We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but would get a 5 if tried a tiny bit harder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good but would get a 5 if tried a tiny bit harder”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Greeted by a lovely entrance, nice reception area, good service all round, bedroom immaculate, (interestingly all the basin sink plus were stuck shut as was the bidet had to get under and release manually. ) the free internet from lobby area is a nice and well used touch, as per all 4-5 star hotels the extras are expensive, the only real let down is the poor service for breakfast, on the first morning coffee took 3 requests and 20mins to arrive with no apology and in the end I complained to the front desk, who were very apologetic and it did improve from then on. Excellent location short walk to underground and only 1.5 euros each way to Milan centre. Some really good local restaurants nearby as well. Overall very pleasant hotel which could justify 5 stars if it just tried a wee bit more.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Good afternoon Mr Martin K,

thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the incident in the breakfast room, but we are glad we managed to do something about it before your actual departure.

As far as the sink and bidet in the room, it is not something that occurs usually, if we would have know we would have sent the maintanance to assist you.

As you pointed out, we are very near the city centre but also in a quiet location.

Looking forward to seeing you again at the Grand Visconti Palace hotel.
Kind Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    645
    144
    48
    34
See reviews for
354
605
66
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan, USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Pros:
Room size - Friends staying in other hotels had MUCH smaller rooms. Our basic room was comparable to North American hotel size.
Restaurant next door - there is a restaurant immediately adjacent to the hotel on its east side that has about a dozen tables. A customer started playing the guitar and singling, and the waiter took over. The whole restaurant starting singing Italian pop songs while the waiter and two customers played. It was great fun if you are in the mood for it. I enjoyed the pasta with seafood (shrimp and shellfish).
I was able to save a lot of money by reserving my room through a travel wholesaler.
Breakfast had a nice assortment of fruit and pastries. Bacon and scrambled eggs.

Neutral:
Staff - Some were excellent. Others were much less so. Several times the staff, no matter their position, answered questions wonderfully, including the bartender (even though we weren't drinking in the bar). However on at least two occasions when my wife asked the front desk staff a question, She was told to return in 2 hours when the concierge would be available. Definitely put a crimp in her plans.
Location: Nothing interesting nearby, however only a 3 minute walk to the Metro station, which allows you to get anywhere fast.
Beds: My wife and I were given two twins pushed together but still made separately. I had to request that they be made up as one bed. They would split apart sometimes.

Cons (Room specific)
Our room (#142) was on the East side facing the street. This was a problem one morning on garbage day - the truck was there emptying countless containers nice and early for at least 15 minutes (felt like 30+), and made such a loud noise I couldn't sleep.
Our bathroom tub did not drain properly. This makes you wonder if the material blocking the pipe is floating back up (though never saw anything specific though).

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the eastern face of the hotel so you won't hear the garbage trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mr. Kevin K,

We thank you very much for taking the time to give us feed back about your stay with us. We are glad the room, our service and the breakfast were enjoyable. Concerning the questions not answered directly from the front desk staff we assume they must have been more specific regarding Concierge matters, as normally the reception handle the main information about Milan whenever the Concierge is not available, straight a way. Normally when reception staff address guests to the Concierge is in order to provide a more detailed and personalised service. We are sorry that this caused delays in your wife’s plans.
We inform you that whenever there is any issue with the room in terms of noise or technical matters you are invited to contact the reception in order to solve the situation while you are staying at the Hotel.
Hoping to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Milan. We were greeted with warmth and a smile by both reception and concierge.

Reception was able to recommend some wonderful restaurants to us and show the key landmarks on the map. The great thing about this hotel is that it is outside the crazy touristy area yet only a couple of stops away from the centre on the metro (with the metro station only a block away).

The rooms were above average in size (for Europe) and very clean with a large bathroom.

We absolutely loved our stay here and would recommend it to all our friends and family. We have a wonderful time in Milan in general and cannot wait to come back.

Thank you to the staff at Grand Visconti for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NayiriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear NayiriA,

We are happy, our reception and concierge staff together with a clean and comfortable room helped making your stay a memorable moment.

Our aim is to make you feel at home therefore we are glad we have fulfilled our goal, your feed back meets our daily effort in trying and making the difference among the many Milan hotels!

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends for a nice holiday in Milan!

Warmest Regards.

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is only grand in its pretense. Cheap fixtures are crooked and tired. The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. The wifi is moderately fast but plans don't allow multiple devices easily which everyone has nowadays. Nothing special.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marksilv242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear MArksilv242,

We thank you for your feed back, we are sorry your stay was not at the level of our usual standards.

As far as it concerns the deco, we respect your opinion as we understand every person can have a different taste, we do not expect everybody to like the Classic Italian Style the Hotel offers, it is a question of personal taste, which we can not discuss.

We would love to know what you think we should do for our breakfast to improve, your opinion is important for us and make us do better.

The multiple device connection for the wi-fi is available in the room wit the business voucher of Swisscom, our provider, up to 3 different devices, please do not ever hesitate to contact the reception staff in order to be assisted whenever you incur into issues of this kind.

Our staff will do their best in order to give you the right solution.

We hope you will come back in order to let us provide you with our usual standards and quality service.

Best Regards.

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very nice hotel clean and the staff very good service. The breakfast very rich but the only problem was that it no had free wifi
The room was nice the bed is very nice and very clean. I will go again.





  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Aristeidis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Aristeidis C,

thank you for your kind feed back, we are glad you have experienced a good service and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Concerning the wifi, the Management is working out a solution as soon as possible for the rooms, as at the moment the connection is free in the lobby, bar and breakfast area.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is in great location within 200M of the subway and getting to and from the airport is a breeze.
Staff & Service is professional and courteous with the right amount of distance between staff and guests. A difficult task even in most 5+star hotels.
The breakfast is fresh, and although variety is limited, waffles and pancakes are just not the Italian thing....
If you have a car there is enough road parking so you can avoid the in house parking fee, also stay out o the Milano central area as there is a congestion tax....you don't get told this readily.
The beds are firm but excellent. Rooms are a good size by European standards with all the standard amenities, albeit by request ....this seems to be a recurring theme these days.
All in all a great Hotel with eateries all round would highly recommend to all.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: If given a choice request a room off the side of the building Garbage collection is made, it will li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVIDXOTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Davidxotic,

thank you for your kind feed back, we are happy you had a good stay at Gand Viconti Palace.
You have mentioned that outside the hotel there is road parking but please be careful as most of it is residents areas only and pay parking lines. The Hotel provides an internal garage for the guests with a fixed rate per night in order for cars to be safer. The congestion tax information are located at each entrance road to the city as well as scattered around the city in Italian and in English, luckily the hotel is situated outside the C area therefore no fee to be paid.
All our rooms, as you mentioned, are fully equipped with the main amenities, furthermore we offer some extra item available upon request.
Please remember that a concierge desk is at our guests’ disposal for any advice about the area and the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'm an Accor Platinum, so my review may not represent the treatment everyone receives. As a Platinum, I got early priority check-in (11AM), two free drinks at the bar, in room wifi for free, and an upgraded room. We stayed in a deluxe twin room.
Sleep Quality: Poor! The beds are hard as rocks! The pillows were not that great, either. Lastly, our room faced the street, and we heard lots of noise. The street noise is not really the hotel's fault, so ask for a room facing the interior, if possible.
Breakfast: Very European. Don't expect much in the way of hot food, but there was a good selection of fruits, yogurts, cereal, meats, cheeses. Breakfast was included in our room, but I wouldn't have paid for it.
Staff: Awesome. We particularly were impressed with Tamer, the doorman. He greeted us daily with a genuine, positive attitude. This was noted by both of us. Moreover, when we had a concern, a need, etc, the staff addressed it quickly.
Dining: Good luck finding the hotel restaurant! We literally walked 15 minutes and hit a series of elevators before we found it, only to be turned away, because it didn't open until 7:30PM. We wanted dinner at 6:30PM, and that couldn't be accommodated, even with room service.
Bathroom: Huge and excellent, A++! Ladies, bring conditioner. We were prepared in that regard as our experience is many European hotels do not supply conditioner.
Cleanliness: Excellent. We were a bit surprised when we left the room only to get yogurt at breakfast, put the do not disturb sign on and came back to find the maid in our room. Also, the staff did enter to do turndown service and provide a manager gift, even though we had left the do not disturb sign on to go touring. I usually put the sign up as a security precaution. It baffled me that staff would enter the room when the sign was up!
The hotel is three subway stops from Duomo. It takes about 7 minutes, and we bought a 48 hour subway pass for 8.45 Euros. It was really no issue for us, but we are comfortable taking public transportation everywhere we travel. You won't be resenting taking the short trip to the city center if you feel the same about public transport
To get to the hotel from Malpensa Airport: Take the Malpensa Express train to Milano Centrale. From Milano Centrale, take the Yellow M3 subway to Lodi TBB stop. The hotel is literally one block from the Lodi TBB. This will cost you 11.50 Euros. It's the cheapest and most efficient way. The journey will take over an hour, with the Malpensa Express being the longest part.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the hotel interior to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solavino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Solavino21,



We would like to thank you for your very detailed feed back, certainly it will be great help for other travellers. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the nice attitude of our staff. We are sorry you could easily find the restaurant, which follows the Milan schedule for the opening hours. We inform you that aware of a possible issue in finding it, you can find the directions to reach it in each elevator.

As far as it concern the do not disturb sign we will have to investigate about what happen, usually the staff do not access rooms whenever the sign is on, we hope this did not badly effect your opinion on us. Once again we are glad to see our Housekeeping department receiving good feed back cleanliness, together with a good staff, it is one of the most important marks for a hotel! Please remember that for any assistance about transfers from/to the Milan airports the hotel also provides a private car service with driver, do not hesitate to contact our Concierge desk for any information about it.
We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing