We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalism at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #64 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Minimalism at its best”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just a step away from the Grande Arcade and the wonderful cathedral. Sits in a quiet street with a very noisy bar, which does not disturb, a discreet and perfect place to explore Central Milan. Lovely rooms, unusual but extremely tasteful decoration. Staff cannot do enough for you with all the answers to many questions. No parking, but they park your car (for a price!). Perfectly good breakfast with fresh fruit, cheese etc. and intimate feel. Thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: Worth going one upgrade for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    410
    137
    42
    38
See reviews for
162
385
59
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel, is really nice, and the location can't be beat! I just have a few things to complain about;
They have tried really hard here to live up to the style label that comes with Milan, like REALLY hard. And it looks great! But it seems bathroom towel racks are NOT stylish, there was one in the bathroom, over the toilet, which was not practical, and a couple of hooks on the door but otherwise an ineffective space to use.
And while i applaud them for their "we are saving the environment by making you use a bulk buy shampoo and conditioner" I actually enjoy a selection of luxury packets that i can use and then pocket the rest to use in the gym or whatever, it's a perk of booking a luxury hotel.
The continental breakfast was also very ordinary. But I guess it was good for me to be forced to eat just a bowel of cereal considering the over-indulgence that would happen at every other meal.
There were also mosquitoes in my room, i guess they came in in the air conditioning, but they weren't in my other Milan hotel.
We also booked a First supper package which they screwed up and we didn't end up doing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flien1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent location. Could see the duomo from our window. Ultra modern rooms with comfortable beds and soaking tub in bathroom. Hotel bar has happy hour with DJ at curb so literally a party in the street. Fun for adults but maybe not appropriate for families with small children.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallie_Was
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The extreme emphasis on style worked quite well here. It is not a big hotel with a small reception and dining area for breakfast (nad I think lunch) There is a bar which seems to be jam packed most of the time and frequented by semi hippy types out to enjoy the music.
Wonderful location, only a stone's throw from the Cathedral and The Vittorio Emmanuele arcade. Internet was fast and reliable; sleep quality excellent; rooms were a nice size; very tasty breakfast buffet. All in all a positive experience

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Straf Hotel and Straf Family is the best hotel in Milan. You could feel like at home. Each person is kind, friendly and professional. Every month one week ım staying at Straf Hotel; last 4 years. This hotel is absolutely my home in Milan. Love u all. W my bests...

Room Tip: all rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didakocaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Coming to Milan? Wouldn't you rather the convenience of staying near the station? And let's face it, it isn't surrounded by the crowds that define Milan in summer. You'll need to walk 100 metres to get to the Duomo for example! How mad is that! As for shopping, it's nowhere near the front entrance of Rinascente - you'll be forced to use the horrible back entrance across the street. And don't get me started about the staff, with their constant questions - how was the restaurant? can we book somewhere else for you tonight? Will it never cease?!
No, please leave this place for those of us who don't know any better.
Thank you for your cooperation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryOtter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Hotel is very well located: 1 minute walk to the Duomo, Duomo Metro Station and the Galleria.
The room is simple and nice but no complimentary water and no hair conditioner. Rain shower available only, so it's not practical and might not appeal to women who don't shower their hair every day.

We were on the 4th floor as per my request because I read that the Straf Bar on the ground level is too noisy at night… well it didn't help.. it's really too loud! We didn't sleep well all 5 nights we stayed in the hotel despite the bed being very comfortable. We booked a room with free internet, it was a good connection but you need to login many times a day as it disconnects by itself.

Breakfast is fine for one morning, but becomes redundant and poor for the 2nd morning and onwards (same limited food every day and no bacon and no eggs).

Staff is very friendly. This hotel is better suited for young couples and solo travelers. All the above said, I do not regret staying there, so thank you Straf Hotel.

Room Tip: Back side rooms and on the highest floors are best to avoid the noise coming from the Straf Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadSawaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#43 of 428 in Milan
1,743 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
628 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#149 of 428 in Milan
396 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Property: STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing