We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, bad managed”
Review of Sina The Gray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sina The Gray
Ranked #197 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Nice hotel in an amazing location and nice interior design, (but not practical), the breakfast is really sad, pathetic food selection, the service at the hotel is slow, the laundry a disaster extremely expensive, and the car park a rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CesarAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Sina The Gray
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

Small but wonderful hotel with a very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect, just 500 meters from Duomo cathedral and the main shops. Try the gallery room: its view on vittorio emanuelle gallery is so romantic, just perfect if you want to impress your girlfriend! Front desk agents suggested us nice restaurants and places to visit.
I will never forget my stay at the gray! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilarina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I loved it! Smiling and friendly staff! Enviable position...try it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollFiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

THEFT of a expensive camera from room
rude unhelpful reception staff
not worth the money 500euros a night, would expect to pay 150euros max for this.
gave bad recommendations for restaurants to eat at.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGray, Front of House Manager at Sina The Gray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2009

We thank you for your feedback and we are sorry about any inconveniences you might have met at The Gray. Anyhow we remain little bit surprised to see that you have posted it 15 months after the stay. We have some difficulties to retrieve such an old practice without any guest detail and we would highly appreciate if you could contact the management to help us to understand and improve our services.

Furthermore, we always recommend our Restaurant Le Noir, as we know and constantly control quality we provide. Of course, we assist our guests in every single aspect of their stay and if some of them wish to reserve a dinner elsewhere, we suggest other restaurants, but we are not able to control their quality. Should you be so kind to inform us which Restaurant you are referring to, we will never suggest it anymore to our clients. Happiness of our guests is what we all are working for!

We would be delighted to have an opportunity to have You again as our guest and to make you experience the exclusive services of The Gray.

Management The Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This one looks exactly like the pictures on their website. The location is amazing!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milan.

The hotel room itself was perfect - more than adequate size for 2 people, you certainly don't need to dance around each other, very comfortable bed, curtains that work on a switch mechanism, but doesn't lose anything on comfort in the process.

The team were great - just ask them for recommendations for where to eat and you won't be disappointed. They were also helpful and friendly and really seemed to care if you were enjoying your stay.


Have a great time in Milan - everyone seems very friendly and we were very impressed by the service we received from everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JCfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Just came back from a three days' stay in the Gray for business .

Baddest experience in Milan ever . The room was way too hot and temperature couldn't be controlled . One might think to open the windows but this is impossible because there was too much noise in the street .

The first night we were awakened around five o'clock in the morning because the city picked up containers with recycled glass in the street . It lasted about an hour ! Impossible to get to sleep again because of the heat in the room .
At 06.30 h they started working on a hotel further down the street
that is being renovated so then a constant rumble of bricks tumbling down in a tube into a container . Constantly big trucks were pulling up and down etc...
When we asked at the hotel desk they said with a big smile that the glass was indeed being picked up every wednesday morning at that time !

When we wanted to go to sleep early later that day it was impossible to do so because there is the bar of Hotel Straff a few houses further that plays so music so loud you could almost feel the vibes in your bed ...

We came back yesterday evening and were exhausted !

A real ripp off at almost 750 Euros a night !

We go very often to Milan and we advise you to go to the following hotels which offer the best quality for money :
1. Hotel Nhow : by far the best
2. The Chedi : though a bit off centre
3. Park Hyatt : best location but pricey

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ironie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Stayed for a business trip for 1 night. It was OK but, for the price, was pretty disappointing. Room looks fancy but it just a bit a irritating (curtains close with a slow electric button; I'm capable of closing my own curtains. Also don't need a big leaf in my sink and wish the subtle lighting actually allowed me to see what I was doing). Breakfast was ridiculously priced - €33 - for what it was (small/limited) - dont do it! Location great but, as with all hotels I've tried in Milan so far, there is a lot of street noise (street cleaning or trams). Won't be going back - there are much better; especially for the price.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank Lucyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
TownHouse Galleria
TownHouse Galleria
#175 of 426 in Milan
281 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#146 of 426 in Milan
429 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#239 of 426 in Milan
45 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 426 in Milan
686 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 426 in Milan
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina The Gray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina The Gray

Address: Via San Raffaele 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#98 Family Hotel in Milan
#133 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £255 - £621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina The Gray 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan, just 100 meters from the Duomo, Sina the Gray is a 5-star design hotel, synonymous with style, elegance and eclecticism. Its Art Nouveau façade conceals colourful details and accessories created by the fantasy and originality of vibrant designers. The 21 rooms and suites of our boutique hotel in the center of Milan are characterized by a modern design with ethnic touches and beds hanging from the ceiling like swings. Some rooms have a private gym or Turkish bath. The modern GBar is the ideal location for a pleasant break after shopping. Aria is an elegant and enchanting open-air terrace, where to indulge in the ritual of the aperitif that was invented in the city of Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sina The Gray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gray Hotel Milan
Gray Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing