We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in down-town Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romana Residence
Ranked #176 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my family (including toddler) in June 2014 for 4 nights for a conference. We had a very large room with 2 separate rooms which was very nice. We were on 6th floor and you can hear quite a bit of traffic as hotel is on major road, but this was ok. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area large and with very good breakfast. They do not allow irons in the rooms (not sure if this is eerywhere in Italy), so you must pay to have clothes ironed if you need to, which was a bit of a pain. Hotel is within walking distance to Duomo (15 minutes) and University (10 minutes). We did a tour of Milan and also walked to Saint Ambroisia and the castle and park and then to Duomo and finally back to hotel. This took us the afternoon, but was a nice way to see around.
Hotel has very nice restaurant with great staff. Not open every day, and not open for breakfast, but very good lunch and supper and take-out.
Additional info re: getting to hotel: The hotel is approx. 20 minute taxi ride from train station and cost around 12-15 euros depending on traffic (taxis have meters and there is a designated taxi stand). We did not have a car seat with us and taxis did not have car seat so we had to carry toddler on our lap).

Room Tip: Ask for room away from side of hotel facing road if possible for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SeenaC-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very clean room lovely decor cleaners very efficient as every day had new towels and sheets. Breakfast was lovely good choice and pots of tea, very rare in Europe. Good location as close to Metro and 10 mins walk to Duamo Cathedral. Staff spoke good English which is always very helpful. Hotel on main road but even though our room was at the front it was amazingly quiet. Perfect hotel to stay in if visiting Milan. From Central station take yellow metro to Crocceta turn left from metro station about 50 metres is hotel.

Room Tip: Think whatever room you choose you'll get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I went to Milano for work and this cosy hotel is near the university and at the same time not far from all the attractions of the town. It's a quite hotel with friendly and helping staff. The rooms are nice and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaAn969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We (my husband and 6 year old) have just spent 2 nights here. We arrived by train and it was about €15 in a taxi. Its centrally located, about a 15 minute walk from the Duomo. The area is safe and pretty commercial - its not an aethestically lovely area but then neither is about 80℅ of Milan.

The reception area is small but OK and the lifts are tiny. Our luggage was taken up to the room. The room was the nicest surprise - the pictures on the website are all pretty drab but this was modern, light, bright and very nicely decorated. There was also a separate sleeping area for my daughter which was a bonus. The bathroom area was big, bright and very clean. In fact the whole suite was spotless.

In terms of the facilities, if I was to nitpick then they could put in a little more thought here. The air conditioning was fine in our room but didn't extend out to my daughters sleeping area so she had 2 warm nights! We had tea and coffee making facilities but no milk (we asked, they brought). The 2nd morning we had no coffee as the sachets were not replenished. However the WiFi was very good and my husband found English language films in the evening. Breakfast was good with both a hot and cold selection. Rooms are double glazed and there was little road noise. The staff without exception were pleasant and helpful.

All in all, I wasn't expecting too much of this hotel based on pictures and previous reviews. It was actually a very pleasant surprise, especially given the price we paid!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sewage smell was coming from plughole, shower stand didn't work, way too noisy (asked for a room not facing the main room,didn't get it), air conditioner didn't work (very hot days and nights), 3 English channels on TV (all of them news), breakfast selection was poor,same food every day, breakfast staff didn't pay too much attention to replace empty plates.One morning had to wait 15 mins for scrambled eggs. Elevator is ridiculously small. All in all not a four star hotel at all. Very average. Only positivum is a good location.

Room Tip: Choose room NOT facing the street. Very noisy, effects your sleep if you are not a deep sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EviandNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms are nothing special, but are adequate and clean. The toilet seat was loose (do they really not notice these things when they clean the bathroom???). I was worried about being on the first floor but didn't notice any noise at night. The internet worked well for me. The breakfast was very good.
The most important reason I'm taking the time to write this review is that the very efficient man at the front desk who checked us in, and who initially seemed somewhat curt and unsympathetic (to the fact that we really needed an extra cot put in our room because we mistakenly did not book a triple), turned out to be EXTREMELY helpful on many accounts. He was very busy checking people in, but still took the time to thoughtfully come up with a good restaurant recommendation for our large group (13 people), booked the table for us, and gave good directions. He also, while we were at dinner, called Alitalia to re-confirm our seats (we hadn't realized we needed to do this on the way over, and they gave our pre-assigned seats away and spread us all over the plane). When I left him, he had been on hold listening to a recorded "your call is very important to us" message for about 10 minutes; he finally got through to the airline and reconfirmed for us. Finally, he advised us on how to best get to the Last Supper early in the morning, and from there to jump on a train to the airport, and arranged for the right number of taxis for us. I wish I had asked his name so I could properly thank him for all he did for us; he is bald, with glasses and a nice smile!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StarTree723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had 3 rooms and arrived early. They put us in 2 rooms right away and were very kind. The elevators are tiny but the stairs are right there and easy to use. Very clean and nice room. Very firm (typical) beds and pillows. Breakfast cost 18 euro and was not very good but there are bakeries close by. We walked around the corner for a nice lunch and 10 minutes to the Duomo, Galleria and shopping. Took the tram to the end to Mame' restaurant that was excellent and walked briskly 30 minutes back by choice. We forgot our converter and they kindly found it and held it till we returned to pick it up 7 days later. Parking lot was below and gated and we were charged an extra day for going over a couple of hours.

Room Tip: I liked our room on the street to watch passersby in the morning. Don't remember road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130luvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Canada Hotel
#30 of 430 in Milan
1,223 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#352 of 430 in Milan
301 reviews
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#179 of 430 in Milan
385 reviews
Uptown Palace
#57 of 430 in Milan
1,635 reviews
Best Western Hotel Ascot
#258 of 430 in Milan
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £77 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing