We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a palace, but not bad..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #40 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good, solid, mid size hotel. Not a central location, but a block away from metro station. Rooms are small, but comfortable. If you get a good price-would be a good choice. Not many dining choices around. The wifi works well. Great breakfast-fills you up till the dinner time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3pleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear 3pleC,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.

Regarding accommodation we remind you that we have different types of rooms and suites. Our Deluxe rooms, for example, overlook the garden which is the best view possible in the hotel and big enough to contain up to three people also. Otherwise you can choose one of our 12 suites built in order to satisfy any guest need.

In terms of location, we simply remind you that the hotel is situated just at about 3 minutes walking distance from the metro line direct to the city centre, that is reachable in about 10 minutes, only 4 stops. The area itself is not exactly city centre but easily accessible even by car (while in the centre you need to have permission, no parking, much traffic). It is a residential area where you have mainly everything in terms of shops, services, restaurants and gardens. The only things the area does not offer is Monuments or Museums except for the area of Porta Romana, one of the historical old roads, which is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel and where you have some Roman ruins & one of the various antic gates of “Mediolanum”.

Looking forward to having you here back soon we send you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at the Visconti Palace. Simply can not fault this hotel. Beautiful room, exceptionally helpful staff & lovely surroundings. Easy access to city centre too. Pity we could not have stayed longer. Fab.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janey-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Janey-TRIP,

first of all we want to thank you for choosing Grand Visconti Place as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback which has been very flattering for all of us.

We are very delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us and it has been a pleasure for us being at your disposal during your stay.

We liked a lot you have appreciated our hospitality and our truly form to be;

we look forward to welcoming you soon again in our “little oasis in the city”!

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights from Monday 19th to the 22nd May 2014. We were welcomed at reception by Berrnie and Maud who were fantastic and checked us in separately as we had traveled with our parents.Maud took us too our rooms and was very good informing us of where everything was and what times the restaurant opened for dinner and breakfast. She showed us our room and explained everything about the room to us.When your in a foreign country this is great even if, like us, you are very experienced travelers. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are larger than normal. The guys in the bar (sorry we didnt get their names) were also very good at what they do and were always very helpful and attentive.The snacks you get with your drinks makes up for the cost of the drinks but its what we expected so we used the bar each night for a night cap. The hotel is very close to the metro and is four stops from the Duomo. The area does look a bit rough but we felt quite safe walking around in the area. I really cannot fault the hotel,the only issue i would have was that our room faced the road which is about 6 lanes big and can get noisy. Would it stop me staying there absolutely not. If you plan to stay in Milan i dont think you find a better hotel for the money.
Excellent.
This is for the management if they read the reviews, the breakfast was a bit unorganised and we had to ask for tea and coffee or we had to get it ourselves. Also they were busy clearing tables and not re-filling the bread, milk and pastries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAWN1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear DAWN1M,

We thank you very much for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback which is important to us!
We are very delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us and it has been a pleasure for all of us being at your disposal during your stay.

As far as it concerns breakfast we are sorry that was below your expectations. we have already forwarded the comment to our F&B Manager who will follow up in order to understand why service was slowed down.

Regarding the room facing the street we inform you that normally it is hard to hear the sound of the city as all of them are well sound proof therefore we are really sorry we will have our maintenance to double check the situation.
Our location is nearby the subway station LODI TIBB, which is the line than in only 4 stops takes you directly to the Duomo (the Milan’s Cathedral). The good thing about not being exactly in the hearth of the city is also the easy access to the highways, to the airports as well as we are not inside the “C Zone”, which requires a daily fee to be paid for who arrives to the hotel by car. Furthermore it is a very nice option the walk to the city centre as you will be experiencing one of the old roman roads called Corso di Porta Romana with its cobblestone pavement and many little shops and cafes.

Looking forward to having you here soon, we send to you our

Best Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a well maintained hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel grounds/garden area is lovely, with a few seats and loungers. Our room was a really good size, and so was the bed, and the bathroom had a bath and shower, robes and nice towels. There was not a spot of dust or a mark in sight on our third floor corridor! Small touches like the reception calling in the evening to see if everything was fine with the stay made the hotel a solid 4*. I didn’t visit the spa but the treatment list looked good. The gentleman at the bar worked hard and made a good cocktail, bit pricey but worth it, you have to treat yourself on holiday! The bar area was ok but lacked a bit of ambience, it just felt like you were near the reception having a drink which was a shame when you are paying 12 euros a drink each time and a bit later in the evening it was silent, would have been good to have some quiet music in the background.

Breakfast was very good with a variety of hot and cold food, and delicious pastries! I am not sure if you could – but it would have been nice to sit outside somewhere and eat and enjoy the beginning of the sunny mornings.

We bought a metro pass to travel around, the hotel is close to the stop Lodi T.I.B.B and is a few stops away from the Duomo which has shops and other attractions nearby. We decided against getting taxis to and from the airport (well there was a strike on the way back so we had to get a metro) but it was extremely cheap, it cost just 3 euros each to get back to the airport on a metro and then bus.

There is not a lot near the hotel, but it is within walking distance to a supermarket which had a few shops and restaurants on the top floor, a couple of bars/cafes; one in which we visited. I think it was called the Open Café, it had fair priced food (lovely big pizza for 7 euros) and a good atmosphere at the weekend with live singers – I couldn’t understand what they were singing but they sounded good! This was a cheaper comparison to some of the other places we ate where a meal for two and one drink each could easily reach 70/80 euro mark.

I don’t think I would visit Milan again as I feel I have seen it now, but if you are give this hotel a try – it is very good!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Loyalroya,

Than you so munch for choosing the Grand Visconti Palace for your visit in Milan. We are so glad you liked the hotel, the services and the location.

We have appreciated the suggestions you gave us and we will pass to our F&B Manager.

Kindest regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A nice but not great central hotel in Milan with good sized rooms and helpful staff. We often walked into the central Duomo area which took around 15 -20 minutes.
In addition to the size,
the rooms were clean, well presented and the hotel offers a nice spa for relaxing (pool, sauna, steamroom).

Disappointed at €7.50 charge per item to iron clothing when no self service facilities are made available, due to recent guest fire incident apparently.

On the whole would look for alternatives before staying here again but not a bad choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Winton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Winton10,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to know you liked the room and enjoyed our spa.

We are really sorry for your disappointment. Unfortunately we do not have a a free self service facilities, we propose to our guests a laundry service available every day from 8.30 to 21.30. But we have appreciated your suggestion and we will pass it to our management.

Sincerely,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

1) very close to the metro in walking distance; 2) people are very professional and ready to find a solution for you 3) nice garden for nice days 4) you can enjoy the spa 5) room are comfortable and quite

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Luciano B,

Thank you so much for the perfect summary of our hotel. We are glad you had a good time with us and hope to welcoming you back soon.

Very best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
669 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#8 of 428 in Milan
1,482 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#76 of 428 in Milan
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#34 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £98 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing