We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, stylish rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #65 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location, stylish rooms”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Definitely cool place to stay! stylish clean rooms, good breakfast, massage chair right in the room, cozy bar downstairs will definitely help to enjoy the stay in milano

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    398
    135
    42
    35
See reviews for
152
371
56
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed two nights in mid Nov at the Hotel Straf. The location is perfect! Easy walking to the Duomo, and all the shopping. Breakfast was very good. Lots to choose from! Our room was very clean, modern, and chic, with an excellent shower. Because of the extreme modern design it wasn't what you would call a 'warm and relaxing' room, but the bed was very comfortable! The front desk people were extremely friendly, polite and fluent in English. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Straf again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Located next to the Duomo, La Rinascente literally right at your doorstep and The Galleria a short stroll away. Montenapoleone, della Spiga about 10 min walk. I didn't find the hotel design as weird as some reviewers, just cement and metal (in the bathroom). Room was decent, bathroom rather small but still functional. Only gripe is the air conditioner that was facing directly at us as we sleep so we slept the other way. We weren't bothered by the noise from the bar, so I guess we must have had a quiet room. For a shopping and eating trip, this was the perfect place to drop our shopping bags and head out again for meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I decided to chose the Hotel Straf based on some of the more positive reviews on TripAdvisor and Frommer's Italy. I must say that I was generally disappointed. Location is faultless - right within the heart of busy busy Milan and within a stone's throw from the Duomo.

The hotel is generally modern, with a "cold, Zen-like" feel in terms of design. Expect your room to be mainly black to grey in colour all over. The bathrooms are stylish and minimalist but clearly impractical in terms of design. No shelves, small sink and the shower area has no door nor curtains so the water will splash everywhere on the floor if you are not careful when you shower.

The beds are however, relatively firm and comfortable and the sheets are clean and soft.

There is Wifi access throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was really very "basic" with a limited selection of fruits and breads and pastries and some cereals. The rest will need to be ordered and paid for additionally.

A real "unique" feature of this hotel is that they do not lend umbrellas, but ask you to buy them - for 10 Euros each!!! This must be the only hotel I've ever stayed in that does not provide umbrellas, and with the prices you pay for the room, you should expect more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear SingaporeGUY10,

I would like to thank you very much, for sharing wih us your observations referring services at our Hotel.

I am aware of the truth of all you have noticed, however I would ask you to take the Design Style and the Hotel's conception in consideration. Referring the Breakfast Buffet, most of our customer are satisfied of what we propose, that is the reason of many returning customer to the Hotel, a complete "Buffet Breakfast of cold items, cheese, ham, salami, fresh creme fromage, ricotta and Italian Mozzarella. Referring Hot meals, we consider those menues dishes extras from the original Continental Breakfast, we should have served, therefore being charged.

We sell our Branded Designed umbrella, therefore apologize if we do not hire any for common use.

I hope that I will be able to thank you in person for the trouble you took to write to us and I assure you that, if you give us the chance, in the futre I will personally see to doing all I can to showing you around and see the hotel STRAF, from a different critic's view.

Best wishes,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I suppose the first warning sign was when we arrived at 4.00 p.m., got the key to the room, went upstairs and met a maid in the corridor who told us the room wasn't ready. Room was changed and 1/2 an hour later we were in. Decor is modern bordering on rank with mirrors everywhere to make the small space seem bigger. Tried to use the internet but the keyboard wan't working, tried to turn the AC down but that wasn't working either. Staff were surt and unfriendly and bar staff were positively rude, the latter seemed only interested in serving their mates. Bar stops serving at midnight (unless you know the bar staff!!!) and there is no residents bar. Noise in corridors at night was really loud and when we complained we were told so did a number of others (it was 3.00 a.m. by the way). Avoid.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRMster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Traveller DRM69,

first of all I want to thank you very much for your comment, I do my apologize if everything happened to you.

I hope, you could give us another chance and coming back again.

Best Regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, having stayed here many times on business. It is undeniably good value for money and the location is excellent. The modern, minimalist design may not be everyone's cup of tea but I love it - it's certainly preferable to the chintzy, stuffy interiors of most Milan hotels! The beds are comfortable, the room sevice menu is more creative and better than average, and the staff, generally speaking, are efficient and friendly. Some reviewers have complained about the noise from the bar, but I really like the hotel bar so this has never bothered me.
Now for the negative points. The hotel is often used as a veune for launches/shoots and, when this happens, the staff seem to devote all of their time to the visiting party whilst hotel guests are sidelined. Second, whilst the rooms are fantastic to look at, some of the design features are impractical and unreliable. I have spent many a happy hour trying to locate light switches, control TVs and air con systems and find the source of strange buzzing sounds! Last, the breakfast choices are rather limited.
But overall, this hotel continues to be my first choice in Milan.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constanze_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed here with a group of girls on a shopping /sightseeing break. It is very central , so close to the Duomo . The staff were extremely friendly in the hotel. The rooms are very modern, a little dark but very comfy beds. The breakfast was light and delicious. Avoid the 9.45 am rush down for breakfast as you may have to wait for a table. The only down size was it is a little noisy at night from the very lively bar downstairs. Request a room at the back. The staff in the bar were not very friendly and seemed only interested in serving fellow Milanese youngsters !! Worth a stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back for a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenmregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,717 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
594 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#143 of 428 in Milan
385 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Property: STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing