We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station
Ranked #126 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. We arrived in Milan on 5th July 2014 and from Milan Centrale station we took a taxi with our luggage to the hotel which was no more than 10 mins away. Total cost was just €7.50. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly and outgoing concierge who welcomed us and after arranging check in gave us great help with tourist map planning and tram details etc. A tram runs right outside the door which takes you to central station in ten mins and then you can take a metro anywhere in the city. There are tram restrictions at the moment which make it more difficult to go directly to the Duomo etc but it is temporary.

We were a party of 4 (2 adults and 2 daughters 13,10) and we booked a family room. We were delighted with the room as it was split into two bedrooms with a bathroom in the middle (4th floor). There was a fridge, hairdryer, English channel TV and good bathroom facilities and supplies. Decor was modern and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was great and really varied to suit all tastes (continental as well as a decent hot breakfast - bacon, sausages etc). The only downside is that it was really quiet at night time in the bar - we were the only ones there! Also glass of wine was €8, beer was €5 and soft drinks were €3 each. Having spent 2 weeks travelling all over Italy (Verona, Lake Garda and Rome) this was by far the most expensive drink we had. Overall a great experience and it was super value at €129 for the room inc breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the very end of the corridor on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happydaymemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Happydaym

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Milan Garibaldi and for the kind review about our hotel.
We are pleased that our facility and the services offered were pleasing you, as well as the location that is very appreciated because a few steps from the Garibaldi metro and train station.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we send our best regards

Roberta Picotti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice room which had been refurbished recently. 10 min walk from Garibaldi station and easy links to the metro and tram networks giving quick and cheap access to the city centre and the Central station. We enjoyed our short stay, thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mr John R.,
Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Milan Garibaldi and for the kind review about our hotel.
We are pleased that our facility and the services offered were pleasing you, as well as the location,appreciated because a few steps from the Garibaldi metro and train station.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we send our best regards

Roberta Picotti - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel as most people have said is very close to the station which is great if you are arriving by plane as you can jump on a train and costs about 12 euros with a 10 minute walk.

The rooms are exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn. The bathrooms are in need of an update but are perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay.

During our stay we had both a family room and also a standard double. We found them quiet and on the 3rd floor which is non smoking.

Breakfast at 16 euros per person again is quite expensive and the only purpose of the service team is to ask you to pay for breakfast. Be careful if you stay over a weekend as the items available on the buffet are reduced and tend to run out more frequently.

There is a great bar opposite the hotel and a pizzeria on the same side of the road as the bar so no need to walk into central Milan each night.

We went to see a concert at the RhoFiero which is about a 30 minute journey on the train and worked perfectly coming back late at night as it was a direct service.

Overall the hotel is in a great location for exploring Milan and everything you would expect from a Holiday inn.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 2Travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear 2Travelle

Thank you for your review and your nice comment!
We are pleased that the location is very appreciated because a few steps from the Garibaldi metro and train station. We hope to give you welcome again,

Roberta Picotti - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we stayed here as part of a group on the outgoing and incoming journey. Hotel rooms are clean but a bit dated. We ordered room service and pizzas were undercooked but English speaking manager just said sorry - so that's ok then! No milk in room for tea and was charged when I asked for milk. Return journey we had dinner and second course was pork and some little potatoes, and the pork was very undercooked - in fact it was almost raw. Noise from bedrooms was unbelievable, even with double glazing. Noise of trams was very annoying. Could not get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was ok. good selection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mrs Mary C
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.
The comments of our Guests are very important to us to improve the service we offer.
We are sorry that not all you have found in our hotel has been memorable and we will do our best to work about it to make it better like the service in the restaurant.
We will inform our staff about the deficiencies found; I assure you absolutely do not reflect our usual level of service.
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and hoping to welcoming you again as kind guest, we send best regards.
Roberta Picotti - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is about 400m from Garibaldi station. Look for Exit via Pepe when you are inside the train station. Once you exist turn left and walk aboit 300m+ and you will see it on your slight left.
Upon checkin the hotel staff realise we are a family of 4 and kindly accomodate us to a family room, which consists of a master bed room and another a bunk bed for for kids, with the bathroom in the middle. It was ideal for us and we appreciate the help from the hotel staff. Will defitely stay again.

Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mr. Karl W
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.
We are extremely pleased to be able to fully meet the expectations and needs of all our services and with the location that is a few steps from the Garibaldi metro and train station.
We will be happy to pass on to our colleagues in her beautiful words.

Looking forward to welcome you back, to send our best regards
Roberta Picotti - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Being a 12 minute walk from busy Garibaldi station, at first I thought this was an inconvenient location. But, after the very helpful staff instructed us on how to use the trams that stopped right outside our door, it became very easy to get around town. Our room was small yet clean; the breakfast plentiful and nicely set-out. For the price, this is a good choice in Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaJane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mrs LizaJane,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.
We are extremely pleased to have been able to meet your expectations and needs with all our services.
We will be happy to pass on to our colleagues in her beautiful words.

Looking forward to welcome you back, to send our best regards
Roberta Picotti - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed one night, as convenient for station for TGV to Paris. Check-in was fine with helpful staff. Room rather small, we had to park one of our three cases in the wardrobe, to get around the room easily. The hotel seemed relatively quiet, as it was a public holiday. However, it was impossible to supply our pillow preference and the restaurant menu was very restricted as it was a public holiday. The meal we had was unquestionably the worst of a 23 night holiday. Initially expensive, it got worse when the waitress tried to add 6 euro per head for a portion of chips, which was replacing a non-existent salad and tomatoes. When I complained I was told the English translation in the menu was incorrect. As far as I am concerned that is the hotel's responsibility. The staff grudgingly reduced the bill after I had been lectured about what to expect in a 4 star hotel!

The wifi, which is supposed to be free throughout the hotel, is I believe only free to hotel loyalty card holders. When I finally got a password out of the desk staff, it proved to be annoyingly adept at logging itself out and I could only have one login at any one time.

Breakfast - the continental side was good, though you are expected to get your own coffee and squeeze your own orange juice. However the hot items were very poor. Scrambled egg was ok, the bacon seemed to be warmed slices of ham and the sausage was hot-dog type cut into 1 inch lengths.

In conclusion, I have stayed in many Holiday Inns around the world and this one didn't make me feel that I was a welcome guest - more an opportunity to extract ectra money. If this hotel wants to be a genuine 4 star hotel it needs to have consistent service even on a public holiday and do everything it can to make guests feel welcome.

The location is convenient for the Garibaldi station where the TGV trains depart for France. Providing you don't have more than 1 suitcase per person, then you can walk to the station, about 300m, then go down a ramp onto platform 20. At the very far end of the platform is a lift which takes you down to a corridor that connects to all the other platforms.

Room Tip: Avoid main road side because of tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnMilan, Direttore at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Graham Jo
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.

The comments of our Guests are very important to us to improve the service we offer.
We are sorry that not all you have found in our hotel has been memorable and we will do our best to work about it to make it better like the menu in the restaurant.
We will inform our staff about the deficiencies found; I assure you absolutely do not reflect our usual level of service.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and hoping to welcoming you again as kind guest, we send best regards.

Roberta Picotti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#97 of 428 in Milan
977 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station

Address: Via Ugo Bassi 1/A | angolo C. Farini, 20159 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £55 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, Located in the heart of the city s and fashion and shopping area. All the city s main attractions are within easy reach of the Hotel using public transport: the Cathedral, The Scala Theatre, the Sforzesco Castle, the Basilica of S.Ambrogio or, for a nice stroll, Corso Montenapoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and maybe a visit to Leonardo s Last Supper, the Arcimboldi Theatre and the Brera Art Gallery. Hotel is within easy reach of the new Rho/Pero Exhibition Centre (10 km) and very close to the Milan Exhibition Centre (15 min.). Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, . a recently-built complex, has 129 comfortable bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, furnished tastefully in modern style and Internet connection. The hotel has three meeting rooms especially equipped for business meetings, encounters and training courses; with fast WI-FI Internet connection. Butterfly restaurant in 'fusion' style offers care for detail and a relaxing and pleasant ambience. A Cocktail Fashion bar with daily happy hour and theme cocktails, not to be missed. Free Mini Gym at disposal daily and indoor parking-garage. Limousine service on req. Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, for business or leisure, your home from home in the centre of Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station Hotel Milan
Holiday Inn Garibaldi Station
Milan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing