We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, nothing realistically to complain about !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #226 of 266 Milan B&B and Inns
Bungendore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For the price, nothing realistically to complain about !”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

For the price I paid, and for a business trip without my family, the Hotel exceeded my expectations.

- old room but very clean, towels, sheets, room, bathroom, everything.
- Room is large with plenty of space to open up luggage and spread it around
- Staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks English (day as well as night staff).
- The Wi-fi actually works
-Very Close to tram and bus services to Central station and the Piazza Fuomo
-Close proximity to good eateries / pubs.

Despite that:
- Use of the A/C is not included in the night's fee and is 5 euro for the night if you want it (I didnt, room temp was fine at this time of year, and I like open windows anyway.
- The Shower is typically small (as with other hotels), but good hot water and flow.
- Loaction is a bit out from the city centre.
- Signage outside the building needs to be better, and
- I could probably improve their English Language instructions on how to get there from the nearby tram stop which need to be a tad more detailed to save confusion.

Honestly, for the price, cleanliness and proxmity to public transport, for a solo business traveller, this was just what the doctor ordered. Could have paid double or triple elsewhere and got nothing more.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are nice and quiet. Expect nothing, and be pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedTriple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    18
    22
    37
See reviews for
10
26
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

As for rooms - everything is ok, about size and quality. You have to put all your bags in a extremely small elevator, so if a have big suitcase - be advised you'll have to mount it on your back :) Not so talkative staff, but it is not a big problem. Only free parkings nearby. Calm street, so good for sleeping, few bars and restourants nearby. City center is also accesible by walk. But the most funniest thing is that (first time i see something like this) you've got a air conditioning, but to get it work in the night time - you should pay! Not bad, funny marketing hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tresker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

For the price I paid the Hotel exceeded my expectations.
The Hotel is located at the end of Carlo Goldoni street and is only one floor of a building so when you get there make sure you read the names on the doorbell cause there is no other signs.

The Positive:
- Very clean. clean towels everyday, sheets, room everything.
- Breakfast is ok
- Room is very well ventilated and no need for A/C (in beginning of spring that is)
- Staff is very friendly
- Strong water supply and good hot and cold.
The Negative:
- Yes, the A/C is not included in the night's fee and is 5 euro for the night
- The Shower is very small, but very hot water and cold and a Strong flow.
- Staff does not speak any other language but Italian however they are very friendly.
- Not too close to the bus line or tram.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arturo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Myself and my boyfriend were due to stay here our first night in Italy but when we arrived we were told that the room was 'broken' (the lady on reception didn't speak English) and that a room had instead been reserved for us at the Hotel Margerita, for which we were given a business card and no directions. Luckily we had rented a car and had a sat nav so we managed to find this hotel, but they had no rooms free. The receptionist here did speak English though and managed to arrange a room at the Hotel Delle Nazioni for us instead, albeit a twin room instead of a double and at 9Euros extra for the night.

Reading other reviews this doesn't appear to be an isolated incident, so I would advise you to stay away from the Hotal Royal. The Della Nazionelle is very nice, has parking for 15Euros and is near to a tram stop into the city, if you need an alternative!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LibF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

He had confirmed reservation in this hotel made by booking.com. Once we got to the hotel Royal they told us the do not have room for us. They gave me a card with address of other hotel Margarita and told us we will get room there. We got to the hotel Margarita but they did not know about us. They told us that they are full and have no room for us. The only room they could offered us were two singles rooms with small bed. As this hotel Margarita had lover category, look terrible and had high last minute prices we could not accept it. This was very bad experience for us. We were tired to death and very disappointed by service in hotel Royal. I do not understand why they did not keep the reservation. The cancelation policy said they will charge for the room one night in case we do not show up. So I came to conclusion that they thought we do not show us, so they can charge us and they can still sell this room to someone else. Be very careful if making reservation in this hotel. The staff speaks Italian and Spanish only. The hotel looks very cheap. It is the third floor of one building. In the second floor of this building is other hotel only two stars and they have mostly young and loud customers. They were drinking on the balconies being very loud. The breakfast looked horrible and very cheap. I recommend you to search other hotel. At the end we found last minute accomodation in Hotel Susa, very nice renovated hotel with very good staff and service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

nice hotel with nice service.
we stayed there 4 nights
close to metro and bus

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janicka36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Don't go there! We booked the hotel royal through hostelworld.com and paid a 10euro deposit in advanced. From the airport we travelled 2hours to the hotel royal to get told that there are no rooms available. The receptionist was "Sorry" but didn't gave us our money back. At this time in Milan every hotel and hostel was booked out so we took a room for 80euro each in another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina12345187370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#212 of 431 in Milan
362 reviews
Hotel Vienna
#264 of 431 in Milan
200 reviews
Hotel Lugano
#368 of 431 in Milan
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ca' Grande
#363 of 431 in Milan
133 reviews
Mec Hotel
#319 of 431 in Milan
176 reviews
Hotel Poma
#213 of 266 in Milan
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Goldoni 84, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing