We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Milan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Milan
Ranked #4 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Style & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

As soon as you arrive at this hotel you learn quickly that friendly attentive service is a top priority at this property. Everyone at the hotel goes out of their way to make sure you are taken care of and that everything is in order for you. Our bags ended up in the wrong room, and the head bellman ran to our side when he saw us later in the lobby to apologize, even though we had no prior contact with him and did not complain about what luckily ended up being a minor error.

Our cream colored room was plush with splashes of brighter colors, including orange window covers. We had a corner room that was a good size and included a large desk, nice seating area, and a great view directly into the stunning Galleria. The bathroom was very large and had a big shower, deep soaking tub, and separate water closet, however, the sink area lighting was a little too dim. The spacious closet area was an open part of the bathroom which took a little away from the look of the room since your bags and hanging clothes remain in full view. The entire bathroom was done in beige grainy marble that was also in the main bedroom and other areas of the hotel, to the point of being a little too much of the same material. We had a window in our bathroom which was a nice bonus.

We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant La Cupola with its impressive dome and under Medusa’s watchful eye. We skipped the buffet and ordered off the menu and enjoyed the food and slick power broker atmosphere. Given how expensive this hotel can be, we thought the price of our breakfast was reasonable.

The attractive gym, next to the spa, was a small windowless room with several cardio machines, but not much in the way of workout machines. The spa had a very nice hot tub area with cool lighting in the tub. The locker rooms had showers and steam rooms. All these amenities are available to guests at no additional cost.

The location is very central with much of what you will want to see and do within an easy walking distance. With outstanding service, nice looking design, and great location, this hotel has all you need to have the perfect stay while in Milan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for the detailed description of your Park Hyatt Milano's experience.

This is the greatest motivation for all of us and encourages us even further to make each guest's stay memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Park Hyatt Milano.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    246
    49
    12
    11
See reviews for
289
713
86
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I have stayed with my wife and yaoung daughter 2 nights on a random shopping trip.
The hotel is perfectly located for this purpose without being on the doorstep of Prada if you know what I mean. Nothing special about anything (rooms a bit dark and boring but the bed is excellent, hallways cold and dark giving one the feel of a prison) at this price level but if you are turned on by service this is your place!!!!
Everyone is so nice, helpful and efficient!
The door staff is courteous, fair and well manered without being over insistant.
The girls at the reception desk are extremely nice and efficient. Both check-in and check-out experiences were quick, painless and pleasanyt experiences.
The Concierge desk impeccable! knoledgeable and courteous without being on the take (you know what I mean...). I would note Mario.
The best is yet to come: There is a guest relations manager you must meet: Anja. she is extremely nice, genuinely interested in your well being and comfort and literally does stuff to meke feel welcomed. Excellent job!
Oh, and one more thing: not only they welcome pets; they have a VID (Very Important Dog) welcoming package. Very sweet if you have your friend with you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir,

we are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rest assured that I will share your appreciation with all our employees and especially to Anja and Mario.

Dogs are welcomed in our property and we are happy to accommodate and please them.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and your dog soon at Park Hyatt Milano.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Park Hyatt group has, up until this point, been one of my favourite hotel chains. You can always rely on great locations, high-quality modern interiors and fantastic service levels. I have stayed at Park Hyatt hotels in Paris, Zurich and Tokyo, and at each one there was hardly anything I could find to complain about. With this in mind, I was greatly looking forward to my stay at the Park Hyatt in Milan.

Sadly, things started to go horribly wrong from the moment we arrived. We were informed that due to "a system error" that the Park Suite room I had booked (which I had reserved directly over the phone with the hotel's own reservation department, and later confirmed several times via email) was not now available. Now, as we all know, what is called "a system error" is usually just an excuse for either human error (despite the multiple confirmations we received) or else, more likely, that the room intended for us was given to someone who was deemed to have a greater.

We were told by the front desk staff that they had searched hard and had found a double deluxe room instead. The way this was presented to us was as if they had done us a massive favour by finding this room. In general the attitude of the front desk (especially a girl called Stephanie) was one of total disinterest. They were rude, brusque, and discourteous throughout this exchange.

In fact, when we expressed our reasonable displeasure at this information, the girl who was dealing with us (Stephanie) turned to her colleague and starting complaining in very rude Italian (which we could understand) about how annoying and unreasonable we were!! I have honestly never come across more obnoxious front office staff in my entire life.

The room that we eventually got had, superficially, the same high-quality modern specification that you would expect from any Park Hyatt hotel. However, on closer inspection, the fixtures and fittings had poor build quality and had suffered from significant wear and tear. The room had an extremely small window, which meant the room did not have any natural light and was, in fact, quite dingy.

Other negatives were:
1. The minibar is located in the bathroom, under the sink. When we arrived it was locked and we had to phone the front desk to unlock it (as you can imagine after our initial experience checking in, we needed a drink!).
2. Secondly the door of the shower was not sealed, so the bathroom floor became very wet as you were taking a shower.
3. Thirdly, there are no wardrobes in the room. There is a pole to hang clothes in the bathroom - which is fine as long as you don't care about the effects of the dampness and humidity during a shower affecting your clothes.

The room itself looks quite spacious but this is undoubtedly influenced by points 2) and 3) above which I think were deliberately designed this way to make the room like it has more space than it really does.

In conclusion, the service we received and the standard of the room were far below what I expect from a hotel of this reputation and price. I will certainly not return to this hotel, and to be honest, would really hesitate to return to any hotels in the Park Hyatt chain.

One point I would like to emphasise: some people could rationalise our experience by saying that service levels in Italy in general are different (and inferior) to those in other countries. I would disagree. I have experienced fantastic service in hotels in Rome, Capri, Sorrento, Sicily and this should be no excuse for the way we were treated here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlexKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Dear Sir,
we would like to thank you very much for informing us about the inconvenience you suffered during your stay.
Our guests' feed back is very important to improve the level of our service. I would like to assure you that since the opening (7 years ago) we have always honoured
our guests' reservations and just in a couple of occasions we were not able to assign what reserved as we don't absolutely work with the overbooking strategy.
We apologize for the inconvenience and particularly for the fact that our staff was not able to properly explain and to manage the issue.
I have already shared your comments with the head department in order to avoid such situation in the future but I would like also to assure you that the feed back of our clients has already been positive.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Park Hyatt Milano and to show you the level of our service.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed there during "ferragosto", as always nice room though on the small size, but nice big bathroom, one that you would like to take back home with you.
Restaurant was closed so could only grab a bite at the bar. But nice atmosphere and location is as central as you can. For the those going to the Scala you can't beat that location. If you get a view to the Galleria Vittorio Emmanuele beware that it could get noisy at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamburgBowmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir, Madame,

we would like to thank you for all your wonderful words and we look forward to welcoming you soon at Park Hyatt Milano.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This is a glorious hotel that has it all: fabulous location-right next to the Duomo; elegant and comfortable accommodations and a world class staff who are professional and warm!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir,

we would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments.

We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel, our location and particularly our staff and this is surely the best compliments for a Hotel Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at Park Hyatt Milano.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Exceptional location close to shopping and sites.
Amazing stafff - so helpful , arranging tickets to La Scala, bicycles for touring , restaurants etc.
Fabulous breakfast.
Treat yourself to a weekend in Milan - there is so much to do and see - and if you can stay at the Park Hyatt.
We stayed for free due to Hyatt Loyalty program.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear Sir,

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the service of our staff met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon at Park Hyatt Milano.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel couldn't be more central. We had what was termed a "Junior Suite" but it was larger than some suites I've been in. The bathroom was huge and included the excellent innovation of containing all the coat rails and space for the bags. So all these were out of sight and yet easy to access. We had constantly to mind our head when it came to the safe though.

I don't like minimalism on the whole but when it's done as well as this it works. The only design blunder was the toilet where the clever paint finish just looked dirty in the low level of light available. The flush was so powerful it splashed onto the floor.

One of the shower taps came off in my hand. It was so heavy that it could have caused a very painful injury. I simply left it off so that no one else would get a nasty surprise. The hotel had fixed it when we came back later in the day even though we hadn't reported the problem.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. This is given in the main lounge, and area not well suited for the purpose. There's limited space to put out a buffet so the choice is very limited. You have to ask if you want water or juice. There's an extensive menu for breakfast to order though and the couple of standard items we tried were better than the average. I would knock a star off the hotel's rating because its breakfast is such a disappointment but this would be unfair given how good some other aspects were.

Service was good but not excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampstead_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceccherelli, Direttore generale at Park Hyatt Milan, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Dear sir,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Park Hyatt Milano and we are very happy that you have enjoyed it.

Your suggestions with regards to our safety deposit box location, the shower and the Cupola breakfast are extremely important to us and allow us to continually monitor and improve our service to our guests.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Park Hyatt Milano.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#9 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Brera
Armani Hotel Milano
Armani Hotel Milano
#5 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Milan

Property: Park Hyatt Milan
Address: Via Tommaso Grossi 1, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Spa Hotel in Milan
#3 Family Hotel in Milan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in a palatial, classical building - Heart of Milan, steps from Piazza del Duomo and Teatro all Scala opera house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Milan Hotel Milan
Hyatt Milan
Milan Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing