We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding luxury value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding luxury value”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Travelling with the family we needed two rooms. As it was a suite at this hotel was a little more than one room in other more central hotels. We know that some of the reviews praise the location. We cannot agree because on arrival the location looks and is disappointing in itself. It is not a city central or picturesque spot. However it is very close to the tube and then only three or four quick stops from Duomo in the middle the city. In any even , once inside this is irrelevant and then the hotel comes into its own. We were surprised to discover it was only converted into a hotel in 2001because it is in the Grand Style of a more traditional city hotel rather than boutigue modern. Our rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and stylish. The suite comprised two adjoining rooms with two en-suite (one shower one whirl pool bath). On room was intended as a sitting room so had a sofa bed which was a little soft for adults (but fine for children).
We had a snack in the bar one evening which was tasty and well presented. We did not make use of the spa but the facilities seemed impressive from the indoor photographs. Breakfast was a good continental buffet. The staff were helpful and attentive. On site parking is available. Overall we considered the hotel to offer absolutely outstanding value. Were it in London you would easily pay twice the price for what we had - 4 or 5 star luxury on a 2 or 3 star budget. No hesitation in recommending tis as long as you don't want views of central Milan from your windows.

Room Tip: The wifi only allows one user at a time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Patrick58,

Thank you for your very nice review, we are happy you had such a good experience with us.

It is very kind of you to recommend our hotel and we really hope to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Very best regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    634
    142
    48
    30
See reviews for
339
595
66
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ecellent location and very professional staff.
Rooms are fantastic.
Turndown service was much appreciated.
The waiter in the restaurant was really helpfull and had a great culture.
I really recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fra4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Fra4891 thank you for leaving a lovely comment about your stay.

We are very happy you enjoyed the time you spent at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel and we hope you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I get to travel a lot in Milan for work and used to stay in a typical business Hotel but this time due to unavailability I booked a room on the nearby Grand Visconti Palace. I was so happy with it I will never set foot again on a different hotel in Milan. Rooms are nicely decorated, large, clean and well maintained. Service is above my at least expectations and included all you can ask from a hotel. Breakfast was amazing, great choice and quality of local food, I tried also the small restaurant one evening and although pricey I loved the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonidas-tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Leonidas,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are extremely happy to know we excedeed your expection, it is very important to us to satisfy our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was lovely but for us only being there for a couple of days, a little too far out from city centre. However there is a subway not too far, walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great. Drinks in lobby and menu there also very enjoyable. We had dinner in restaurant one night. Expensive and we were the only ones there, most were in the lobby bar where you could enjoy smaller, but nice menu and people watch! Rooms great and well serviced. In fact for us if this hotel were closer to city centre, would have been ideal. In saying that cab fare even with tip was only 15 euro, but you wouldn't do that a few times a day for long
Niger stay you would need to familiarise yourself with subway. Good value is their private car to airport, as the airports are a great distance out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Good afternoon Kerry B,

thank you for taking the time to write your comment about your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

We are considered still the centre of the city as we are only four stops from the Duomo, which is the heart of Milan.

We hope you will come back and stay with us.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan in July 2014 at the end of our three week holiday in Italy. Wow! What a great way to end our vacation! We booked a King Room on-line but were immediately upgraded to a King Room Deluxe upon our arrival by the duty manager at reception without any additional charge. The photos of the rooms on their website are beautiful and the room itself lived up to them. It was elegant, spacious and had a lovely marble bathroom with very nice toiletries. The hotel is also well-located, being only 4 stops from the Lodi TIBB metro stop to the hub of Milan at the Duomo (cathedral). It is also just a 200 meter walk from the metro stop if you are hauling suitcases rather than coming by taxi.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and ready to help when we needed timetables of trains to the airport and map of Milan. The breakfast was varied and lovely, and their Piano restaurant on the 5th floor was excellent. Our two nights, including breakfast, cost us 258 Euros which was reasonable bearing in mind the costs of similar standard hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Lance R,

thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy you had a great time and we truly hope you will come back to visit us at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel after reading good reviews.
We were celebrating our 15 year wedding anniversary and we were gladly upgraded to a newly refurbished room on the first floor near the lobby area. Bonus to that was the we were in range for free wifi connection, which was free for two hours at a time, which was no problem.
The room was very pleasant, with mini bar, safe, sat tv, air con, bathrobes etc.
Breakfast was continental but adequate.
Hotel staff were very helpful and assisted in our every needs especially on how to travel and where to go.
We took the bus from malpensa airport and got a return ticket which was cheap and very quick.
We also got a 48 hour metro ticket which you can use on the metro, bus and tram for only 8.25 euros each.
We went on a day trip to como, really nice place to visit to chill out from the town.
Best places to eat and drink etc was near Genova metro station. It's on the camel stretch, lots to eat and drink, especially on happy hour. I would recommend Shiva Indian restaurant, the food was absolutely amazing.
We had use of the spa but we had to use a swimming cap to into the swimming pool. Good facilities.
Overall a very lovely stay in Milan that's to a great hotel and service.
I would highly recommend to anyone as could not fault it.

Negative points only one, the bar prices of drinks was expensive but you expect that a pt hotel prices.

Room Tip: Get a newly refurb room near the lobby, wifi is then free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Keatan K,

thank you for writing your feedback.

It is very important for us knowing we can exceed our guest's expectation and we hope to have you once again here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wir waren hochzufrieden mit unserer Wahl! Über trivago haben wir unsere 3 Nächte deutlich günstiger bekommen, hatten aber dennoch eine der besseren Zimmerkategorien und das Spa inklusive.

Das Hotel ist sehr schön eingerichtet. Unser Zimmer war sehr geräumig (das Bett war riesig!), unser Bad war ebenfalls großzügig und aus Marmor.
Das Frühstück war vielseitig und hochwertig. An einem Abend haben wir uns im Restaurant des Hotels ein 4-Gänge-Menü gegönnt, das wirklich ausgezeichnet war.
Die Lage ist auch gut: In unmittelbarer Umgebung gibt es nette Cafés und Restaurants, im Zentrum ist man nach 4 Metro-Stationen und die Metro ist in Mailand relativ günstig.
Das Personal war ausnahmslos sehr freundlich. Der Garten des Hotels und die Lobby sind sehr schön und eignen sich gut für Aufenthalte. In der Lobby ist WLAN gratis.
Der Spa-Bereich ist relativ klein, aber fein.
Ein Aspekt ist mir sehr wichtig: Die Sauberkeit. Und auch die war wirklich exorbitant gut.
Wir waren rundum und restlos zufrieden und haben uns gut erholt.

Tipps: Nach einem Nichtraucherzimmer zum Hof raus fragen. Und Badekappen mitbringen, die braucht man im Spa und die kosten sonst vor Ort 5€.

ENGLISH:
We were very happy with our choice. We got a great deal with trivago for this hotel. We paid less than usual but had a rather good room category and the spa included.

The hotel's interior is very elegant. Our room was very spacious (the bed was huge and comfortable) and so was the bathroom which was entirely made of marble.
The breakfast was extensive and high-quality. One evening we allowed ourselves a dinner in the hotel's restaurant with four courses which was delicious and therefore absolutely worth the money.
The location of the hotel is great as well. There are several nice Cafès and restaurants nearby and it only takes 4 metro stations to get to the city centre (and the metro is rather cheap).
The staff were without exception absolutely friendly and helpful. The garden and lobby are nice as well. The wireless internet is free to use in the lobby (it's accessible in the garden as well).
The spa is rather small but sufficient and neat.
Hygiene and cleanliness are very important to me - one might call me picky about it. But my high expectations were absolutely met here as well.
We were completely content, got a good rest and recommend this hotel without concerns or constraints.

Advice: Ask for a non-smoking room which faces the garden. Bring bathing caps because you will need them in the spa and the hotel charges 5€ for them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,405 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#29 of 428 in Milan
1,593 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing