We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a loverly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #36 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

What a lovely Hotel. From the moment we entered the hotel, we were made very welcome by the staff at reception. They gave us all the information we required, when we required it. The rooms were very clean with all modern amenities, as was the rest of the hotel. Plenty of choice for breakfast, but did not try any other meals. Underground to the centre of Milan few minutes’ walk away so everything close and convenient. There was only one very minor fault ‘plastic cups’ for bedroom tea or coffee and powdered milk sachet, which was very surprising for the high standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for Grand Visconti Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

I decided to find an Accor hotel for my recent trip to Milan. Looking at the site, this seemed like a great choice: while the location is not perfect, it's a 10-minute tube trip away from the centre, and it seems to have some ambiance to it.

As a Le Club Platinum member, I sent an email a couple of days before my stay asking whether an upgrade would be available. Although that went unanswwered, I did get a 2-category upgrade on arrival. The check-in took a little longer than usual, but went smoothly. The reception desk forgot to provide the welcome drink coupons, but when the (seemingly excellent) concierge came to welcome us and show us around the hotel and to our room, she immediately noticed and fixed it.

The room (Deluxe room) was spacious, with a dual-sink bathroom and a nice view over the garden (although in a low floor). Traditional decoration, but recently renewed. Decent air conditioning and light control. Confortable, gigantic bed (by european standards). We left the hotel in the afternoon and returned to an unexpected turndown service, leaving a welcome gift, slippers, mats at the side of the beds. Great!

The next morning was the weakest for the hotel: the breakfast spread is pretty good, with some delicious food. However, we sat for 20+ minutes before being served asked whether we wanted coffee, and for 15 minutes extra waiting for hot water (for the tea). The room was busy, but well staffed; it was pure lack of attention. The staff was nice, though. The other problem was the receiption: despite having asked for a 4 PM late checkout (platinum benefit) on the arrival day and on the departure morning, I was told I'd have to leave at 2PM due to availability, which wasn't true.

Overall, the stay was still excellent. The front desk and breakfast staff could maybe use some training, but the hotel is great value. Would definitely stay again, and recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m1ndstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We went for our first wedding anniversary in November 2012. You are made to feel special as soon as you walk through the door.

Fantastic rooms, very clean and plush.

The breakfast had a varied choice and we didn't want to anything.

The guest services in terms of what was on and where to go was very helpful and her advice was good.

The only surprise we had was having to pay 15 euros to use the pool, which absolutely fantastic. Oh and city tax is 8 euros a night which came as a surprise too. Obviously nothing to do with the hotel though.

Good location too, only four stops from the centre and about double that to Grand station but even that's only twenty minutes.

We gave up on taxis as the traffic doesn't flow so the tube was just so much easier.

In the end it comes down to 'would we go back' .... Oh yes we would!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregdean80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I was searching for an house around Bocconi. We spent 5 nights in this hotel with my family. The rooms were quite big, and comfortable. Breakfast was great as well. It seems like the hotel is not exactly in the city centre, but you the metro and tram is quite close to reach the centre in 10 min.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Siminb,
We thank you very much for your kind feed back, we are glad you have spent 5 nice days with us! We hope you have succeeded with the search of an house in Milan & whenever your friends & family would like to visit you we will be more than glad to welcome them to Grand Visconti Palace.
Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 19-22 October and before booking i really did a lot if research and even though this hotel isnt so central,it sounded the part.My wife and i were travelling for my 40th birthday so were looking for something special.I booked the hotel on Prestigia and decided to upgrade to the double deluxe room.On Prestigia's website and also on the hotel's own website these rooms were described as 28 square metres in size with large bay windows ,all overlooking the hotel's garden.As my wife is a light sleeper and the gardens are really nice we decided to book this room type.
When we checked in we were shown to our room and there was problems with the room key.When we eventually got in the room was massive and looked fantastic(room 521) but as i could clearly hear a lot of traffic noise,i looked out the window and our room was onto the main road and not onto the garden as booked.I went down to reception to say there had been a mistake to which i was advised the hotel was full.i explained my wife was a light sleeper and that i had booked a double deluxe which on their website says overlooks the garden.i was then told that the website was wrong and there was nothing they could do as the hotel was completely full!!!
Eventually someone else in reception advised me they had another room for us to look at.We went along but it definately wasnt a deluxe(think it might have been a superior) as it was half the size of the previous room,it was also a twin room(advised could be made up as a double) and was also a smoking room on the smoking floor.I told reception we would go back to the original room but they advised this wouldnt be possible as they had already given it away.Their solution was to stay in this room for the 1st night and then they would rectify it in the morning(the morning of my 40th birthday!)By this point i was furious and just wanted what i had paid for.For a hotel that was alledgedly 100% full they then managed to find us another room! this was also not what i had paid for. Yes it had a view of the garden but was quite small and definately wasnt a double deluxe.i didnt have any choice so i had to accept this room.
That evening was very warm so we slept with the window open and were bitten to bits by mosquitos.The next evening was also very warm so as i didnt want to be bitten again i tried the a/c.this wasnt working and the thermometer at 130am showed a temperature of 24.5 degrees celcius.i phoned reception who advised the a/c wasnt on in the hotel at that time of year however the heating was on.i asked to get it turned off for my room which i was advised was getting done.1 hour later i still wasnt asleep so checked the temperature and it had now risen to almost 26 degrees.i phoned reception again and was advised that the switch sometimes trips itself back on and that it would be turned off this time.Another 45 minutes passed and it was still too hot so i went to reception and was told they would turn the temperature down(i thought it was off!) and that it was THE LAW in Milan that all hotels must have their heating on from 15 october.That doesnt account in any way for warm weekends later in the season like we had.I cannot believe that a hotel of this standard does not have individual a/c or the facility not to have heating on in an individual room.When i got back to my room the temperature was 1 degree better but they had done something in reception and none of the lights in the room worked.We just opened the window,got bitten even more by mozzies and got reception to fix the lights the next day.
Other negative point was breakfast.It was a struggle to get a coffee with your breakfast and when we did manage,both cups were chipped - not what i would expect from a 4* hotel.Also prices at the bar were expensive - 19 euros for a small wine and a bacardi n coke.The hotel is also in quite a dodgy area which it cant do anything about but is only 4 stops from the Duomo. The only positives were the door staff/concierges - very friendly and chatty and the hotel did provide us with a bottle of wine to celebrate my birthday.I am the managing director of a travel franchise and i will advise all my business colleagues and customers to avoid this hotel.

I was so disappointed with this hotel - all i wanted was what i paid for and booked and i left feeling cheated.My wife and i have 3 children and never manage to get away on our own, and when we do this happens and we have our first ever complaint about a hotel.Their website falsely advertises garden views on all double deluxe rooms and that is clearly not the case.It really did spoil a good holiday/birthday.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden view but dont be surprised if you book a room type guaranteeing it and you dont...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigredbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Sir,

we once again apologize for the inconvenience caused, rest assure we did not intend to lie about neither the view of any of our rooms nor their dimentions.

We also wanted to thank you, as constructive complaints help us improve our service.
As you will notice in fact we already changed the description of our rooms on our website.

Kind Regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel unexpectedly when looking for a weekend away for my birthday, to say we were not disappointed would be an understatement!

We found the hotel relatively easily, but I would recommend doing a little research before hand, as getting the right exit from the metro and heading in the right direction can be tricky. but we found it relatively easily. 

On arrival the staff were courteous and helpful. We were lucky or is this normal - you'll have to decide, but we arrived rather early (approx 12am) two hrs before normal checkin. Our room was already ready for us and we received a lovely surprise upgrade (due to my birthday being that weekend - btw don't lie when you get there, they check your passport for verification when you arrive).

We were escorted to our room, bags carried, and taken care of until we reached our room. The room itself was spectacular - Victorian/Georgian decor, lovely large beds (very comfy), sparkling bathroom & nice view of garden.

We had B&B and if anything let the experience down, it was breakfast time - though tbh it was more of an inconvenience and certainly didn't spoil our stay. The problem was mainly that there is only one person serving teas/coffees etc and you were lucky to catch his eye! On our final day we went down when it just opened and a few items were missing from the previous days (pancakes, bits of fruit & a few cakes). However please I beg you do not disregard this hotel because of the above - I promise you will regret not staying here!!

We didn't try the hotel spa but it looked very nice, however be aware it is an optional extra & swimming caps are compulsory for the pool!

The hotel is spotless - very nice and clean, great location for all the major sights in Milan - they will care for your every need, btw wifi is free in the lobby just ask at reception for a code. By the way remember to keep some euros back for the city tax when you check out - it's compulsory in Milan (€4 pppn).

Overall if you're going to Milano :-) *sung in a funky tune* and you're looking for somewhere to say - stay here!! Unless you're stupidly fussy (tbh my girlfriend is, so you might be ok) you'll love it here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlwd707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Carlwd707,

We are very thankful for the precious time and words you have spent giving us feed back about your stay with us. Your comment is very detailed, we are sure it will be helpful for other travellers. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay especially on such a special date! We are glad to be part of your nice memories in Italy on your birthday . The satisfaction of our guests is our aim!
We are sorry about the breakfast situation, the f&b management has been informed about it and make sure this will not happen again.
We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards


Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

this hotes is located quite far outside the city centre, but close to a metro stop. The welcome was very good, rooms are large and nice. Acoustical insulation to outside was perfect. Very advanced access and lighting control system, but not so easy to use.
The breakfast room is very large and open, not so nice. good conference facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Good afternoon PeterW37

thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay.

We are glad everything was at your taste and we hope to see you once again at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Monfort
#8 of 426 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#80 of 426 in Milan
2,659 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £100 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing