We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by appearances”
Review of Scream Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scream Hostel
Ranked #177 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived at Scream Hostel and it was raining. The dark garden out front and confusing entrance made it seem like something right out of Transylvania! We were a little worried but once we realised how to get in to the building we noticed the beautiful, old, marble structure of the building and grand staircase up to the first floor where the hostel is located. The staff (a lady and her daughter) were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are very basic dorm rooms but it is quiet and we got a good night's sleep here. There is no communal living area but a big kitchen and laundry facilities. There is free wifi and at 14 euros a night (we were in Milan for one night only) it was good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharnz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Scream Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Hostel suited our needs well, the hostel was clean and the location was great near the metro stop, but in a quiet location. The only drawbacks were the facts that there were only 2 bathrooms and there was no communal area to socialise. However, the staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay at the Hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Its what u expect of a hostel. Milan is really expensive, and this hostel offers a more affordable option. The lady at the front desk is really really nice. There are only 2 bathrooms and if you are a girl, make sure you dont stay in a mixed dorm without a male companion. Some sketchy people might surround you. But there is always someone at the front desk which makes u feel safe and there is a gate!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LidisisMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Good things about this hostel: cheap, clean, full kitchen with stove/electric kettle, big fridge, sleeping rooms not crammed (stayed in 8bed) owner lady was genuine&friendly, building very secure (huge gated building) wifi worked everywhere but better at tables in hallway. Issues-only 2 bathrooms so shower/toilet in the morning may be of issue (wasn't for us), no real common area but kind of meet and talk to ppl in kitchen. Big carrefours(supermarket) close, come out of buildings gates & go left (north) it's across street next to a best western after big crosswalk with a light.
The hostel is between 2 train bridges but don't worry if you walk, its on a big busy street and there's lots of ppl, we walked there at 7pm on a Friday and not sketchy as lots of reviews say just don't be dumb, it's a big city.
One thing, Buzz 2024 to call, go thru the gate, then walk around the left side of the building, go up the stairs & through the door, around the corner is a staircase on the right. Up onefloor on the right. On the left is the black and white hostel. Weird I know. Recommend for cheap backpackers for sure!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kla_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here with my brother in early April 2013.
Unfortunately, it really was not the best place I have ever stayed. We were put in a dormitory that slept nine people and yet we paid 120 euros for two nights in this room. The bathroom facilities were totally inadequate for the number of people that were staying there- I had to wait a very long time to have a shower. I eventually managed to get into the bathroom but I had only been in for a minute when some girl started hammering on the door and screaming at me to get out. There didn't seem to be any toilet paper provided either and there were bedsheets all over the floors to soak up water from leaking pipes. There was no safe storage for bigger bags, though lockers were provided for valuables. The bunk beds were worryingly rickety and far too short. I'd broken a bone in my hip three weeks before and was still quite fragile so perhaps this was just a bigger inconvenience to me personally- my brother was comfortable enough.
This place's saving grace is the staff. They were all lovely, lovely people who were so kind and helpful and always had a smile for us. Despite the fact this place fell very short of what I would expect at the rate of 120 euros for two people in a nine bed dorm, I could not fault the staff. The Homer Simpson pictures all over the hostel made me laugh and was a nice touch.
Another thing- the building in which the hostel is situated is incredible. Art deco with a marble (real or not I don't know) staircase. Wow. It's also a very short walk away from a beautiful, traditional coffee house- we went there for breakfast on both mornings (there's no breakfast provided at the hostel) and paid just 5 euros for cappuccinos and croissants. The city centre is just 5 minutes on the underground, so location was not a problem.
If you plan on staying here, do expect great service from the very nice people who work there but also to have to get up at 5 in the morning for a shower!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diableamoureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel was completely fine, not the best but for 10 euros you get a bed and use of the wifi and kitchen. There are only a couple bathrooms so sometimes you have to wait.

Location is good, ten minutes from a nice grocery store and a couple to the metro.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kylaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The stuff is very well organised, helpful and sympathic. You don't have to pay any hidden prices, only the city tax (2?) as in every other hostel in Milano. The hostel is well located, clean, with the kitchen and all you could need. Have staid 4 nights and will have good memories.

1  Thank Dominika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi
Mio Hostel
#101 of 278 in Milan
117 reviews
Bicocca
B&B Best Hostel Milano
B&B Best Hostel Milano
#14 of 278 in Milan
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Miss B&B Milano
Miss B&B Milano
#182 of 278 in Milan
12 reviews
Milan Hostel Colours
#62 of 278 in Milan
170 reviews
Koala Hostel
#6 of 278 in Milan
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scream Hostel

Address: Viale Monza 111, 20125 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Price Range: £11 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing