We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio
Ranked #225 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Small but Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I needed a room last minute and found this place adequate. The location can't be beat. Just steps to the Duomo and waking distance to most tourist places. Sure the room was very small but all I needed was a place to stay. The night staff and day staff were both very friendly and helpful. I thought the breakfast was sufficient. Cappuccino, juice, yogurt and a croissant. What more would I want?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelnEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    131
    134
    40
    19
See reviews for
43
97
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel you can see once you arrive via the metro (to Duomo -city centre). It is literally walking steps from the famous Duomo Cathedral. I stayed a single room, which yes was small but it had everything you need. Breakfast was ham, cheese, cornflakes, biscuits and different types of fresh croissants - I recommend this place as city commuting is hell on earth especially when you don't know the city. The trams become very packed, the metro gives an unsafe feeling to the tourist, though it is an excellent transport system. If you are just in Milan for a few Nights then definitely the Rio Hotel is the place to stay. I paid €80 per night, beats getting lost and using a taxi which our very expensive in Milan.Lastly I would never recommend Milan to anyone, the Milanese are so unmannerly and never have I met a race to be so lacking in manner. Milan is an ugly city, grafftti everywhere and not a tourist destination - the only thing it has going for it is the Duomo - which u can view online. Avoid Milan and go to Bergamo or Lake Como

Room Tip: Room 59 is the quietest as it is at the back of the hotel - ok the view from the room is just other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuala F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel is becoming run down in terms of rooms, my electrics were dodgy to say the least, hairdryer connection is over handbasin, some of the switches looked like they were coming off or sparkled of electricity, I had holes in the wall and never patched up so 3 star rating is not appropriate or the price. No double glazing so tramcars noise to 2 am and then up again at 5ish with noise again. Needs some money to be spent

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORELAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for one night and was very satisfied with the hotel. The location cannot be more central...it's literally one min walk from the Duomo. If you want a hotel close to the city center and are not too picky about the rooms, this could be a great choice. The breakfast room was quite small and choices were pretty limited, but you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisette2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The people were lovely, awesome location & easy to reach. Take the metro to Duomo station and walk up between the "ray band" building and Zara. The hotel is 1min walk from there. PRIME LOCATION for exploring. 1 min from Duomo, 15 min walk to The Last Supper. Supermarket is on the street to the left so you can stock up on water etc as the area is touristy so does get expensive for food.
Hotel itself is clean, bathroom is unneccessarily large its 3/4 the size of the bedroom! I would recommend the hotel for location only, 1-2 days is good. Any longer i would recommend you stay elsewhere. Prime location for exploring and using this place to sleep only

Helpful?
1 Thank an2007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

If you want the best and most central location this is definately a good choice. It's literally just around the corner from Il Duomo, the impressive Cathedral in the center of Milano. Our room was nice with A/C once we realized we had to pick up the remote in the reception. Wifi system sucked big time! You pay for min 6 hours in row and it cant be shared over 2 phones.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UB_CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A perfectly located budget hotel a stone's throw from the Duomo square. My only complaint is that the mattress was old and awful - I could feel every spring pressing againt my back.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#194 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#185 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#280 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#101 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio

Property: Hotel Rio
Address: Via Mazzini 8, Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing