We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”
Review of Mec Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mec Hotel
Ranked #316 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and two colleagues spent two nights at Hotel MEC recently. I am afraid to say that it was a severe disappointment. I know we booked late whilst the HOST exhibition but the hotel was miles out of town, small, pokey and very dated.

My colleagues room was situated approximately 1m from the entrance to the breakfast room.

He was woken first by the sound of lavatories being flushed in the rooms above as the waste pipe ran through his room, then again by the staff preparing breakfast.

His toilet and shower area was a box that protruded into the breakfast area, with walls so thin when I came down to meet him for breakfast, I called his mobile, and hearing it ring thought he was seated for breakfast. Unfortunately whilst seated it was not at breakfast but on his toilet!

We held a perfect audible conversation, he on the lavatory, myself in the breakfast room.

I could go on and on, but would suggest the Hotel, would suffice for a budget hotel, but certainly not what it pertains to be a quality business venue.

Room Tip: Asked for top floor room at least you would not hear the occupants above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    71
    41
    24
    15
See reviews for
17
38
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed single room. bed was bit smaller than average single bed.
room was okay, TV half bath tub and shower. little noisy if you wanna sleep in.
but location wasn't too bad. it's not in the centre but 10euro taxi distance to most of Milano centre.
mega super market is right next to the hotel.
and nice local restaurant is in front of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leethebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Me and my mate stayed here whilst the F1 was on at Monza Sep 2013.
It cost 15 Euro for a taxi for a 10-15 min drive from Linate airport. There was an obvious language barrier between us and the taxi driver but he was brilliant with us. He really made so much effort to explain things, we tipped him 5 euro...... Wish i could say the same for the receptionist at the hotel. The most miserable unfriendly man i met whilst in Milan. I've stayed in many hotels but this guy has to be the worst receptionist I’ve ever come across, no exaggerations. Our friend was staying in a hostel down the street and came to our hotel and up to our room (he was there no more than 15 mins). They were convinced he was staying over and banned him from coming to the room and threatened to call the police. When i questioned this they said it was a fire hazard? This coming from a hotel with no sign in/out book? Anyway if you have friends staying in other hotels they wont be able to visit you.
Good points
400 Euro for 4 nights between 2 of us is quite good
The mini bar was very handy
The air con was good
20 min walk (A nice walk) to the Duomo/main square
Bad points
As above the staffs were horrible
The City tax charge was ridicules. 16 euro. We were told it would be 3 euro.
There is a charge for the WIFI. Should be included in the price
The cleaners turn the air con off when they clean you're room.
You can hear every time someone in the hotel flushes the toilet or has a shower

I wouldn't stay here again purely because of the staff. When we walked through Milan we popped into other hotels to ask for directions and advice and they couldn't help us enough even though we wasn't guests. Italian people are very friendly, very polite and very accommodating apart from the Mec hotel!! Stay away for a friendlier atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Air Condition turned off every time after the room has been cleaned by the maid
The 2 older male receptionists were quite unfriendly. The young guy doing mainly night shifts was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed only one night at the MEC hotel, booking last-minute. The hotel was clean, well-organized, the front desk staff was helpful and spoke excellent English (in case that's a concern of yours). And the price was great, at something like 45-50 euros, it was perfect for my needs. The single room I stayed in was very small, really only half the size of what might otherwise be considered even a small room. But if all you need is a place to crash, it might suit you very well. Also note that it is just a few subway stops out of the city center. It's very much in town, and although I didn't have time, I suspect that the area around the hotel is interesting. But to reach the main tourist locations you'll need to be comfortable getting around the city a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reveron-nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here in April 2012. Standard mid-range city centre hotel. Good location next to the tram system, only a few minutes journey away from the Duomo and the centre. Staff very helpful, they allowed us to print our boarding passes at the reception due to a complication with our booking and helped us to book one more night. My only criticism would be the room was swelteringly hot and the air conditioning proved ineffective.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkckny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Mec for two nights during the furniture conference, which of course made prices ridiculously high. Service was decent, as well as the rooms. Not a lot happening in the area, but it was generally safe. Watch out for pickpockets and drugdealers in the roundabout by the Lodi station at night.

Room was decent enough, but I'd check out similarly priced hotels in or near Corso Buenos Aires, as they are generally better located.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasper-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perugino
Hotel Perugino
#262 of 428 in Milan
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Molise 2
Hotel Molise 2
#268 of 428 in Milan
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Romana
Hotel Arco Romana
#337 of 428 in Milan
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#206 of 428 in Milan
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Major
Best Western Hotel Major
#161 of 428 in Milan
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milano Hotel America
Milano Hotel America
#294 of 428 in Milan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mec Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mec Hotel

Property: Mec Hotel
Address: Via Tito Livio 4, 20137 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mec Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mec Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing