We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual design, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #58 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed for two nights during a shopping trip.
LOCATION - Unbeatable, right by the Duomo, Galleria Vittorio Emanuele and all the main shops.
ROOM - Very industrial design. The concept is 'povera arte'. Walls and floors are grey concrete as are the corridors. Rather an acquired taste but different! The room had everything necessary although I found it difficult to get the lighting in the room right. The view from the room was of the exterior of other rooms. It was quiet which was a plus point. Room price includes an adequate continental breakfast. My package included a one-way airport transfer in a good car with friendly professional driver...worth considering when you book.
STAFF - All very polite, friendly and helpful.
VALUE - Very good for the centre of Milan. Never felt overcharged at any point which is most refreshing in what is otherwise an expensive city.
BAR - The hotel bar is extremely busy in the evening with local, amiable young people. The drink price included a selection of simple items from a buffet which was constantly replenished. A glass of decent red wine and the food for 8 euros.Tuesday night they had live music.
Overall, if you are not needing a cosy style of hotel or a room with a view, but want location and a good bar on the doorstep, the Straf is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2010

Dear Sagittarius_7,

we are completely astonished for the lovely words you have left, we are learning more and more, we are tryng to become day by day a solid family group, being devoted to our guest.

We will sign a "Company Commitment to our Customer", we want to make sure that every single person, it is paying attention to everybody, from the staff, between us respecting one to the other and making professional life to our Guest a verse of dedication.

That is a valuable meaning of thanking you, recognising our sacrify and thanking ne more time, if we like to spend hours and hours making people happy as at home.

Grazie Mille
I will be always at your disposal.

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in a suite with our kids. We knew from the website that the hotel had hard edged decor. It was even moreso "eastern block" than we had expected. We had problems getting our room cool enough, raised it with reception but the problem persisted. I raised it with the manager and he was very quick to apologize, get an engineer in, send champagne to iur room and juice for the kids, and he discounted the bill on our departure. A great example of service and recovery. The hotel is less than 100 meters from the Duomo, and less than 200 from the Galleria.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelaussiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear Travelaussiefamily,

all of us is remembering you, first of all for the kindness of your family and you, we could not react in a different way, the point was getting your satisfaction back, believing in all the staff and appreciating the Hotel.

We share all difficultes together and making them as college's book, standard to be improved.
We want to grow up and give all our Guests the reason of coming back here.

For my side, I would like to hearing you as soon, hopefully I could have you here at lunch sharing with you the emotions of your trips and experiences.

Me and my staff will be waiting to shake your hands again, and say thank you very much personalised.

Grazie di vero cuore!

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Awesome. Fascinating. Peacefully ... Square woven Duoma location, modern design, great staff makes you feel like family. The most spectacular hotel stay in Italy. "No" to a place not used the word ... If you are not in this hotel, you will feel is missing ..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didakocaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear DidaKocaomer,

the Straf's family is pleased and proud to have been at your complete disposal.
We would love to have you back here as soon, to thank you one more time and
dreaming about the unique atmosphere you always give us.

Grazie mille

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here on our first ever visit to Milan. Can't fault this hotel at all - in fact am already looking forward to coming back next year.
Great staff, great location, great funky rooms, great people staying there, and a really fun bar. It really made a great weekend in Milan even better. If you love style you will really love this place and its minimalist decor.
One of the most fun and best hotels I've been in in a while. Hopefully it will keep attracting its cool clientele.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Irl1974,

Thank you 1000 time. Would you please let us know, once you have planned to coming back again? We are all ready to welcoming you back here, at your Milanese Home!

Grazie Mille

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The hotel has a really great location - next door to Duomo Church, the main square with loads of restaurants and shops. Montenapoleone street is also very close to - approx. 5 min walk.
The room was simple but well-designed - black & white colors. I had booked a classic room and was surprised when have got a free upgrate - the bigger room with a massage chair which I found extremely relaxing. Honestly, it was the frist time I see the bathroom is absolutely black, but I loved it. Wired internet costed me 15 euros/day.
This hotel is perfect for a short staying as there are not much amenities. Only one thing I didn't enjoy was the breakfast, the food is poor and finishes very quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesnushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Venushka,

We are very glad for the comment left and we will share the compliments all together, making your opinion, a good starting point of discussion, where we have to improving and what it is missing.

We will for sure look at our buffett breakfast, probably in very busy time, we should be much more carefully in replacing often the food & beverages items. After such a valuable suggestion, we are adviced in taking care about that.

I am personally considering to receive from you further details, informiatons and other suggestions, we want to grow up, please do not hesitate to write me and my staff helping us in this matter.

Best and Best regards

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

A bit expensive, but you save time and money thanks to very central location (Piazza del Duomo). Located in the most famous shopping area in Milan.
BAr very famous for apero especially on thursday
service is always very good and friendly.
breakfast is not very big, but enough. taxi service to malpensa available

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dell3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2010

Dear Dell 3581,

we want thank you very much for your short but intensive suggestions. We are happy in deed sharing genuine compliments.

Please just inform us, if you wish to come back again, it will be our pleasure to welcoming you all together, having you back at your proply home in Milano.

We wish you all the Best.

max ferrara
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Truly amazing location next to the Duomo and the 8 stories of retail worship that is the Rinascente design department store. Excellent shopping and sightseeing base with trendy but friendly bar that joins in the great happy hour buffet tradition. This is the ultimate "marmite" hotel as it courageously carries on the "soft brutalist" aesthetic that works so well in the reception, meeting and breakfast rooms into the bedrooms too. In terms of design this is the most interesting / modern design hotel I have ever stayed in and I found it really fascinating. However it's not for everyone and in places sacrifices comfort to design. Maybe it's just me but I felt a bit odd about the black bathroom suite and the bed / sheets etc were not that comfortable and the smell of oxidising metal not that appealing. Having said that the service and staff were first class and the breakfasts were great and included. If you are an architect or have an interest in design I recommend staying here. If you are looking for somewhere zen comfortable I might think twice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EntrepreneurGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear EntrepeneurGirl,

grazie mille, we would like to convert "the odd feeling" you felt in the black bathroom, the bed sheets in a positive remind, even if we are feeling happy in generally, for the nice words you found for us.

We would like to share with you a sightseeing in the hotel and showing you, also othe room's typologie, finding the right one for you.

I am glad to share the rest of the compliments with all my staff, and I hope to meeting you again, trying to improving in our standard and giving you the attention you require in deed.

Looking forward to hearing as soon from you, please contact me once you decide to coming back to Milano.

max
mferrara@straf.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 431 in Milan
1,113 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
841 reviews
Centro Storico
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#23 of 431 in Milan
824 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#187 of 431 in Milan
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £186 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing