We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Hotel in an Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romana Residence
Ranked #172 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Checking into the hotel was easy enough. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are large and appear rather clean. We were very enthusiastic about the room until around 3am when the bed bugs made their appearance. I was able to grab one and when I went into the bathroom to flush it, I noticed the ants coming up through the drains on the floor under the sink and around the toilet. Immediately I went to the front desk and complained. The staff members were very sympathetic and within minutes we were relocated to a hotel apartment attached to the hotel.

Morning breakfast was really nice. It was actually the best breakfast I've had at any Italian hotel. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel also.

It's mainly the location that makes this hotel such a lucky find. The hotel is located walking distance from the Duomo Cathedral in the center of Milan. From the square, everything is easily accessible. It was exactly what we were looking for.

Had the bed bugs not been a factor in our stay, it would have been perfect. Quality for value AND location... I would probably recommend this hotel to friends, but tell them to check the bed sheets first!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Electricious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    258
    151
    53
    32
See reviews for
182
186
28
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hotel was in good location, about 10 minute walk to Duomo and the center of town, and about 15 minute walk to canals in southwest corner of city which have nice restaurants and nightlife. Room was average, decent sized with decent sized bathroom, a bit old, average cleanliness but suited us fine. Room faces busy street which is a bit noisy. Key things that make this hotel a recommendation:

Friendly helpful staff
Excellent free breakfast, best we had out of 7 different hotels we visited in Europe!
Free whiskey in the lobby. That's right they leave a bottle out with shot glasses 24/7!
BikeMi bike sharing rack 1 block away. This was key for us to see all of Milan within 2 days, very cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I assume that the managers of this hotel are numerate and that they how many guests are staying on any given night. There is then no excuse whatsoever for failing to provide enough food, coffee, fruit juice etc. on the Sunday morning of our stay there last month. Too be quite frank, there was total chaos in the breakfast room. There were, however no other problems during our two night stay. The reception staff were friendly and professional and our room was up to the standard expected in this class of hotel.

I should add one other comment about Milano. We travelled for 18 days though Italy, Switzerland and France. This is the only place where we regularly ripped off in bars and cafes. We were often presented with hand written bills, a practice which is illegal, as all sales must be rung through a till to prevent tax evasion. This was done so that we could be charged more than than the set till amounts. We will never return to this city, even if it once again stages the final stage of the Giro d'Italia, which was the reason for our visit in the first place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hotel wih excellent location, easy to reach the duomo on foot, and quite close to the Crocetta metro station. Varied breakfast (a mixture of english style breakfast with sausages, bacon, toast etc and italian style breakfast with lots of different sweet things). We had a large family room with kitchenette, no complaints there. When you visit Milan, be sure to book your tickets to the "Last Supper" well in advance. If you haven't managed to get tickets, try to get tickets to some kind of guide tour which includes the "Last Supper" as well. These tickets are more expensive, but if the option is not seeing the painting at all, our family found they were well worth their price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel on recommendation of friends. We requested a family room and it was huge - two rooms either side of a wide entrance hall. Television in each room. Separate air con controls for each room. Tea/coffee making facilities, but no creamer. Bathroom was a little on the small side but the shower pressure was great.

Breakfast was included in the price and the usual range of foods were on offer but it was just a bit lackluster, eg coffee not great (surprising given it's Italy), undercooked bacon, yogurt not offered in enough different flavours, unimaginative choice of cereals, too many sweet breads on offer, no fruit salad or dried fruits.

The location of the hotel is convenient to the major attractions such as Il Duomo. It can be on the noisy side if you have a room facing the street as it's situated on a busy road, so ask for a room away from the road if you can, otherwise close the shutter fully at night.

All in all a good stay and we thought it was value for money for the size of room that we received.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roamer044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a family room, which was actually 2 separate large rooms! Great for a family with 2 kids, well located to measure tourist attractions-only the breakfast could have been a little more interesting.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Hotel Romana is really close to the Duomo, it takes about ten minutes by foot. The check-in staff is friendly and quick and very service minded. But the rooms are quite worn down, the paint is coming off the ceiling, the wall mounted phone has seen better days, when we flushed the toilet, the flush button came down from the wall, the plug for bath tub was too big, which made it basically impossible to fill up the bath with water. And the handle to pull the shutters up and down was semi-broken, which meant that we had to use a very special technique just to get some light into the room. Having said that, the bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean and there were fluffy bath robes. It is a shame that the hotel management won't repair the minor things in the room, which wouldn't cost much, but really enhance the overall impression. Breakfast (buffet) is served between 7 and 10 and for Italy the standard is OK. A lot of cakes and sweet things, but also eggs, bacon, bread, youghurt and cornflakes. But you have to eat early, if something runs out, that's it. We had breakfast at 8.45 one day and then there was no more yoghurt. We asked for more, but that was it. The same thing goes for the rooms, all of a sudden you're on the toilet and you realize that the cleaning lady didn't supply you with any more toilet rolls.... We booked Hotel Romana at a very cheap rate, but we will probably book somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GladaAnkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Lloyd Hotel
#346 of 427 in Milan
285 reviews
Canada Hotel
#33 of 427 in Milan
1,123 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#177 of 427 in Milan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Palace
#55 of 427 in Milan
1,559 reviews
Best Western Hotel Ascot
#274 of 427 in Milan
366 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#182 of 427 in Milan
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Property: Hotel Romana Residence
Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing