We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Hotel. Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #60 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staying at the Straf is amazing. If its within your budget, do it. I could never afford this place, but luckily my bff has a lot of miles. You can literally throw a rock at the Duomo and Galleria from the hotel.. its in the heart of everything. Not to mention beautiful to look at. Its like staying at the museum of modern art. Complimentary morning breakfasts: awesome. Added plus, the hotel bar is always packed full in very interesting looking people. Great for people watching. When i die i want to be cremated and have my ashes sprinkled all over this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Chnkylvr Traveller,

thank you very much for such an observation, we feel very proud about your gratitude.

We hope to meeting you once again, we remain

Best regards

Max Ferrara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed at STRAF for three nights during my recent visit to Milan. The best feature of this hotel is undoubtedly its location. It is ~2mins away from Duomo in a relatively quiet side street but that's not the only convenience - LaRinascente (department store) side entrance is just opposite the hotel making it convenient for shopping, there is a great gelateria at the end of the street as well as panzerotti Luni (typical Italian snack) around the corner. Since you are right by Duomo, you very short walk to metro to explore all of Milan.

It is a delightful little hotel with a cool design. Well-being room where I stayed was nice and spacious enough for one person and I really enjoyed the massaging chair after all day of walking around. It probably would have been a bit tight if it were two people staying in the room, but not unbearably so (few big city hotels have spacious rooms, let's just be honest here). Bathroom was functional but in a attempt to be "green" there is only one big bottle of "shampoo/shower gel" which is fine, except you have to constantly keep relocating it from the sink to the tub and back depending if you want to wash your body or your hands. One more, if smaller bottle by the sink, would have solved the problem.

One downside was the lack of storage space. There was really only one rod with a few hangers and no shelves whatsoever.

Breakfast is rather basic continental fair, a slightly bigger selection of cheeses/cold cuts would have been nice, but I appreciated great selection of fresh juices (~6-7 of them).

Lobby is functional but furniture looks a bit cheap (kind of like IKEA furnished teenager's room) with basic fabric seating.

My room was on the 5th floor facing the street and I had no problem with any street noise (there was a musical performance right underneath my windows one afternoon and I couldn't hear a thing). The internet connection worked without a hitch as well. There is also a computer in a lobby for those who don't have laptop/iPad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Petunka,

thank you very much jfor your observation, I am relaxed and pleased having enjoyed it and I did really like your thought about STRAF's world.

I really hope to welcoming and meeting you once at STRAF.

Best regards

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast. The deco was a bit too modern for my taste but I can see why others would love it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Much has been said about the modem minimalist design of the room and bath so I won’t go into it. You have to like the “modern” design, which looks cool but sometimes make things impractical eg the bathroom in terms of storage and water spilling out the shower/tub. Let’s put it this way, I won’t design my home this way but I won’t mind staying in a “hip” hotel for a few days.

The front office staff is very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was the usual continental fare that we find when traveling Europe – nothing to shout about but it served its purpose. Location is excellent for sightseeing and shopping. I think this is what I enjoyed most about the hotel, the convenient location to the Duomo, Galleria Vittorio and walking to distance to the Castle. There are some nice restaurants across the hotel at the top floor of the departmental store.

The one fault I have is the Wi-Fi. Though free, access from the room was spotty and weak. For some reason access via a laptop was ok but via ipad and mobile – we couldn’t get a signal. Maybe it was the device but it worked well in other hotels. Another minor gripe (and I mean minor) is the TV – the remote didn’t work well and they could have provided the room with a bigger LCD TV.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotencents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, perfect location... Rooms are nice, very modern and clean.

Only negative is that there was 1 person working at reception and we had to wait and queue to check in as well as check out

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is too cold for my taste. If you like sleek design, no bla-bla-bla, gold coloured bathrooms and concrete walls and floors, go there.
The hotel has a famous bar outside and is very crowded during sunny periods. Always ask for a room at the back as the noise from the bar can be difficult to fall a sleep. Check in is fast and professional. Service is good and staff is kind and helpfull. Rooms are very 'less-is-more' and try to find the buttons to turn on or off the light, especially in the bathroom.
Hotel has all accommodations and is located at a 1 minutes walk of the Dome and 30 seconds of La Rinascente.
The hotel is visited by young crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Staying at the Straf is always a pleasure. Rooms are really nice. Bathrooms are amazing (especially the one with showers to my point of view).

The bar is still very happening and the crowd is always very "alla Milanese".

The staff is very welcoming and really nice. They offered to visit 2 rooms before deciding (It was a 12 nights stay).

I'll take you a while before getting all the lighting system ;-) but once you find the secret mini closet in the bathroom, you can consider yourself as a real Straf guest!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EASYPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#43 of 426 in Milan
1,775 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 426 in Milan
1,075 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 426 in Milan
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#142 of 426 in Milan
430 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 426 in Milan
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £174 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing