We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Romana Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Romana Residence
Ranked #172 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is very well located a few minutes walk to Crocetta metro which is two stops from Duomo. Milan metro has to be amongst the world's best, right up there with Paris and cheap as chips. It was very hot during our stay and the air conditioning was working fine. Receptionists were not what you'd call excited to see us, though not welcoming, they were at least efficient. The room was very good, a suite with plenty of room and very comfortable. Room 436, has bedroom, shower, closet and lounge. The bed was comfortable, Wi-fi is free, mini bar, windows can be opened and air/con turned off, electric shutters on windows. Breakfast is very good value and decent food. The hotel is clean, well appointed and after an initial standoff, the staff both friendly and helpful. Worth returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    242
    144
    48
    29
See reviews for
161
171
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

15 minutes walk from the Duomo or take the metro. Nice rooms, good bathrooms, excellent breakfast and very good value for the price. Great blinds too to keep out the morning light. Excellent local restaurants recommended by staff - thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Not a 4 star hotel quality, will not come back.

Room air condition needs a replacement or a good fix. It was very weak or sometimes not working at all. We stayed 2 nights in mid of June and Milan was around 40c/104f - it was aweful hard to get a good sleep. Sometimes you just wanted to go downstairs in the hotel lobby for fresh cool air! Later we found out rooms on our entire floor were the same, not just our room.

The front desk staffs were cold and no smile. Their attitudes were indifferent towards guest's concerns. Only the cleaning lady was very nice friendly and kept our room very clean.

Our room is spacious. Bathroom is very clean. Beds are hard like 2-3 star hotel. WiFi in the room is weak.

The breakfast was ok, but the service was poor. Milk or coffee supply left empty for a long time until guests asked. Later they brought out only the coffee, ignored the empty milk jar next to it. It was before 9am, not even near the end of breakfast time yet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This Hotel is well located, as there are 2 tram lines and 1 Metro line very close. The rooms are in order, functional, although a bit visibly used. Free internet connection is available. The breakfast room was a bit too small for the number of people to host at the same time.
For the price it was absolutely ok. Although my room was facing towards the street the noise was not so bad, as there were double windows. All in all a positive experience, I would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at this property recently and had the most delightful experience. It is located fairly close to the Duomo and other key attractions yet tucked away on a side street that has all the Italian charm, small geletarias and pizza places that serve wonderful food to locals and tourists alike. The rooms were very well appointed, large and airy. We had a two room suite and it was indeed a very roomy affair , eel appointed with a modern decor. Bathrooms were quite spacious and you could actually have a decent shower without hurting yourself. This hotel is ideal if you are traveling with a family. If you go, ask for the gelato shop (close to the intersection). It is an experience that the real gelato connoisseurs would cherish.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast service although quite spartan, was well executed. Excellent coffee too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Liked the room and the bathroom,reception helpful and friendly,parking in the basement safe and handy,breakfast exceptional .Can't wait to return.
Next time we are going to ask for a non-street facing room,if available.



  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Miriesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is located cca. 200 meters from the yellow metro line Crocetta station, very good location, really 10 minutes walking from the cathedral. We spent there 4 nights. The staff was nice (some reviewers wrote the opposite), perhaps my weak Italian sentences at the beginning helped. Our room was on the 6th floor, next to the elevator, on the steet side, however it was quiet. Only the refrigerator had a bigger noise than usual, but we could separate this with a door from the sleeping part of the room, and could not hear anything. The breakfast was perfect (but the same everyday). In the lobby on the table with the newspaper there are two bottles with free grappa.
We had to leave very early on the last day (around 5 a.m.), and we arranged with one of the staff members at the reception two breakfast packages for the check-out. In the very early morning the other guy at the reception has not heard anything about that, so we left without any food.
The other surprise came at the metro station: it was closed at 5.30 a.m. So we had to call a taxi.
It would have been very helpful, if the guy at the reception in the afternoon would mentioned that the metro opens only at 6 a.m.
Anyway the hotel itself was very good, and we would go there happily again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room high enough, it can be also on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Lloyd Hotel
#344 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Canada Hotel
#36 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#162 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Palace
#49 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Navigli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ascot
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ascot
#297 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#183 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Property: Hotel Romana Residence
Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing