We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Martini

Caffe Martini
Ranked #6,521 of 8,033 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too expensive ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The food was ok, but clearly over prized because of its location. Service was ok and food came fast.
Nothing special really, their gelato is better!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mays K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    42
    31
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tiramisu time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This classic but tourist Italian cafe lies in view of the Duomo on the pedestrian way towards the castle Sforza. My wife and I fell in love with the place on our first trip to together to Milan in about 2000. We were again there this February where my wife as usual had her Tiramisu.
The place is not cheap due to its location and I prefer to come here out of the summer season. Nevertheless, it is classic Italian cafe and worth the time and money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good for people watching and thats about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

still not sure why we stopped in here because clearly it has "tourist trap" written all over it. the food was mediocre but the service was pitiful. the waiter either HATED us or forgot to put in our order to the kitchen because we waited nearly 45 minutes for our meal (pizza and a simple pasta) while everyone else around us ate and left. had it not been for the great people watching we would have likely left before getting our food. SKIP IT!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

A coke cost 10 Euros - outrageous. Of course you won't realise this until you get the bill because there is no drinks menu.

the food wasn't particularly great, the beef was overcooked.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great people watching and location, at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

As we had been to the Duomo we decided to eat in the vicinity. It comes at a price (85 euro for three drinks, two mains and two desserts) but it we a price we were prepared to pay. There's a choice of eating inside or out with this establishment.

The staff were very friendly and we sat outside in the street in a heated greenhouse type affair. This is in the main street which was lovely with the view of the Christmas lights. The waiting staff were a little pushy with starters and aperitifs but were fine when we said we weren't interested. The risotto and pasta was very good, and certainly appeared to be home made. The desserts were also excellent if rather large, and some what pricey, at 12euro for a ice cream sundae. But if warned about the size in advance you could cheerful share. The menu is extensive and if you mention dietary requirements, such as diabetes, they are happy to help.

Service was friendly and efficient and the establishment was spotlessly clean. An enjoyable, if expensive night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Martini also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Martini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing