We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sina The Gray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sina The Gray
Ranked #212 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Kaunas
1 review
“Great for shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Shopping shopping shopping, every shop you can look for is just few steps away, simply great location! Hotel itself very small, very cozy, the staff follows you in each your request...could not ask more! I definitely recommend The Gray to everyone for a night stay or weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLaKaunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    60
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
22
82
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Very nice hotel, very good services helful staff very good ambience, all Staff are great!!! Rooms are beautiful very clean, for those who love shopping hotel is very close and they had a romantic restaurant you should try it!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward_j484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
267 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel is on a quite street called via San Rafaele about 100 meters from the famous Duomo di Milano, it is an ideal location to visit the highlights of the city and the shopping areas. Rooms are all different, I have been there a few times, breakfast is pretty good and they have excellent capuccino

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vught
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived and THE first impression of THE manager was not positive she showed the room and immediately confronted us with an upgrade for twice THE price. Our room was tiny an d airco not working next day bigger room still no airco. Third day we wanted to leave not possibile we got à very high bill and were fed up with the place . If this is standard for this hotel i am very sorry for them but I Will never return

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornelis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Responsabile reception at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Mr. Cornelis,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments that are always very useful for us.
I am really sorry to hear that I made you an impression of not being positive to assist you as being focused on delivering the best customer service possible is our main target.
The reservation you had was for a City room which is our lowest room category with full room description and size you can read prior the booking and, whenever we have possibility, it is our pleasure to offer a higher room category to our guest upon arrival. I do not think the offered price was twice, but the last decision is always up to our clients.
With reference to aircon, sometimes even against our good will happen that machines get out of order and we can not prevent it, but only fix it as soon as possible. This time the main aircon machine got broken during the Saturday night and all Sunday we had a maintenance working on it in order to solve the problem. To make this inconvenience less perceptible we offered you to change the City room in a Junior Suite and it was the best we could do at that time.
Regarding the bill, the rates of The Gray are in line with our competitors and sometimes even lower. We have charged you for two nights instead of full stay and we supposed doing something pleasing.
I really hope you can reconsider your decision and give us opportunity to welcome back you at The Gray

Best regards
Janina Ciziunaite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We arrived at the 'door step' of the Gray in jul after 13 hours of long flight, only to find that the hotel was no longer in service due to a fire caused by the next door neighborhood the day before. We were then relocated to their sister hotel, hotel de la ville which was 1 minute away from the Gray. I appreciate that it was against everyone' s wish to see such misfortune happening, including the Gray. However the way how a hotel handles crisis could really show the level of competency of its management. Here are a few issues: firstly, we were greeted by a bellboy who first told us about the situation. the manageress or senior management lady staff simply stood at the entrance some 10 or 15 feet away and watched us bewildering, and did not even come forward to offer an apology or say hello. she behaved in the same way when she reappeared at the tiny reception of de la ville directing her staff how to bargain the new rate with us. secondly, although my family was offered a slightly lower rate for two connecting deluxe rooms at de la ville, the 'saving' was insignificant as we could have enjoyed a junior suite big enough for our family of 4 at the Gray which category, decor, age are much more superior. the two hotels are simply no comparison. had we been notified of the situation (by mobile or text or email) before our arrival we would definitely have switched to a similar class hotel. the Gray's front desk staff (valentina and another male uniformed staff) were however courteous and took the care to treat us to breakfast at de la ville while we were still waiting for the rooms.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary N, Direttore generale at Sina The Gray, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Mr. C.S.,
Thank you for your comment! I fully understand how unpleasant it might be to arrive in the place you have dreamed of, being accommodated in another hotel and I deeply apologize for this.
However I would like to bring to your attention few details in the hope it might help a better understanding of the situation.
Our hotel has been affected by a sever fire undergone outside of the hotel, approximately 24 hours before your arrival. I have been involved in a 24 hours emergency operations in order to avoid any possible problem to our guests.
Although the extremely difficult situation, we have managed everyone’s departure, assuring perfect timing and immediate re-accommodation for the guests staying at The Gray the night of the event. After that we have e.mailed all our arrival guests, advising them what happened and offering alternative accommodation. In fact, an e.mail was sent to you on the 21st of July at 10:45 PM and you were among the first guests e.maled that day (to be more precise, that night). I assume you were traveling at time the e.mail was sent to you, however you should have seen it after that.
All arrival guests were offered the possibility to choose between accommodation in another 5 stars hotel at the best available rate for the day, or an accommodation at our sister hotel with a great discount. I assume you have decided to stay at De La Ville.
You booked a Double Deluxe Room at The Gray and not a Junior Suite and you were accommodated in a Double Deluxe Room at De La Ville with a 63% discount on the rates, booked at The Gray. I agree it might be considered an “insignificant” discount, as you wrote, depending on the point of view, but we felt as though it might be considered a good one.
You arrived early in the morning, approximately 9:30am and were offered a complimentary breakfast at De La Ville and checked-in around noon. You probably might know that check-in time in both hotels is guaranteed after 2:00pm.
At time of your arrival I wasn’t at The Gray. I was at De La Ville assisting arrival guests and coordinating operations.
Although I am not sure we have met, am so sorry if I was not able to assist you in the way you wished me to, nor to offer you any better solution than the two we did. From my side I have tried my best to avoid any inconvenience to our guests and have experienced the most challenging 24 hours.
I understand your sorrow in not being offered a stay with us. I would have been the happiest person to do so. I sincerely hope you might have the chance to visit us in the future and experience our services and assure you since now our best care to make your stay a most memorable one.
With my best regards.
M. Nikolaeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The room was amazing, simple design, wooden floors, a huge round Jacuzzi. The view on galleria Vittorio Emanuele was just perfect!! Service was prompt and efficient. Breakfast room was a little too dark. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christien79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were delighted with every aspect of The Hotel, the design, staff, the food were all excellent. The location could not be beat! Didn;t know there was a swimming pool and fitness centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite and it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#227 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#300 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
TownHouse Galleria
TownHouse Galleria
#146 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#139 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina The Gray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina The Gray

Property: Sina The Gray
Address: Via San Raffaele 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#98 Family Hotel in Milan
#139 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina The Gray 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem of a hotel in the heart of Milan, where stunning contemporary design meets sophistication and comfort. The Gray, with just 21 individually decorated rooms, is an intimate property full of style, an d includes an atmospheric restaurant, a cosy bar and bedrooms, some of which have their own private gym. Smart, witty design elements throughout add to the sense of elegance and comfort. Deep chocolate browns contrast with crisp creams, geometric lines are softened by colored lighting effects, while bright colour accents,such as the suspended fuchsia swing in the lobby, enliven the ambience. An afternoon of sightseeing could not be easier as the Duomo is literally at the end of the street and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele is in front of the hotel. A five-minute walk takes you to the fashion district around Via Monte Napoleone. Return to the hotel for delicious Mediterranean cuisine in the restaurant before heading to the opera.The Gray is a Small Luxury Hotels of the World property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina The Gray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gray Hotel Milan
Gray Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing