We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sina The Gray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sina The Gray
Ranked #209 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at The Gray Hotel, which was wonderful. It is an exceptional location, friendly and helpful staff. It has a lovely modern boutique feel, with a tribal influence decor in the bedroom. It was nice to have to small bar next to the lobby to have a pre-dinner drink. I am planning to return there shortly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Elise,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with the others travellers.
We are very grateful and happy for your awesome comment!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in The Gray.

My warmest regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    60
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
22
82
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Best location.. less than a min walk to Duomo, the shopping district and other attractions in Milan. The service was fantastic! The hotel has great interiors and very modern. Fully recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I spend 3 work nights at The Gray in Milan. It's a smallish boutique hotel, very stylish with a great overhead shower. I ended up with free internet which is always nice. Like all central Milan Hotels The Gray was not cheap but it is literally just a stones throw away from the Duomo. Don't eat at the restaurant; the food is fine but expensive and with so many options in Milan you can do much better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Mr. Mike,

I wish to thank you for leaving the comment.
It makes me happy to read that you appreciate the hotel, the service and our cuisine as well.
I wish to let you know that the prices of the restaurant are justified by the high quality of the food and the they are in accord with the level of the hotel.

Hoping to welcome you again in The Gray I take this opportunity to send you

My best regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a short trip to Milan.

We were given a lovely room, however, at 10pm we asked to move as the noise from the street was very loud. Our second room was smaller, but we had a great stay nevertheless.

The location couldn't be more central and the breakfast was escellent, as were the staff.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MatthewCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Matthew,

First of all thank you for choosing The Gray and for your kind words.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the breakfast and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position - right near the main shopping drag.

We upgraded to a junior suite (after viewing one-error, everything will look small after seeing one!), and the room was huge and had a large circular feature spa in the bathroom.

Unfortunately the hotel is let down by their staff, for example the restaurant suggestions were very average (and one was closed after we were told to walk there!), we ended up finding our own places to dine.
We also spent 15mins on a Sunday morning talking to one of the staff on reception about where to shop and she planned us a route around the city- we then found out after walking for an hour and finding no shops were open, that all shops and most restaurants are closed on a Sunday?! Common knowledge to the Milanese-definitely should have been mentioned by front desk staff?!

Helpful tip- brunch is big on a Sunday so find somewhere where you can comfortably eat/drink from 12pm onward on a sunday as there is not a lot else to do!!! Monday most stores are closed until 12pm too. (incredibly ridiculous but the way it is!)

Stay here if you have a good grasp on this city and dining out.

Room Tip: Don't view a suite until you have seen a standard room as it will ruin the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Ms. Edgar,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are really happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our Gallery Room! I apologize if one of my colleagues has not been helpful in giving you the correct indications for the shopping area and the right suggestion for the restaurant. Milan is a big city and most of the shops are open on Sunday as well as the restaurants are, but sometimes the dealers doesn’t inform about their closing. I wish to assure that all our staff is trained and well prepared about the city. Should you have the opportunity to come again in Milan we will be glad to welcome you!

My warmest regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

It really was a great experience staying in an excellent hotel like the gray in milan,it. the staff were very helpful always smiling and english speanking which make my stay easy. The rooms were more than excellent, they were very clean,nice, with modern furniture and comfy. The bathrooms were very clean and nice. Overall, the hotel was great in everything. However, to reach the hotel was a bit hard because it's located in middle of the center close to the dom (the cathedral) and the parking costs is high.

Room Tip: all rooms were nice but if you can afford paying a bit more and get an upgrade to a delux or a junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Ahmed,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing The Gray.
Client’s satisfaction is what we work for and your nice words make us very happy!

We really hope to welcome you again in The Gray.
Please, consider me at your complete disposal for any assistance you may need.

My best regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ok it is a design hotel so it is supposed to be minimalistic. But the price is just way to much. The breakfast is as minimalistic as the rooms. I´m not saying that anything was bad, but you can get so much more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acromion68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your hotel choice for your stay in Milan.

The Gray is a small design boutique hotel with only 21 rooms, each unique. Although the minimalist design, our rooms are equipped with all modern comforts and technology, meant to make guest stay a most memorable one. The materials used are very carefully chosen, bathrooms, enriched with travertine and wooden floors in ebony is only one example. All details are thought to let feel the guest as comfortable as at home.

Regarding the breakfast, at first glance it might seems to be minimalist, due to the limited space, however all dishes are home-made, with the highest quality products. Also, all hot dishes are made at the moment, instead of being left on the buffet table early in the morning and being consumed hours after. Also, there is no supplement charge for anything you might request.

The choice to prepare hot plates at the moment, which I’m sure you understand is not the cheapest one, was made, because we wish our guests to be offered the highest quality Italian cuisine and, even breakfast might be a good taste of it! We wish our guests to begin the day in the very best way.

The above mentioned philosophy makes very difficult for us to offer the same prices as a local bar or cafe you will find on the street. A bar never provides kitchen inside. Pastries and dishes are ofthen industrial, certainly not made at the moment. However, I agree with you, it might be a valid way to save money.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again and assure you since now our best care at anytime.

My best regards,

Mary Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#228 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#301 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#145 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina The Gray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina The Gray

Property: Sina The Gray
Address: Via San Raffaele 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#98 Family Hotel in Milan
#139 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina The Gray 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem of a hotel in the heart of Milan, where stunning contemporary design meets sophistication and comfort. The Gray, with just 21 individually decorated rooms, is an intimate property full of style, an d includes an atmospheric restaurant, a cosy bar and bedrooms, some of which have their own private gym. Smart, witty design elements throughout add to the sense of elegance and comfort. Deep chocolate browns contrast with crisp creams, geometric lines are softened by colored lighting effects, while bright colour accents,such as the suspended fuchsia swing in the lobby, enliven the ambience. An afternoon of sightseeing could not be easier as the Duomo is literally at the end of the street and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele is in front of the hotel. A five-minute walk takes you to the fashion district around Via Monte Napoleone. Return to the hotel for delicious Mediterranean cuisine in the restaurant before heading to the opera.The Gray is a Small Luxury Hotels of the World property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sina The Gray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gray Hotel Milan
Gray Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing