We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #35 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not special”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is only grand in its pretense. Cheap fixtures are crooked and tired. The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. The wifi is moderately fast but plans don't allow multiple devices easily which everyone has nowadays. Nothing special.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marksilv242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear MArksilv242,

We thank you for your feed back, we are sorry your stay was not at the level of our usual standards.

As far as it concerns the deco, we respect your opinion as we understand every person can have a different taste, we do not expect everybody to like the Classic Italian Style the Hotel offers, it is a question of personal taste, which we can not discuss.

We would love to know what you think we should do for our breakfast to improve, your opinion is important for us and make us do better.

The multiple device connection for the wi-fi is available in the room wit the business voucher of Swisscom, our provider, up to 3 different devices, please do not ever hesitate to contact the reception staff in order to be assisted whenever you incur into issues of this kind.

Our staff will do their best in order to give you the right solution.

We hope you will come back in order to let us provide you with our usual standards and quality service.

Best Regards.

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    628
    139
    48
    30
See reviews for
332
592
65
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very nice hotel clean and the staff very good service. The breakfast very rich but the only problem was that it no had free wifi
The room was nice the bed is very nice and very clean. I will go again.





  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Aristeidis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Aristeidis C,

thank you for your kind feed back, we are glad you have experienced a good service and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Concerning the wifi, the Management is working out a solution as soon as possible for the rooms, as at the moment the connection is free in the lobby, bar and breakfast area.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is in great location within 200M of the subway and getting to and from the airport is a breeze.
Staff & Service is professional and courteous with the right amount of distance between staff and guests. A difficult task even in most 5+star hotels.
The breakfast is fresh, and although variety is limited, waffles and pancakes are just not the Italian thing....
If you have a car there is enough road parking so you can avoid the in house parking fee, also stay out o the Milano central area as there is a congestion tax....you don't get told this readily.
The beds are firm but excellent. Rooms are a good size by European standards with all the standard amenities, albeit by request ....this seems to be a recurring theme these days.
All in all a great Hotel with eateries all round would highly recommend to all.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: If given a choice request a room off the side of the building Garbage collection is made, it will li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVIDXOTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Davidxotic,

thank you for your kind feed back, we are happy you had a good stay at Gand Viconti Palace.
You have mentioned that outside the hotel there is road parking but please be careful as most of it is residents areas only and pay parking lines. The Hotel provides an internal garage for the guests with a fixed rate per night in order for cars to be safer. The congestion tax information are located at each entrance road to the city as well as scattered around the city in Italian and in English, luckily the hotel is situated outside the C area therefore no fee to be paid.
All our rooms, as you mentioned, are fully equipped with the main amenities, furthermore we offer some extra item available upon request.
Please remember that a concierge desk is at our guests’ disposal for any advice about the area and the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'm an Accor Platinum, so my review may not represent the treatment everyone receives. As a Platinum, I got early priority check-in (11AM), two free drinks at the bar, in room wifi for free, and an upgraded room. We stayed in a deluxe twin room.
Sleep Quality: Poor! The beds are hard as rocks! The pillows were not that great, either. Lastly, our room faced the street, and we heard lots of noise. The street noise is not really the hotel's fault, so ask for a room facing the interior, if possible.
Breakfast: Very European. Don't expect much in the way of hot food, but there was a good selection of fruits, yogurts, cereal, meats, cheeses. Breakfast was included in our room, but I wouldn't have paid for it.
Staff: Awesome. We particularly were impressed with Tamer, the doorman. He greeted us daily with a genuine, positive attitude. This was noted by both of us. Moreover, when we had a concern, a need, etc, the staff addressed it quickly.
Dining: Good luck finding the hotel restaurant! We literally walked 15 minutes and hit a series of elevators before we found it, only to be turned away, because it didn't open until 7:30PM. We wanted dinner at 6:30PM, and that couldn't be accommodated, even with room service.
Bathroom: Huge and excellent, A++! Ladies, bring conditioner. We were prepared in that regard as our experience is many European hotels do not supply conditioner.
Cleanliness: Excellent. We were a bit surprised when we left the room only to get yogurt at breakfast, put the do not disturb sign on and came back to find the maid in our room. Also, the staff did enter to do turndown service and provide a manager gift, even though we had left the do not disturb sign on to go touring. I usually put the sign up as a security precaution. It baffled me that staff would enter the room when the sign was up!
The hotel is three subway stops from Duomo. It takes about 7 minutes, and we bought a 48 hour subway pass for 8.45 Euros. It was really no issue for us, but we are comfortable taking public transportation everywhere we travel. You won't be resenting taking the short trip to the city center if you feel the same about public transport
To get to the hotel from Malpensa Airport: Take the Malpensa Express train to Milano Centrale. From Milano Centrale, take the Yellow M3 subway to Lodi TBB stop. The hotel is literally one block from the Lodi TBB. This will cost you 11.50 Euros. It's the cheapest and most efficient way. The journey will take over an hour, with the Malpensa Express being the longest part.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the hotel interior to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solavino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Solavino21,



We would like to thank you for your very detailed feed back, certainly it will be great help for other travellers. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the nice attitude of our staff. We are sorry you could easily find the restaurant, which follows the Milan schedule for the opening hours. We inform you that aware of a possible issue in finding it, you can find the directions to reach it in each elevator.

As far as it concern the do not disturb sign we will have to investigate about what happen, usually the staff do not access rooms whenever the sign is on, we hope this did not badly effect your opinion on us. Once again we are glad to see our Housekeeping department receiving good feed back cleanliness, together with a good staff, it is one of the most important marks for a hotel! Please remember that for any assistance about transfers from/to the Milan airports the hotel also provides a private car service with driver, do not hesitate to contact our Concierge desk for any information about it.
We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel on the 15th for a weekend away with my husband. We were taken to our rooms by Antonella who showed us how things worked. We had been upgraded to a deluxe room and it was amazing! The bed was very comfy the bathroom was very spacious with ample amount of toiletries from shower caps to shampoo and shower gel! The hotel was spotless and I am very fussy I have no complaints what so ever! The concierge was very helpful Bernie booked myself and my husband the train to Venice and Antonella advised us of good hotels as well as giving us advice about a fine we incurred on our trip to Venice for not validating a ticket for the vaporetto! The maids changed towels daily and kept the room very clean throughout our stay our room had a view of the lovely gardens! The hotel has amazing facilities and is a 5 minute walk to the subway station:)
Breakfast was a continental lovely and plenty of choice I loved the croissants my only suggestion would be would be to provide a jug of milk with the tea my husband felt uncomfortable keep asking the woman for milk for his tea which she then went to collect the big jug poured it for him and left so when he wanted another cup he had to ask again! A very minor problem and no other faults! Will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an enjoyable stay in Milan :) thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hdrummond29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Hdrummond29,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our staff is there for assisting our guests in any of their needs and they are pleased to do so, no need to feel uncomfortable, however we will inform the management about your suggestion regarding the jug of milk.

We are glad to read you will come back and we are looking forward to have you here at the Grand Visconti Palace again soon.

Kind regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were in Milano for several days and really enjoyed the hotel.

The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the breakfast was amazing with a lot of variety and it's close to the metro lines to the city center. (The hotel itself is not close to the city center.)

We will definitely stay here again when we are in Milano.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Winnie1500,

thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comment.

We will let the housekeeper and food and beverage manager know your feedback as we treasure our staff and we are very proud of them..

The Grand Visconti Palace hotel, as you said, is very closed to the underground and it is only four stops away from the centre, in fact it takes less than ten minutes to reach the Duomo square.

Kind Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a very good hotel, the service and decoration is wonderful. The rooms are very nice and large and the facilities very good indeed. It is not in a central location, but a short ride on the metro to the centre and only 14 euro taxi from the airport. If you are looking to relax in nice surroundings I would recommend this hotel. The bar, restaurant, swimming pool and lobby areas are extremely clean and well managed, the rooms were faultless. I expect you won't find a better value hotel in Milan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Jon R,

Thank you, your feedback is very much appreciated, both for the time you have dedicated to leave your opinion about us and for your kind words. Our main goal is to make every guest feel like at home, becoming a returning member of the GVP Family, therefore we hope to welcoming you back soon to your Milan home.

Warmest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,322 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Uptown Palace
#50 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing