We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #37 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was our first time in Milan and we could not have picked a better place to stay, 3 stops on the Yellow Line from Duomo and minutes to all the sights. The hotel is very elegant and clean, bathroom was amazing. We stayed in one of the suites with two kids and they loved the beds. We didn't use the pool or spa so I can't comment, but both looked amazing. Breakfast was included, we were there for 5 days and sort of got tired of having the same breakfast everyday, it would have been nice to have a little variety and changed the menu from time-to-time, but no complaints. All the staff were helpful and were eager to help questions or requests.

Room Tip: Sight seeing tip - don't do the hop-on-hop-off at 25 Euros, buy a 24 hours pass for the metro 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vondarkmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Good afternoon Vondarkmoor,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

We are glad your family and you enjoyed your time here with us and we will definetely pass your suggestion to the Food & Beverage Manager.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have just spent an amazing 24 hours in this lovely hotel. My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary and it was a very good decision . All the staff were extremely friendly and courteous , a true oasis in the centre of Milan. Highly recommended to everyone who wants to experience a real treat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenanita68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Good Morning Ms Karenanit,

we are very happy you decided to come and spend your anniversary here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel and we hope we will be your choice for next year too.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Visconti Palace from June 4-7, 2014. The hotel is located very close to the subway system and only 3 stops from the Duomo and the LaScala Opera House. The hotel is well appointed; neat and clean. The included breakfast offered an outstanding variety of fruits, meats, cheeses, cakes and breads customarily associated with European hotels as well as eggs, cereals and a variety of yogurts. The staff was always personable and friendly and always willing to give assistance regarding area transportion, scentic tours, nearby restaurants, local attractions and more. Of particular note were Bernie Gallotta, a Concierge and Guest Services representative and Yveline Corthier, a Front Office Manager. Both were very engaging and willing to take the time necessary to assure that all of our questions were answers. The services they provided and recommendations they made went a long may to assuring us a wonderful holiday in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. They are quieter and offer a very scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Desmonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Desmonick,

thank you for your feedback. We are very proud of Yveline, Bernie and all of our staff who is commetted to make our guest's stay a memorable one.

We suggest to book the rooms overlooking the courtyard in advance if the view of our garden is what you are looking for.

We hope you will come back soon to visit us at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel,
Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

from the concierge to the restaurant with marvelous staff all helped to make our too short stay memorable in every way such exquisite bed linen a wonderful breakfast then a stroll in the garden before continuing to Venice aaah Italy sublime!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lyn R,

we are glad we partecipated on making your visit in Italy a memorable one and we hope you will come back at the Grand VIsconti Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Dyty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location (4 stops on the metro) to the Duomo. Rooms small but comfortable. Great restaurants all nearby. Concierge very helpful. Note of caution: if you are traveling from Malpensa airport the hotel taxi will cost you EUR 100.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Good morning Mr Rob M,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Malpensa is nearly km 60 far away, as it is not in the city of Milan. The closest airport to us is Linate, which is about 20 minutes journey from the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.
Our concierge can also organize pick ups and transfer for our guests.

We hope you will come back to visit us,

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I came here for a wedding lunch and following party. I did not spend the night here, but the person who got a room said it was a great experience. I only had the chance to see the garden outside, the dining hall and the so called "winter garden".
We arrived after the wedding mass around 1pm and we gathered outside in the garden. Drinks and hors d'oevres were nicely arranged on four different tables outdoors. There were several types of cheese and prosciutto on one. A cook was preparing typical fried foods on another, a third table was reserved for mini cakes and fruits and the fourth for drinks and wine. We then moved inside in the banquet room and the lunch started with a crepe with seafood and vegetables. Then they served a risotto with goat cheese and red berries sauce. Afterwards a veal with pistachios and Marsala sauce and a side of zucchini with baked ricotta cheese. After the meal, we all went again outside for the wedding cake cutting and then to the "winter garden" which is a nice covered area outside where the DJ, dancing area, liquors and desserts were. We spent the rest of the evening there. It was a very nice day in a great location and kudos to the Grand Visconti Palace to manage everything so well. I heard there is a new manager from Sardinia there and things greatly improved.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank travelsafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Food & Beverage Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sirs,

I learned with much pleasure that you had a wonderful day,

your judgment is an incentive for us to do better.

A warm thank you from all the staff

Gian Luca Fois
F&B Manager Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First impressions were very good. The web booking system was easy and efficient. Checking in was quick and easy, with doorman, concierge and reception staff well turned out and very friendly.

The room was well appointed & clean. Tea/Coffee, mini bar, TV, mini safe. A HUGE and very comfortable bed. Considering the busy main road outside, road noise was almost non existant, so a good nights sleep was assured, however, first night (of 4) a distant alarm clock went off but loud enough to wake me at silly oclock. It went on for some time, and I eventually discovered it was a fire alarm with a very unconventional sound. I dressed and left the room, to find 20 or so people in reception. Turnm out there was a fire omn the 4th floor. 5 appliances and 1 hour later, all goes quiet and back to bed.

So, whats the hotel like? Well, it was OK. The room service was expensive (so not used), the mini bar was (as is the norm) very expensive (so not used) and the hotel Restaurant was both expensive and of limited menu - although this I did use twice.

Breakfast was about average, good wholesome, well cooked, but no variation from day to day. Being an Englishman, I like a hot breakfast, and it was the same every day, scrambled eggs, sausage balls (very nice) & bacon. Breakfast was 0700-10.00

Biggest issue I had, was with the HVAC in the room. It defaults to the lowest fan setting, and 24 degrees every time you leave the room - and takes Ages to come to temperatue if you set anything lower - and when I say ages, I mean like hours!! The outside temperature for early June was 32 degrees and climbing.

I found a supermarket nearby which did me well for supplies, as alcoholic drinks and even plain water was expensive in the hotel.

The Resturant was fun. I was on the first floor. To get to the Restaurant, I had to go down the lift to ground, walk along tthe lobby, get into another lift to go to the basement, walk along a long service corridor to yet another lift, to go up to the 5th floor Restaurant - because the hotel was basically 3 or 4 seperate buildings made into one, but not connected very well.

The restaurant food was made totally fresh to order, so a little slow, but amazingly good.

Personally, I think this is a great hotel, in a great location and would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Good afternoon dear 600Andy,

we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and to give you some extra informations.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the alarm sound, however the safety of our guests is very important to us, and therefore we wanted to be absolutely sure before letting you and everybody else going back to their rooms.

The prices of the room service, mini bar and restaurants are more or less the same of all the other four stars hotels here in Milan.

As far as the A/C we can override it from the front desk to keep a set temperature even when you are out.

Finally our hotel has a “V” shape and therefore it depends when your room is, you would need to take a maximum of two lifts to reach the restaurant

We are glad you think we are a great hotel and we are looking forward to having you as our guest at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Milano
#28 of 430 in Milan
2,019 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
693 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 430 in Milan
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milan
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £92 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing