We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Visconti Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
athens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

I travel offten to Milan for bussiness. The hotel was recommended to me by my Italian partners and i stay to this hotel friquently . I like it very much since it's luxury, the lobby is made with good taste & the staff is friendly and professional.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and nice decorated.
I enjoy the back yard during summer night.
One more think that it was really helpful (i mean it) is that you got the chance to buy small gift to your wife from the hotel. The only way to be welcomed when you return home but you are in time pressure and you cannot visit the shops

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karakaxaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    609
    133
    47
    29
See reviews for
319
572
65
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed here on business in June 2009 for two nights and had found a good deal on Expedia including Alitalia flights. I particularly chose this hotel because it was one of the few hotels in Milan that had a swimming pool.

The hotel itself was nice, although it seemed they were using the lounge area as more of an art gallery than a grand seating area. It made it feel almost tacky, but luckily the room made up for that. Check in was very simple and we were in our room well within ten minutes of arriving. The room was impressively large with high ceilings and well kept furnishings. The bathroom décor was not to my taste and the room just large enough for one person at a time, but fit for purpose!

There was a thermostat/air conditioning control but it was so complicated (with no instructions) that I was not able to fully understand how to control it. Luckily the room was large enough that it didn’t get too hot over night.

Buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and was good as European hotels go. There was a small hot buffet, cereal, fresh bread, pastries, meats and cheeses. It was also possible to get some lovely Italian macchiatos on request.

Located in the South West part of Milan, the hotel was about a 2 minute walk to the nearest metro station and at 3 Euros for a 24 hour travel card it was very cheap, quick and easy to get to the City centre by metro.

The only really negative thing about my stay was discovering on arrival at the spa that for hotel guests it costs 15 Euros (for non-hotel residents it costs 25 Euros) to use the facilities during the week, with an additional 5 euros for a very fetching swimming cap if you had not brought your own with you. The facilities are free for hotel guests at the weekend and so I took the opportunity to check them out on the Saturday morning of my stay. I was very glad that I had not paid 20 Euros the previous day, as this was the only part of the hotel that was beginning to look tired. As well as the swimming pool (which was a generous size for a hotel) there was a Jacuzzi (which was not working), a sauna (which had a very stiff door) and a steam room. An interior designer somewhere had decided that it would be a good idea to put small white stones in every corner of the room and every corner of every step, which I thought looked less like a feature and more like a safety hazard!

Liked – The location and the room.

Disliked – The spa and charges associated with it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Classy hotel. Great room and a very good breakfast. Out of the center, but this no problem because the metro is very nearby and it is only 4 stops away to the Duomo.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

we stayed at the grand visconti palace after seeing it on the luxury link web site last year. although they no longer offered a package on luxury link, i requested the same package of 800 euros for 3 nights. i received email confirmation that they would honor the package. when i checked out, i was charged 800 euros for EACH night. after reviewing the paperwork, i saw they had written 800 euros for each night on the reservation check in form. we had just flown in from new york, and were tired, so we felt there was little recourse at the time.
i have communicated with the manager of the hotel, who would not compromise on the pricing, but rather offered me one free night next year. i have no plans to return, and asked if he would reconsider, but he did not. i then asked to contact the owner of the hotel, again, no compromise.
we should have been more aware of what we were getting into initially. another customer at check in was complaining about the noise, and was told that he was in a room facing the street, and couldnt be moved.
for 800 euros, a good deal at a nice hotel, although it is out of the way. for 2400 euros, a total ripoff. the management are not very hospitality service oriented, and should understand customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabD, Rooms Division Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 17 April 2009
Dear Guest,

as professionals of the hospitality, we would always like to value our guests feedback.

In this occasion you will excuse me if I try to set things straight as your comments are showing just one side of the picture, and other readers may be wrongly influenced by this personal.

We can all agree there has been some misunderstanding among the two parts concerning your reservation.

It is also true that we have had the opportunity to discuss the situation directly upon departure, and later exchanging a few e-mails.

As result of a brief internal investigation, we did not identify any direct responsibility about what happened: the person in the reservations department who handled your booking made sure you were made aware that we are no longer working with Luxury Link and then made the best possible offer for accomodating you in a suite for a reasonable price.
Also the confirmation sent to you, stated exactly that rates were "per room per night" and we have e-mails and corrispondence that make us think you could not have been unaware of the detailed total expense of your forthcoming stay at the Grand Visconti Palace.
To finally resolve the situation we came up with a compensation and that was offered to you as a "good will gesture" .
We objectively understand (using your words)" the financial suffering of ending up paying three times the amount you expected to pay", even if elements in both hands state differently, and that is the reason why we decided to offer you a complimentary night stay.
You mentioned you would rather be refunded for the difference paid: that would have been more than appropriate if we (Grand Visconti Palace) had been unclear in any sort of way, certainly not under the experienced circumstances.

I think this integration was due to enable readers to have a compleate a clearer picture.

With best regards

Fabio Dellea
Rooms Division Manager
Grand Visconti Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Absolutley gorgeous hotel with beautiful large rooms. Staff is exceptional as check in counter staff called us by name (as American traveler we surely did not look Italian) and explained the services available at the hotel. My wife sustained a knee injury skiing and we called ahead to the hotel to arrange a wheelchair for our time spent touring Milan - the hotel had gone across town and got the wheelchair for us so we wouldn't have to hassle with that. Their Guest Relations Manager BERNIE GALLOTTA was extremely helpful, recommending a good place to eat and great tips on how to get around on the subway (Buy a 3 Euro day pass and you ride anywhere all day long) to the sights we wanted to see. He even offered to have one of the hotel vehicles pick us up if we became too fatigued during the day. All staff were exceptionally professional and made us feel as if we were the most important people staying at the hotel. It was the perfect experience to finish off our weeklong ski trip in Courmayeur. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling69Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Guest Relations at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
Dear Guests,

we thank you so much for visiting the Grand Visconti Palace as well for taking the time to fill in the hotel questionnaire : it is important for us.

We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our staff has made you feel comfortable. Our aim is to provide the best service with a professional but human touch.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Visconti Palace in the near future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further assistance and information you may need.

Best regards
Antonella Mecrani
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardolino
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

Grand visconti palace hotel in milan, Bea u tiful hotel in a nice area and only 3 stops away from the duomo . perfect for xmas shopping has the hotel was decorated wonderful. rooms were exceptionally large with all the best fittings and bed linen which was changed daily, The staff were most helpful , and breakfast a very grand affair , also very reasonably priced for such a grand hotel in the city will definitly be going back.

Helpful?
Thank rubydeeBardolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

I stayed during the Milan furniture festival so demand was high, but the cost of the room was very expensive - c.£400 per night. The stay didn't start well after our rooms weren't ready when we turned up at 2pm. We were told flatly that they would be ready at 8pm!! After stating that this wasn't acceptable given that check in was 2pm we were told to sit in the lounge until everything was settled. We were there for over an hour and I had to keep reminding the staff that we were still waiting.

The room was nothing special - especially bearing in mind the price. The hotel really needs to sort out things like the in-room dining ordering process. The menu is on the TV - a gimmic which just doesn't work. And it took me about 5 minutes to find the number to call room service.

The gym was surprisingly well equipped and opening hours were convenient.

I did have a problem with room service breakfast. About an hour late due to the lifts not working. Problems happen of course, but this just wasn't well communicated to me. The response was that it was "on its way", which turned out not to be true. And the end product was very disappointing given the cost of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DesignLoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,136 reviews
Uptown Palace
#50 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing