We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very chic and modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #70 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very chic and modern!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Def a modern hotel. The deisgn is very chic and different from 99% of hotels out there. This was near the Duomo so great location if you are in Milan for a quick weekend. The room had a massage chair which was niiiiicce. My boyfriend complained about the cement floors but I guess that is part of the design and didn't bother me much. Also, the soap and shampoo comes in giant bottles to minimize waste, so just be ready for that or bring your own if you want conditioner. The bar had a nice social scene with awesome apps for happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaddyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear CaddyCK,

thank you so much, we appreciated your comment and we like the "massage chair's value of niiiice". Yes in deed, concrete is part of our design's style, we know that not all of our guest, it likes, but we got use too and some other got crazy about that.

We really hope to meeting and welcoming you back in Milano, we remain

Best Regards

Max Ferrara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    372
    130
    38
    35
See reviews for
135
343
52
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

In its day, Straf was quite a trendy and a most minimally modernist statement - a must stay for designers. But it has dated. Never thought i would see a totally black bathroom - they've got 'em. But black shows soap scum and all other manner of chps and scratches. Walking around the room at night is a supreme challenge.

The bed rooms i know photograph very well, but just try locating a power point or data connection for internet. All is hidden. A victim of fashion.

But it is still a hotel with character, some clever design and a most excellent location.

The bar get quite busy quite fast. The breakfast is underwhelming.
(i am an architect and an interior designer)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Having read a few reviews I was apprehensive about bar noise (who doesn't hate a late party when they need to sleep). But no issue at all. Was here Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. Thursday was the biggest bar night but even it petered out to no noise by 10pm. Easy. Great nights sleep.
Great breakfast. Friendly service. And you can't go past the location.

Room Tip: not a fan of the black bathroom ... ask for the light bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptarmigan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

such a cool place in a great location, just 100 metres from Duomo and right across from Rinascente department store.
Hot Spot bar on the ground floor, minimalistic design in bedrooms and public areas, I had a massage chair in my room!!!
I loved the breakfast and service.
Max mad our stay a wonderful one.
Thank you

Room Tip: 308 large "relax room" facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I travel to Milan for business very often, at least twice/three times a month and I made the STRAF my "home" in Milan. I stayed in a lot of hotels in Milan (Bulgari, Park Hyatt, Boscolom Principi di Savoia, The Gray, Et De Milan, Townhouse 8, etc... ) and i would put the STRAF right on top of the list. Why?
- amazing location
- not excessively expensive like some of the list i mentioned above
- young and helpful staff. They really care to make your stay special
- very nice clean rooms (suites on top floor are really amazing, and room with a massaging chair is really cool!) - actually if you stay at this hotel ask for the rooms with the massaging chair...you will not be disappointed!
- free wifi (in some rooms the signal is not excellent, the rooms in the centre of the corridor have the strongest signal)
- amazing buffet breakfast. Not too much stuff but exactly what you need. You can also order omelettes and other hot dishes from the menu if the buffet is not enough)
- Great bar! very trendy, excellent drinks and amazing aperitif... food is freshly cooked and very tasty

Something missing? may be a bigger gym for those who care. i don't really care much because i tend to go for a run outdoor if i get the time, but the gym room is small. Only a few machines and if there is more than 2 people it can become squashy...

Overall, Great trendy hotel not too expensive considering the location!

Room Tip: Rooms in the centre of the corridor looking out to via San Raffele are the best. Rooms that look tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yazfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have been in Milan 3 times in four months. In these 3 times, I have chosen to stay in the STRAF twice.

Other hotels light up your awareness with their glitzy lobbies, decorated walls or possibly a door man. The STRAF does it by letting you feel comfortably 'at home' with its scale, the casualness and approachable appeal to it all. The staff is always friendly and experienced, understands what you need as they attend to your requests without fuss.

You get a free breakfast with a reasonable rate. You don't even get any from a 700 Euro a night at the Armani Hotel (yes, I have stayed there too). I don't see how hotels in the Milan centre should deprive their guests of a free breakfast. Have you seriously tried heading out to a cafe say at 9am (still groggy) and left with nothing to do after an expresso or pastry since the shops are still closed?

Needless to say, the location of the STRAF is fantastic. It's perfect for shoppers and always close enough to have the shops drop your merchandise off for you (or do it yourself). The Metro is just a few steps away and of course having la Rinascente as your neighbor is nice too for shopping after 7pm. It is also next to the chocolate bar which is always crowded so you can always drop by at your convenience when the crowd lets up.

The design of the hotel is grungy and yet cozy. No need for marble here. The bathroom walls are strangely cladded in brass sheets but the water pressure has to be the best in Milan (and that's rare)! The shower gel is in a jumbo bottle, so you never run out. The rooms are not too luxuriously spaced but neither is it a squeeze (like I said, it is adequate).

The only complaint I have is the position of the air con diffuser which is right above my head when I sleep (stack *14 rooms) and that is silly. The TV is oddly placed and untidy but I did not once turn it on and the power points are loose, so your iPhone adapter doesn't stay in place. Looks like some maintenance should be in order. Oh, there's only 1 lift so take the stairs if you're not above the 3rd floor I suppose.

I guess the best appeal to The STRAF is its lack of pretence. It does not try too hard to be HIP nor does it become inadequately boring to the point where you feel that they're cutting back. The balance is great and I am not just referring to the bang for buck. Coupled with its straight forward service of its staff, I would recommend this to any traveler who wants to be in the know. All the guide books reckon to get a room away from the noisy bar but it doesn't matter if you're a bar goer I guess. Funky people do come to play here and its great for watching out.

All I know is, book early to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Some bathrooms use tiles instead of the freaky brass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed in Milan 2 days by myself while on my way to Geneva, and was really happy to have stayed at Hotel Straf. The location is great, you can walk to most of the important sights in Milan, many options of restaurants nearby and, of course, smack in the shopping district.
The hotel's bar is an experience itself, happy hour deserves its name! There was a very nice band playing, in the street in front of the bar, lots of people gathered, drinks were good and the food served during happy hour was pretty decent too!
The staff at the hotel was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the room with the massage chair, it's wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mssamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#42 of 431 in Milan
1,668 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#142 of 431 in Milan
361 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#24 of 431 in Milan
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Property: STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing