We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, good value for money”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #201 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Split
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, good value for money”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is located on corso Buenos Aires, just 50 meters away from the metro station. Three metro stations away from the Duomo, the center of Milan. The area is very nice, with many shops, bars and restaurants. It is fairly cheap, considering that it is located in Milan and that it is a hotel. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, but clean. The hotel is located on the first floor of a residential building, but there is an elevator. Free wi-fi is available to the guests. We booked online through one of the commercial booking sites so we did not have free breakfast inluced in the price, but we were told by the staff that we could have book the room through their own web site and in that case we would get that free breakfast. :) Anyway, if you're on a budget and do not want to stay in a hostel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    77
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
53
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great service. Donato is really helpful with all the suggestions and directions. It is located right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, with loads of shopping. There is this fantastic gelato shop right opposite the hotel. We took the taxi from the train station costing about 10Euros because we had loads of luggage.

Our room was relatively quiet, didn't heard much street noises.

I had paid so much more for a room in other Italian cities and they were no where close to this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebe308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My partner and I had booked this hotel without much thought - it was very reasonably priced for central Milan, and the photos looked good. I have to say I was very very pleasantly surprised - it is just behind the Corso Buenos Aires, but you cannot hear the noise at all. Our room was very well made, and had an ensuite bathroom and a TV, a desk, lots of storage space and wifi came free with the room.

The reception staff were the picture of politeness, recommending places to go and giving ideas about restaurants which we could visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hotel Aurora is a quite small (around 15 rooms), family-run hotel right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, 150m away from Porta Venezia metro stop and tram n°5 and 33. Very handy location.

The hotel lacks a dining room, relying on the bar 10 meters away to offer breakfast (italian style only). You can order an espresso from the coffee machine in the lobby free of price though. There is no safe in the room, neither a boiler or a minibar. Room are very basic but it doesn't mean they are cheap, they are absolutely in the same league as many 3 stars hotels. There is air conditioning, wifi is included in the price of the room and works good, lcd tv, telephone, some rooms have a (small) balcony, and bathroom is furnished with the usual stuff (shampoo/bathgel, soap and phon). The lift to the hotel is quite old and can't accomodate more than a couple of people with luggage. As you can also expect from an hotel that is right on a busy street like Corso Buenos Aires, there's some noise coming from outside at ever hour of the night. Windows' glasses do a great job in keeping it at a minimum and I hadn't any issue sleeping but it can bother people more sensitive to noise.
Overall, don't expect anything luxurious or a big room and you won't be disappointed.
Everything worked (which isn't something you can say of every hotel...) and was clean. I can't really believe how this hotel hasn't deserved at least 3 stars because its service and accomodation are definitely at that level. It isn't exactly cheap if you consider it 1 star but is ok if you realize it's indeed a 3 star without breakfast and its very handy location.

For what we payed it was definitely worth it, I don't regret having not booked a more upscale hotel for a nearly double rate. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian81_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We walked to the hotel from Milan Centrale as it's located in a big shopping road and easy to get direction. Took us almost 20 minutes with heavy luggage so if you don't have trolley bags, do hail a cab. The hotel is clean and basic with comfortable bed and tiled flooring. It's an old building but quite quaint with old lift still in good order. Stayed during summer but the tiled floor we thought must be cold during colder seasons. The room size is great and toilet is decent. Had a good nite rest for our short stay mainly for shopping at Duomo, Montenapoleone, Via Della Spiga etc. Perfect location just next to Metro very accessible to the nearby attractions. Most helpful and friendly English speaking receptionists.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Phils
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Hotel Aurora. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. The staff are helpful. Carmine is friendly and helped carry our luggages when we arrived. Although the lift suddenly got broken when we got to the hotel, it was not really a problem as all the rooms are just on the first floor. The lift also got repaired the next day. Donato kindly offered us complimentary breakfast at the cafe beside the hotel on our first day. Hotel Aurora does not have its own dining room but the cafe has adequate selection of pastries and the cappuccino is good.

We were able to do most of our shopping in the area near the hotel and go back to the room to leave the bags before proceeding to the Duomo, which is just 3 stops by Metro. There's a supermarket in the street behind the hotel and a street market where agriturismos sell their produce.

I was happy that we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTraveltheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Good clean hotel close to the express bus to linate...only a 1.50 for a 20double min ride to airport

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Palladio
#58 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#209 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#105 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Fenice
Hotel Fenice
#116 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel St. George
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#27 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Corso Buenos Aires 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aurora 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing