We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #54 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Where to begin. The room is ultra hip, modern and trendy. There were robes in the room and that was an unexpected surprise. The room was clean, and we got a good nights sleep. In all honesty though, we were exhausted. We drove many many hours from Switzerland and the last hour we had to navigate thru the streets of Milan, where the pedestrians thought they owned the street. Seriously. Unfortunately, the day we arrived there were masses of people on the streets of Milan. Unbelievable amounts of people. Hoards of ‘em. They were walking down the middle of the street, man, woman, and child, dogs and would not move, even if a car was coming.
On the contrary of the sleek ultra hip room is that it is not user friendly. After looking for an outlet for over 30 min we finally gave up and called the front desk. Silly us, there is one in the bathroom! To be fair, there was also one under the sliding door as well. We should have looked there…it’s such a convenient location.
The waste basket is actually a slot cut in the non counter top in the bathroom. After a couple attempts of trying to throw something away, we finally just found a plastic bag and started our own trash.
The included breakfast was high quality and had a bountiful selection of choices. It was actually really very good. BUT although the breakfast was good it is served in a conference room for 15. When we were there, 40 people were crammed inside. There was just no room. No room to walk , no room to move chairs and no room to carry a plate of breakfast without worrying about spilling it on Auntie Rose from London.
The two biggest issues: though are this: Upon arriving to the hotel you encounter a road barrier. The road looks like a dead end due to the obstacle and it appears that you cannot drive to the hotel. People [as mentioned above] are congregated at said barrier. By now frustration is near boiling point. IT IS ONLY those in the know, that know that the hotel front desk can magically push a button to make the barriers sink into the ground so you can pass. YOU must Remember this!!!
AND We booked the executive suite because it advertised a view of the Duomo [spires] from the balcony. I guess If you went out and leaned all the way to the right, you could in fact see the spires…so it wasn’t false advertising. But lets just say it wasn’t what we visualized.

On a positive note, all of the staff were very helpful and seemed genuinely interested. AND the Duomo is right across the square.

Room Tip: Take a cab and skip a driving hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back, which is very accurate and it allows me to look into things properly!We always suggest to our guests to refer to us on site, myself and my team are always happy to listen to suggestions and to go extra miles if required to get our guests happy. Having said this, must say that at the moment it is a bit hard to get into our street since we have an adjacet building under refurbishment, however this should be over by the middle of july and the last piece of scaffolding removed by then. Regarding to the issue you had at breakfats I am not quite sure of what happened since our breakfast room can host comfortably up to 38 guests at the time but service could run smooth as that is the regular set up of the breakfats room, if you wish to give me more details in order for me to carry out an investigation, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at any time.
Regards Osvaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Straf is a very nice and modern hotel. Location is perfect, right next to the Duomo. We loved the boutique design and atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and welcoming and breakfast is excellent. Two issues that made our stay less than perfect : First, the beds were uncomfortable for us since mattresses are extremely hard. Second, due to ecological awareness bathroom toiletries come in huge refillable bottles, and bed linens / towels are changed only upon specific request to reception or housekeeping. While I fully agree with enviornment preservation measures I think that the common practice in most hotels requesting to put a note on the pillow for bed linen change, or put towels in a certain place in order to be changed, is sufficient. A guest should not be bothered contacting hotel staff for this purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLOYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for appreciation of the hotel and feedback, your note will be taken into consideration in order to provide with a better service.
Regards
Osvaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice, clean, modern and perfectly located hotel next to the Duomo. Cool style and nice staff. Can recommend this hotel very much.

Only drawback at the moment (june1014) is the heavy construction going on in the building next door. Be prepared that the work starts at 6:30am (no construction on weekends) and involves hammering. Earplugs are favorable but wont solve it completly.

Dont know how long the construction is going to take so ask the hotel for information before booking


Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wiroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and feed back, ufortunately construction next door is Beyond our control and we are complaining constantly also to the council, since we have not been informed of the hassle properly and especially for the welfare of our guests.
Luckily we are nearly done a very soon this should be over, at least for the most annoying part.
Thank you for your understanding and do not hesitate to contact me should you require further explanation.
Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for three nights on business. Room was good, in good condition, comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and hotel staff very helpful. Provided excellent recommendations for restaurants.
Position is unbeatable . Only gripe is struggled to work out how to switch off bathroom lights - the switch concealed behind a panel . Would stay again

Room Tip: ask for inner courtyard rooms as street rooms might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliR255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fedback, hope you will come back soon at STRAF Hotel&Bar.
should you have further suggestions, do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel!

Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights on business. Hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful and arranged cars to get me to various places around the city for business meetings etc. Superb location yards from main square/La Scala etc. (TIP: Go out of hotel, cross the road into big department store "La Rinascente". There is a lift hidden directly on the right as you go in which takes you direct up to 7th floor where there are three bars/restaurants with al fresco seating and where you can get meals/drinks/snacks at very reasonable rates with fantastic views over the Cathedral and square!) Hotel interior very chic. We certainly hope to return for an opera weekend at La Scala in future.

Room Tip: Some building work going on at building next door. Our room was first floor at front on left as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for appreciation and custom.
Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Right in the heart of Milam , Hotel Straf is literally a few steps away from the Duomo, and that's a huge benefit as most of the main sights are walking distance or a short Metro hop away.
Don't be put off by the exterior, which is more than dingy - the hotel is much better inside.
Free wifi is a great benefit, and the breakfast is very good - continental of the better kind, with a good selection. The staff are happy to help and give good recommendations for local restaurants.
The décor won't be to everyone's taste - very much of the 'industrial chic' type, and rooms painted in black - but at least it's different from a boring chain hotel. Most of the basics were good - good shower, blackout blinds, comfy bed, a safe for valuables. A few niggles from a practical point of view - the room needs more storage - there is a hanging wardrobe but no shelf or drawer space, so my clothes spent the weekend on display on top of the bedside unit, and why there's a massage chair taking up space I really don't know! I'd recommend though and would return if back in Milan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Lynn,
Thank you very much for your feed back, our guest's satisfaction and hospitality is our main aim.
We are very pleased you would reccommend our Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel
The room size was good and the rooms was very clean
The LOCATION is perfect in the middle of the Duomo 2 steps and you are there
الاوتيل ممتاز موقع راااااائع جدا
الفندق مودرن يعني الغرف ألوانها شوي غامقة
اللي يحب الكلاسيك راح يتضايق شوي
الريسبشن صغير ما فيه لوبي
لكن الموقع اكثر من ممتاز خطوتين و انتم في الدومو ، باب الاوتيل في باب لاريناشينتي على طول

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Noura123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Noura,
Thank you for your custom, kindness and feed back.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Milan and at the STRAF Hotel.
Have a great week end

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
755 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#34 of 428 in Milan
815 reviews
Centro Storico
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Centro Storico
Hotel Manzoni
Hotel Manzoni
#40 of 428 in Milan
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £176 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing