We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Moon Resort & Hostel
Ranked #187 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Reviewed 25 November 2012

- not hotel, it is HOSTEL
- disrespectful staff, pointing fingers at customers, gossiping
- VERY poor breakfast, two types of bakery and coffee
- far from city centre
- no clean sheets and towels ( for 4 people there were 2 clean and 2 USED sheets)
- when we arrived, they were not ready to welcome us
- cockroach in the bathroom

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

The place looks nice enough at first, but that doesn't make up for the poor service and facilities.

Most of the staff are unhelpful, wifi is only in the lobby and requires logging in every time you want to use it, a 3 share room has only 2 beds, the airconditioner didn't work, it's poorly located (taxi drivers were generally unsure where it was even with an address), the breakfast isn't great but probably what you expect for the price, and their security is terrible (they require you to give them your key every time you leave and then they just hand it to whoever asks for it - often the single staff member will not even be in the same room as the desk, leaving all the keys open for the taking).

To top it all off, when we asked them to book "taxis for 9 people, large or several" they booked 3 large taxis which we were forced to pay for all of even though we could fit into 2 and they all had a surcharge. Would definitely advise strongly against staying here.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Good value for money. The room was clean and decent sized. Breakfast was okay even though quite brief. There was a free-use computer in the lobby and a wifi which wasn't very reliable and worked only downstairs.

The receptionists' english skills were very poor. They also weren't very kind or helpful.. At first the night-clerk gave us key to a room which was already taken! Very embarrassing to wake up people in the middle of the night trying to invade their room with another key..! The receptionist didn't even apologize, only clumsily lead us to a new room and even left the key hanging in the keyhole..

The nearest metrostation was Garibaldi from 10 minutes walk away. Luckily we saw a tramstation only few minutes away from the hostel and traveled with a tram to other metrostations. The location was distant from the center and the neighbourhood was gloomy..

Despite the staff and location the hostel was a good and affordable place for a three night stand.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked this place not knowing that it was a hostel! Where to start. Firstly the nearest train station is Garibaldi, which is a good walk away. As you get closer to the place everything is borded up and graffitied on! It looked like a ghetto. I was convinced we were in the wrong place but wasn't! It as you arrive it looks quite open and clean so we thought we would give it a chance.

Wifi is available but only in reception. You have to pay tax of 1 euro per night for being over 30! The centre is miles away and there are no shops or decent retaurants nearby so you have to travel to the centre. Room was clean but very basic, there was a fridge but it didn't work. The rooms were very hot and shook when a train went past. The door numbers look like they are graffitied on the walls!

Final straw before we left early was 'breakfast'. We arrived downstairs to plastic cups and plates a coffee machine you would find in an old train station and no croissants freshly defrosted in the microwave left, because we got downstairs at 8.30!!!! It was help yourself with nobody to tell you where anyhing was.

Tram tickets you need to get from a shop cost 1.50 euros, only to find we were suppose to stamp them and so the ticket lady made us pay 26.50 euros each!!! to get into the centre!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The price was really good!The corridors were like a hospital but the rooms were clean and big.The maid was cleaning every day.
The nearest metro stop is "porto garibaldi" and it is about 20-25 minutes away on foot but tram number 12 passes near the hotel and i thing also and bus,which never took it and i don't know the number.
Including:worth the money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleni_maghina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Very good and well kept place. Highly above our expectations, considering it's a hostel. Very simple and not expensive.
Pros: Clean, tidy, good service, rooms provided with tv (SKY), A/C, large (private) bathroom and wide beds, good breakfast with good croissants.
Cons: Not so close to the center (that's not THEIR fault, if you know what i mean ;) but well connected with bus/tram. Located close to railway so it's a little noisy, but trust me, not so much.
Our room was missing table lamps.
P.S. It's one of the best deals if you're in Milan for some concert in Alcatraz club, like we were.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We booked this place for our stay in July 2012. We're giving it 3 stars. Here's a breakdown of our thoughts.

Location:
This was the biggest drawback for us. The hotel is located deep in a residential neighbourhood, and isn't really close to much. It is also right next to the train tracks, which was loud when the windows were open (the windows were really good at blocking out any noise from the outside when they were closed though). There is a tram stop close by to the hotel though, but there was quite a bit of construction on the roads in the area, so it was confusing figuring out how/where to go. If you stay here, you can walk to Corso Como in about 20-25 minutes though, and Milan 'Chinatown' in about 15. And the closest metro stop was about 20-25 minutes walking (we may have been spoiled by the places we stayed at in Rome and Barcelona which were in fantastic locations)

Hotel:
The hotel itself is pretty good. We paid 55 euros a night, so for what we paid, it was great. They had free wifi (only accessible in the lobby though - the lobby is comfortable, with tables, chairs and couches). It was clean, and the front desk managers that we interacted with were pretty friendly and helpful - something I've read that other people have had problems with at other hotels. (there was one surly person around, we weren't sure what he did though). One downside is that there were quite a few mosquitoes around - as they kept the front door open for ventilation. I don't know if we were just unlucky due to the time of year we went and the fact that it rained the day we arrived.

Room:
The room itself is was good. The beds were clean and comfortable, tv worked, bathroom was clean, shower had good pressure and drained well. Again, the windows were good at keeping the outside noise out (trains coming by were a quiet, muted rumble), but can't say the same for our door. We could hear everything that went on in the halls. There was an A/C unit in the room, but it wasn't on, and there wasn't a remote for it, and because there was not bug screen on the window, we didn't open it because of the mosquitoes, so at night to room got really warm and stuffy.

Overall:
We were only in Milan for 2 nights, and for the price, this place was fine. We were a bit turned off initially due to the location, but for 2 nights at 55 euros a night, it served its purpose. I don't know if it would have been as okay if we had to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 428 in Milan
6,461 reviews
Bicocca
B&B Central Hostel Milano
B&B Central Hostel Milano
#110 of 283 in Milan
210 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Moon Resort & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Moon Resort & Hostel

Address: Via Giovanni Calvino 11, 20154 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Price Range: £42 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Moon Resort & Hostel is ideal for business or holydays trips. IS located just 15minutes (by tram) to Duomo! FOr our guests we offer croissant and hot drinks (coffee and tea) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Moon Resort & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing