We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little average...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Monteverdi Garden
Ranked #154 of 266 Milan B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little average...”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel sounded promising, but unfortunately failed to deliver. Although relatively clean, it is in desperate need of a wife.... It's getting a little run down, which is a shame as it has so much potential! The rooms are big, but decorations are sparse and look untouched for years, our room had a fantastic totally under utilised balcony which was just growing weeds, the back garden which would be a great outdoor area to hang out in was over grown. Although it does have a open kitchen 24/7 - and is great for free tea and coffee - the breakfast is cornflakes and coco-puffs, cake, packaged pastry and breadsticks. Not really something you eat much of. The saving grace was the yoghurt they supplied. Dishes did not appear to get done more than once a day - so were often piling up in the sink by the evening, rubbish containers on the tables not emptied daily, and table cloths in the dining area weren't changed daily. It's the little things!

One morning there was no coffee. One night at midnight it appeared they decided to start drilling and hammering...?? There is virtually not soundproofing as the doors don't close very well. The matresses are a little old and lumpy.

Although very pleasant and helpful people, and the bathrooms and bedrooms are clean, my guess is that for the price there are better places to stay in Milan...

Room Tip: The room with a balcony is great for afternoon/evening drinks and snacks in the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGirl69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
11
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I am a student in Milan and i arrived to the b&b for a few nights, just till i'll find a place to stay, but instead i found a new home in b&b monteverdi garden (and stayed there for 6 months!)

Optimal location, close to the university (politecnico, citta studi), and walking distance from Corso Buenos Aires, the shopping district in Milan. tram, bus and metro are all very close and allow you to get to the city center (Duomo) and practically almost anywhere in the city in no more than 10 minutes.

Very nice and clean rooms in fair prices. and the good part: FREE breakfast buffet open 24h and a coffee room. water dispensers all over the house free to use, and a computer+internet stand for the guests.
Very important: free WiFi network available for the guests.
a very nice and green private garden, open for the guests next to the breakfast room- a rare green spot in Milan.

All in all, the best thing about b&b monteverdi is the staff!
this is a family business, and you could actually feel that! Leo, Cinzia and Ilenia will take good care of you and will give you the best service possible to make sure you feel at home.There aren't enough words to express my affection and gratitude to these wonderful people who became my new family in Milan! Everything you'll need- be sure you could ask them for help.

Would most definitely recommend to anyone planning to visit Milan.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofir91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am a student and I wanted to spend a few days in Milan to visit the city. I arrived at B&B Monteverdi Garden and I was received in a very friendly way. Moreover I discoveted that they offer a free 24 hour breakfast service and most importantly, it's free!

The room in which I stayed in was very clean and quite big. It had a bed, a wardrobe, a desk, a tv and a nice view to the balcony and garden. I have also been given towels and toiletries with a pair of sleepers to move around the place.
There are two bathrooms and one of the is very big! There is also free internet wifi and the connection was quite fast: I managed to call home through skype without problems.
The owners are very nice and they have helped me to find my way around the city.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this place and I will most definitly return next time I will pass by Milan!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetanny_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The room was basic but comfortable and clean. We had access to a large shared balcony, although there was no outdoor furniture to lounge about in. The shared bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was available 24 hours a day and were included in the price. The breakfast consisted of pre-packaged croissants and cakes, jams, nutella, yoghurt, as well as good espresso coffee from a machine.The hosts here were friendly and spoke enough English for check-in to be easy.

There was some noise from the other guests - the floors are marble so sound travels easily. Light sleepers might wish to bring earplugs.

In terms of location we had actually booked at B&B Monteverdi (a bit closer to Milano Centrale Station) but we were moved to B&B Monteverdi Garden instead. It was a bit further away but still just a 15 minute walk. It was 5 minutes to a metro station and close to a tram line. We took the metro to see the Duomo and it was only a few stops to get there, and the automatic ticket machines have an English language option.

In summary B&B Monteverdi Garden met our needs for a one-night stopover in Milan, with an early train in the morning. We would recommend it to travellers on a budget in this very expensive city.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank paperdarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
6,196 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#153 of 431 in Milan
5,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#166 of 431 in Milan
219 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
1,696 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Monteverdi Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Monteverdi Garden

Property: B&B Monteverdi Garden
Address: Via Antonio Porpora, 50, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Monteverdi Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing