We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was my first visit to Italy, and the Grand Visconti Palace was a great place to start! The service, in particular, was excellent. The breakfast was delicious with a great selection, and it was served in an impressive setting. Although it wasn't walkng distance to the things I wanted to see, the Metro stop was only a block away and got me everywhere I needed to go. My only complaint is about the bed, which was much firmer than I like. But this seemed to be typical of hotels in Italy, so I guess it's just par for the course. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedishBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear ThedishBoston,

Thank you for spending time to write a comment about our hotel and its staff.

We are very proud of our service and we hope we will be able to welcoming you back at the Grand Visconti Palace.

Best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    645
    144
    48
    34
See reviews for
354
605
66
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and were very happy with our choice. It's only 2 mins walk from metro stop and 4 stops from the centre (about 15 mins all told). The hotel is quite impressive in it's decor. The staff were very professional and helpful. The room was, while not very large, very comfortable - huge bed with ALL linen changed every day. Robes and slippers available in room. Breakfast was varied and plentiful - you might have to wait for your hot beverages. I would definitely recommend it for a trip to Milan. For those of you who might arrive in late, there's a great restaurant a 5-8 min walk from hotel (if too tired to go to the centre) - it's called New Tentacoli. Hotel will book if for you - great seafood!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear 147Liz,

we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace. It is important to us that you gave us a good feedback on the restaurant we recommend.

Good service is what we are proud of , and comments like your will help us to keep the good work up.

Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here on the last night of a three week trip through Italy. During our trip we stayed at a variety of accomodation from farm houses, B&B's and small hotels. We thought we'd spoil ourselves and get a good nights sleep prior to a long trip home.

The hotel is quite a distance from the train station and is not centrally located - it's several stops to the city centre on the metro.

On arrival at the hotel, it seemed to take a very long time to check in as staff tried to find available rooms. The hotel foyer is nicely appointed as are the rooms. Bathrooms are a good size.

We were delighted to find tea/coffee facilities but were appalled to find only one plastic cup, similar to those that some airlines use! Please! In a hotel of this standard - one plastic cup!

After a day exploring we returned to the hotel and had a drink in the bar whilst deciding on a restaurant for dinner. As to be expected, the drinks were quite expensive but were accompanied by several complimentary hors d'oeuvres.

We enquired with bar staff about dining in the hotel's restaurant and were told that we needed to go to the restaurant to see their menu and make a booking, which seemed strange. They directed us to a location several floors away and when we arrived, the place was deserted and it was a Saturday evening! It was obvious that the restaurant wasn't open and yet the staff didn't seem to know.

We enquired with the concierge and they suggested a couple of nearby restaurants. Unfortunately the one we chose wasn't that good and quite expensive.

Breakfast came with our room and when we arrived in the morning, the room was packed and seemingly disorganised. Whilst there was quite a selection, nothing looked fresh or inviting and the waitress struggled or a simple tea and coffee order right.

This hotel might look like a four or five star hotel, but behind the scenes it was very ordinary. It was very disappointing and we would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Belinda Y,

all our guests comments are very important to us, especially those which will make us improve our service.

Our hotel is located in the area Porta Romana, which is still consider centre of Milan. The closest underground station is Lodi Tibb, 200 meters away from the hotel and it takes less than 10 minutes (4 stops) to reach the Duomo square and 20 minutes (8 stops) for the main train station.

All our arrivals are normally preallocated, however once a guest arrives, the specific room may not be ready yet(as we guarantee the check in is after 2 pm) and the receptionist tries to find a alternative room with the same characteristics requested and that may take some time.

We are aware about the plastic cup in the room and the management is already in the process of changing them as we also think we should have porcelain.

We apologize for the wrong information about our restaurant and for the service at breakfast, this issue is already been addressed.

As far as the restaurant outside of the hotel, the one we suggest, have been tried out from our concierge and normally we always receive good feedbacks. We hope, you took the time to speak to our concierge when you came back for dinner so that we could monitor the situation.

Best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a very comfortable hotel. The location is not central but not too far from centre via metro. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We decided to have dinner in the hotel the first night and found the restaurant very good .. food excellent and very good service. We had some trouble with climate control in our room. We found it too warm. It seems that the heating was centrally controlled and took some negotiation with staff and leaving window open to finally get a temparature to a reasonable level. The breakfast buffet is quite extensive. But the service is quirky. Service at a buffet? There seems to be a lot of staff around but no one approached us to see if we wanted coffee/tea. We finally worked out that if you happen to catch a waiter's attention it does come. Usually, but not always, fairly speedily.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Scot_global,

Thank you for your precious comment.

We are glad to know that you appreciated our location and our staff.

All our rooms have a thermostat and while the key is inserted in the slot, our guests can lower the temperature up to 3 degrees below the one set from the central system. To keep the temperature down without a key inserted, the guest has to ask the front desk.

We will pass your comment about the breakfast to our food and beverage management. We assure you the situation you described it is by no means up to our standards and it is already been addressed.

Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed three nights. Front desk was stretched and they did not acknowledge us as we walked up to it - just a "Sorry, I will be with you in a moment" would have sufficed. However, once we had their full attention the staff were friendly, helpful and gave us a free room upgrade probably because they were not busy during a rainy week in November! I thought that all staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The room 218 had a nice view over the garden and was quieter than some hotels in Milan. Tacky gold plastic clothes hangars in the wardrobe broke under pressure but overall well maintained furniture. Walk to the metro is only 3-4 minutes down a main road. Few restaurants in the area unless you are prepared to walk 5 minutes, but those that are nearby were good quality and reasonable value. Free 30 mins internet access in lobby was useful. Breakfast was decent. They told us that taxis would only take 5 mins to appear when called but we waited 10-15 mins so beware of this if you are in a hurry and book earlier during rush hour. We would stay here again as long as we could get a good room rate through the usual Websites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace Milano and for taking the time to give us your feedback: your opinion is important to us.

We deeply regret that the receptionists did not give you the attention requested when you arrived in the lobby. Please be assured that this situation is by no means standard to our house and that we have taken actions to prevent this from happening again in the future.

It is so nice for us to know that you had a pleasant stay as well as you discovered and appreciated the quarter around the hotel.

Taxis do normally take five minutes to show, however, when it rains the waiting time stretches to 10 or 15 minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kindest Regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Visconti palace is a comfortable well appointed hotel. As I was there on business I did not have time to check out the Spa facilities, however the rooms ( I had a room overlooking the inner courtyard) are comfortable and well appointed. The bathrooms are lovely, nice big shower, however the hotel lets itself down by providing only one nasty little plastic cup on the coffee making tray. It's a little touch but makes all the difference if you can drink from a proper cup or mug instead of something so cheap. At the time of my stay the hotel was full, which meant at breakfast most of the bread and eggs ran out without being replaced or not during the half hour I was there. For the price ( almost full rate as I booked late) I would have expected better. During the days the hotel was not full , this was not a problem and there was plenty of choice, however that should not make a difference for me as a guest, and I would have expected to have choice and replenishments to happen frequently when your hotel is full of business people all wanting to eat at similar times before going to the office.The rooms was too warm for me to sleep comfortably, but eventhough I tried to turn the heating down in my room every evening, (the temperature gage in the rooms shows that you can turn it down or up) ,the actual temperature remains the same so I guess it is centrally controlled. I prefer my bedroom to be cold, so this together with the breakfast and plastic cup for tea or coffee has prompted me to not score this hotel as very good.

On site parking and Internet is expensive and should be taken into account if you have a budget, as in today's world you can get free wifi internet access in coffee shops, restaurants and much cheaper hotels, it is annoying to see that this hotel ( and others, this is not he only one guilty) still see internet access as a nice little extra earner.

Despite my negative comments, this is a lovely hotel and the rooms and public areas are very nice and if you manage to get a good deal, it will be an excellent choice.

Some other reviewers have commented on the lack of facilities in the surroundings of the hotel, however my colleague and I found some nice restaurants within 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. Taxi fares to the Duomo area vary from 11 euro on the way back to 16 euro to the centre ( I guess this is as the hotel has to ring a taxi and the taxi charges for turning up from around the corner??)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear LadyC77,

We would like to thank you about your comments which are very useful for us in order to improve our service as well as to be aware of our minuses.

We do agree with you, who loves drinking tea the porcelain cup is a must, that is why we already put the request to our Management attention in order to replace the plastic ones.

As far as it concerns the heating system; during this time of the year we only have heating and not air conditioning. In order to have it chanced according to your need you can always refer to the front desk at any time.

Internet connection is available for free in the lobby both with your laptop and with our computers with printers in our business point located in the lobby as well. In the rooms the 24-hours wi-fi connection costs € 12 inclusive of 24/7 assistance and many interactive services such as on line international newspapers, radio, tv and chats.

Our parking fees are in line with the Milan parking fares, and eventually cheaper than most of the parking lots in the city.

As last we are glad to inform you that we simply call radio taxi cabs with the two main Companies of Milan. Whenever you catch a cab, even from the street, it departs with a minimum fare of about € 3.50, consider at night it becomes € 4.50 as well as during holydays ( Sunday, bank holidays etc). Whenever we call from our machines we receive a ticket reporting the number of the taxi and the waiting time, it is a very transparent system working pretty well.

Thanking you again to have found the time to give us your feed back, we look forward to welcoming you soon at GVP!

Best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel and from the moment we stepped through the doors we were made to feel very welcome.

The Duty Manager who checked us in on the first night, down to the bar staff who would recommended wines to us each evening they were all so friendly.

We met the lovely Antonella from 'Guest Relations' who spent quite a time with us passing on the benefit of her local knowledge and nothing was to much trouble for her. The following day we met the legendary 'Bernie' who like all the previous comments that have been mentioned - is a real star. He is passionate about his job and his enthusiasum quickly spreads about the love for the hotel and the city of Milano.

I stayed here with my wife for our anniversary and we got a beautiful room that had just been updated overlooking the garden.

If you land at Linate airport just get a white taxi to the hotel for between 15 - 19 euro.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Paul Y,

thanks a lot for your lovely comment.

We are glad you felt welcome as that means we succeeded in our mission. We are all passionate about our job and we hope everybody that come to visit us can see it too, just like you did.

We hope you will make the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel the place where you will celebrate all your anniversary.

Kind Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing