We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical and Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio
Ranked #219 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Helena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Practical and Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I were on our 25th Anniversary and stayed here one night. It is spacious and clean and very reasonable. However, we were disappointed that the Queen Bed was really just two Twin Beds pushed together -- not good. Also, the staff had maybe two friendly people, but we found the night-time staff to be rather short and reluctant to help. That could be unfair, but we got the sense that we were bothering them when we asked our many questions. You also have to pay 5E for each device that you want to be online. If you have two phones, for example, that is 10E. But it is right next to the subway and very much in the center of everything, so it gets three stars for that.

Room Tip: Location good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinas312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    128
    132
    40
    17
See reviews for
42
94
70
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

As me & my wife were attending Salone Del Mobile, we wanted our hotel to be easily accessible. We couldn't have found a better location than Rio as its just 5 mins away from the Duomo Metro Station. Though the hotel does not offer any amenities, it is fairly
decent considering one spends most of the time of the day in the city. The rooms are quite comfortable (though ones on lower floors facing the road do get noisy at times). Spread of Breakfast is just adequate. Jimmy at the reception desk is very courteous, warm &
helpful. Do consult him for tips to maximise your time in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjum05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is in a great area. We arrived and were shoved into a room with a couch bed with a mattress the size of paper. Very uncomfortable. They had forgotten our booking and tried to shove us into a room in the corner. We complained and the ignorant manager claimed to speak no english even though we heard him later speak perfect english to another couple. We were put into another room for the rest of our stay after staying on the paper mattress for 1 night. No apology at all. The room we were moved to was basic but we didnt mind as the location was very good. The breakfast area was small but grand really. 5 euro for wifi is a waste and we didnt indulge espeically because nearly every street in central milan has free wifi.

Overall would stay again but would make sure they knew we were coming!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank columr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Yes it is close to Duomo, yes it is cheap but it comes with a price. We stayed at some amazing places on this trip so we were due for a let down and we knew when we booked it we were not going to get the B&B treatment but come one! Very small rooms right on the street, very old looking and run down. Says recently redone but doesn't look like it. Only a couple of tables in breakfast area so very crowded but cappuccino was very good but it took a while to get and felt like a bother asking for another one. The room key is about 3 pounds and we went out without it several times and one time the desk clerk says I will take it?! We mentioned the refrig in the room didn't work and desk clerk(another one) says we know........that was it! Very central located but I wouldn't do it again. The 3rd bed for our son was basically a drawer for him to sleep on. A fold out type bolted to the wall.

Room Tip: At night the city calms down so it was quieter but we just wouldn't do this again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

tiny room - bit dark - overlooking brick wall and air con units but did ask for a quiet room so that was ok - front of hotel on main road so can understand this. ok just for sleeping and showering. Location is fantastic. I stayed in 3 hotels for 3 nights in Milan and this was worst hotel in the Best place... would have been better to stay here for whole trip as so central... staff mixture of lovely and indifferent...breakfast ok... eat as much as you can cos Milan so expensive... Good for the money..

Room Tip: me and my friend booked single rooms at this one as not much different to a twin room, got there bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a standard 3 star city hotel - ok for 1-2 nights, but nothing to remember.
It's best feature is its location - it couldn't be more central, just around the corner from Duomo and shopping area, with direct metro connection to the central station.
Basic room, new and clean, rather small but good enough, with everything necessary. Bathroom is also basic but clean and quite spacious.
Breakfast room is really small for such hotel - only 4-5 tables so it may take some time to wait. Nothing special for breakfast, but they make coffee on a good coffee machine.
We had room facing the street - nice city view but it's terribly noisy. The trams run late at night very often and it's really not possible to sleep with open window. Even when the window is closed you still hear the trams very well so don't take these rooms if you're a bad sleeper.

Room Tip: Don't take a street view room - noise of the trams is irresistible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was just round the corner from the cathedral and a few metres from the metro. Main downside was the noise from trams in the street under our window which seemed to run continuously from early morning to late night. Some of the staff were lovely, others not so. The dining room was small and cramped.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#188 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#186 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#11 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#275 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Centro Storico
Brunelleschi Hotel
Brunelleschi Hotel
#98 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio

Property: Hotel Rio
Address: Via Mazzini 8, Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing