We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rip-off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #72 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rip-off”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is a ripp-off. The design is miserable. The black rooms seem dirty. There is no real bath-tube only a shower with cold water. We had to wait for breakfast because there were not enough seats. The price ist much to high 150/night. The ,view' to the dome is a joke

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlorianLeopold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Mr. FlorianKlenk,

we are pleased to have recieved your feedback. We let our future guests judging, to comparing your suggestions to the other real.

Have a great future!

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    385
    135
    41
    35
See reviews for
144
357
53
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Straf in a group of 8. Stayed in different types of room : suite, executive, deluxe, standard. All of them are good. Reasonable sizes, cool design. You can feel a bit of the NYC vibe.
The staff are great, everyone of them. When you are traveling in big group who are coming in from different places, there are always different requests and needs. The staff at the reception, whoever on duty, has been helpful and patient, and all of our requests are fulfilled, flawlessly.
Great location too, Duomo is right around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear LIGcouple,

thank you very much for the feedback left, we are pleased to having received a positive note, and happy you enjoyed our Hotel. We hope to have been good host!

Thank you once more and hopefully to meeting and welcoming back soon at STRAF!

All Best

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Was here 2 nights with a small group who'd stayed previously in upscale hotels in Rome, Florence, Siena. I admit I'm 60, but please, certain amenities are expected. The bathroom waste can was under a wooden lid you had to lift from the counter, there were no drawers for storage, the closet was as far as possible from the bed or bath. All wood was painted matte black and glass or mirrored walls reflected doors, which made the room feel confusing. Black light switches were lost on the black walls or hidden in the medicine cabinet. You stood on black wooden planks in the shower which seemed slippery to me. Instead of a down comforter, the bedding was an inflexible pad that felt like a moving van blanket. Hallways were grey concrete, or faux painted very dark colors.....depressing! In its favor, the staff was helpful, the location is close to a subway stop, easy walk to Duomo , galleria, and opera house. This hotel must appeal to an entirely different set of travelers than me as none of our 13 enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Off street, higher up to avoid hotel bar noise. They moved me at my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Razorsue,

we feel very sorry for the comment left and to do not have accomodate you in the best way, we would be happy in reading that also a sharp Design Hotel as STRAF, could easily accomodate people of every age, but we are please for being welcome and helpful.

Even all, thank you very much for the comment and for being here with us!

Best regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Good choice. Everything was good except some construction near the hotel that was noisy and was not informed during the reservation. Location is really good for shopping and visit places like Duomo and La Scala.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Enrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Enrique R,

thank you for "Good Choice", it is great readig your positive suggestion, we feel sorry for the neighborough building, unfortunately the neighborough building refurbishment is not always that noise, and if they have been, we do apologize again.

We do hope to meeting and welcoming you here at STRAF again. Thank you once more.

Best regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the Straf in March for a romantic weekend. It looked great on the website and lived up to expectations. The room was lovely with great designer 'feel' and interesting art too. The shower was probably the best I've ever experienced. Lots of hidden cupboards in the walls, so you have to hunt for things which made it quirky! Breakfast was very comprehensive with great choice, and all the staff were very friendly. The location is also excelllent - literally round the corner from the Duomo, but on a quiet side street so our room (facing the internal courtyard) wasnt at all noisy. A great choice for a romantic weekend in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the internal courtyard if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Christine,

We wnat to thank you for the lovely note left, we will share all together with pathos and emotion the lovely comment and we do hope meeting you once more in Milan.

Thank you again

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is very modern, with a hint of industrial-ish looking that is quite trendy, modern, and slightly bare and dark. It is located within 1 min from Duomo and the shopping district. Our room is spacious, and comfortable, with minimum decor, and quite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Sumody,

thank you for the lovely post, we are happy for that and we will share in common the energy left.

Grazie.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#42 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#132 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Property: STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing