent quite a time with us passing on the benefit of her local knowledge and nothing was to much trouble for her. The following day we met the legendary 'Bernie' who like all the previous comments that have been mentioned - is a real star. He is passionate about his job and his enthusiasum quickly spreads about the love for the hotel and the city of Milano.

I stayed here with my wife for our anniversary and we got a beautiful room that had just been updated overlooking the garden.

If you land at Linate airport just get a white taxi to the hotel for between 15 - 19 euro.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Paul Y,

thanks a lot for your lovely comment.

We are glad you felt welcome as that means we succeeded in our mission. We are all passionate about our job and we hope everybody that come to visit us can see it too, just like you did.

We hope you will make the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel the place where you will celebrate all your anniversary.

Kind Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is overall very good for the price point (for Milan) with spacious, well appointed rooms. Location is slightly away from the centre which is easily accessible by Metro. Service was polite and warm. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality overall. A small point that slightly let down the hotel: we had breakfast three days in a row and every single cup, saucer, plate we were given was chipped...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear VB1306,

We thank you for visiting Grand Visconti Palace as well as for the lovely description regarding our venue, your feed back is always very precious for us!

We have appreciated also the suggestion you gave us and we will pass it to our Management in order to put in action as soon as possible. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance or any suggestion you may have to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was excellent. It was good value and the rooms were appointed to a very high standard. The staff were excellent and the breakfasts were amazing. Sitting outside eating a variety of friuts and goodies drinking a good cup of coffee - what more can you ask for. The hotal was very near to a tube station which made getting into the centre of Milan very easy. i would strongly recommend this hotal if you are to visit Milan

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Mrs Catherine G,

thank you so much for your lovely words.

Our main goal is to provide our guests with the best service and make you feel like at home, we are glad to see you enjoyed our house and our service making you experience with the famous “Italian Hospitality”.

Looking forward to having you here in the nearest future we send you our

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I very pleasantly surprised by the quality and service of this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location near the Porta Romana was fine since the subway was near by. The hotel was inexpensive but parking and internet is extra. Elegent breakfast room and lobby.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 443 and right above us was the restaurant so you could hear chairs moving and peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYGella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear NYGella,

We thank you for your kind comment, we are delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us and it has been a pleasure for us being at your disposal during your stay.

The internet access in the lobby and in our business centre is free, only the wireless in the room is extra.

We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay in the room 443, our restaurant is open until 10.30 pm and unfortunately in some room on the 4th floor it is a little bit noisy until this time. We have different types of rooms, per example our exclusive rooms have the garden view and are very quiet.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and suggesting you to book an exclusive room.

Best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Dear Bruno,

I would like to thank you for your services,and hospitality.Grand visconti palace is a real memorable hotel with high level facilities and staff.Hope to visit you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nectarios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Dear Nectarios T,

We thank you so much for your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace and for the attention paid giving us your feedback about our services.

It is a source of pride for us, as well as an honor, meet the needs of our guests which are always welcomed.

I thank you personally for the words expressed to my attention (I am Bernie, not Bruno :-); we strongly believe that your positive answer is the biggest prize at the passion that we put daily in our work with you.

Looking forward to having you here soon, we send you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
680 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,498 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#73 of 428 in Milan
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £96 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing