We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price - handy transport”
Review of Zefiro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zefiro Hotel
Ranked #363 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Reasonable price - handy transport”
Reviewed 21 February 2008

After hunting around for a reasonably priced deal on a late booking we decided to go for the Zefiro.

The hotel itself was clean and reception helpful. Our room was on the second floor at the front. There was a little noise but that was mainly ambulances going to the nearby hopsital and nothing out of the ordinary for a city centre hotel. It didn't discturb my sleep.

My room was large with a mini bar and decent sized bathroom. Must say the bed was extremely comfortable and again a good size. TV had CNN & BBC World for catching up on world events.

Breakfast, well you needed to be up fairly early to get the best of the meats and cheeses but couldn't really complain. Just one tip for the coffee machine. I tried 2 espressos with milk because it stayed hotter longer than the other white coffee option.

As for transport there are good connections nearby. The 61 bus, out the front of the hotel turn right and right again to get onto the main road where there are several stops, was my main route through Milan as far as Duomo, Castle Sfozesco & Cadorna Station. I used the 5 tram to get to the Metro stops and Central Station. Don't use the tram stop just outside of the hotel if you're heading in to town, for Central Station say. Go left at the stop up the line a bit otherwise you'll do a loop back to the start of the route.

I found Milan easy to get around with a bit of knowledge and enjoyed my few days there. That even included a dreary AC Milan performance but the San Siro experience was fantastic (and you can get tickets in the bank near the hotel).

  • Liked — Close to public transport system
  • Disliked — Breakfast if you are not an early riser
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Curnow_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    55
    31
    27
See reviews for
15
32
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We've just returned from a four day stay at the Zefiro Hotel in Milan. Having read lots of reviews of the hotel; we weren't sure what to expect. However, we found it an excellent hotel, perfectly priced and it was really easy to get to and from Stazione Centrale.

It was also a great base to get around the city; as it’s only 10 minutes to Duomo on the number 61 or 54 bus. A day ticket which you can use on the bus, tram or train only costs 3 Euros (purchased from tobacconist around the corner fm the hotel, as noted in their hotel guide). Would also recommend picking up the city map in the hotel, this was our lifeline to get around.

The hotel is very clean. Our room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Agree with some comments that the room is slightly dated but this did not affect our stay. The staff were very polite, friendly and spoke very good English. Breakfast was nice with a good selection.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Location/price/staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fripp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

We stayed here for one night after staying in Bergamo at the Capello D'Orro (really nice place). We wished we had stayed on in Bergamo as this hotel and Milan were really disappointing. The room we were put in at first smelled so strongly of cigarettes and yet we had asked for a no-smoking room. Thankfully we were given a different room, it still smelled - just a bit less. All of the furniture was grey and plastic, like office furniture really but the bed was the same. The bed was so uncomfortable, really old mattress. My boyfriend and I spent the whole night trying not to roll into the middle. The bathroom was disgusting, like old swimming bath tiles, up the walls and in the shower. I could hardly bare to use the shower, it was small and I was scared to touch the walls because they were so horrid. My boyfriend and I argued non-stop whilst staying in Milan partly because it was so difficult to navigate from the hotel to any given destination. We spent over two hours on arrival trying to figure out where to buy tram tickets from, you buy them from magazine stalls! There was no map on offer on any website that showed hotels with tram lines too, if only there had been then we would not have booked the worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank laTRIPMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2004

We stayed in Hotel Zefiro for 2 nights. The accomodations were clean and comfortable.

This is in a terrible location, it is near nothing!
There are only 2 or 3 nearby restaraunts.

Personally I would not recommend going to Milan at all, as it is very smoggy. Your clothes will be discolored from just walking around for a day!
Theres nothing much to do - they do have a nice shopping district but its expensive.

The hotel staff were a bit snobby. However the night reception was very nice.

I would not stay here again, nor would I go to Milan :)

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
VIVA Hotel Milano
#157 of 428 in Milan
122 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#209 of 428 in Milan
150 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Dieci Milano
Hotel Dieci Milano
#241 of 428 in Milan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ideale
#110 of 428 in Milan
328 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#64 of 428 in Milan
390 reviews
Hotel Susa
#135 of 428 in Milan
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zefiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zefiro Hotel

Property: Zefiro Hotel
Address: Via G. Gallina 12, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zefiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zefiro Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing