We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and clean but not the best area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi
Ranked #39 of 261 Speciality Lodging in Milan
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Modern and clean but not the best area”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The neighbourhood isn't great as it is quite far out and the metro is needed to get into the main city areas, but this did mean that the hostel was affordable on a student budget. The staff at the front desk weren't that friendly, but the room was really clean and modern, and we had our own bathroom with a toilet and shower which was cleaned each day. The hostel wasn't as lively or communal as others, as there was no communal lounge area, but overall the hostel was a nice, affordable, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGenerationHostel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Beth,

we are glad you found our rooms modern, really clean and comfortable with a private bathroom that we clean daily ... all this at a very affordable price!
The Hostel is a 5-minute walk from Piola Metro Station. This underground station is just 3 stops from Central Station and 6 from the Duomo.

Thank you for having stayed with us!
New Generation's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    92
    60
    15
    19
See reviews for
12
38
65
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel is really far from anywhere worth going in Milan. The staff are pretty unfriendly, and there is not a very good vibe throughout the hostel, no common lounge areas etc. the neighbourhood is definitely not "bursting with life" as the description suggests - it's really dead and creepy!
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGenerationHostel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Alice,

we are sorry you have not enjoyed the area where the hostel is located, but it is located in the university district, a 5-minute walk from the faculty of architecture and engineering. However, it remains a quiet and residential area, with the advantage that you can sleep well ;-)

In addition, to dive in the city, there is the Piola underground station is 5 minutes walk away, and from there with 1 stop you are to Loreto, the "realm" of shopping, 4 stops you're at the park, 5 stops you're at Garibaldi nightlife, and 6 you're at the Cathedral!

We want to offer our guests the best: quality of services, a good sleep, comfortable areas of the city and low prices!

All the best,
New Generation's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The neighborhood this is hostel is in just gave us a shock. Nothing is close by, you need to take the metro to any place of interest. The streets are dirty, people give you wry looks and waiters and staff in the Restaurants are sometimes weird. We arrived at the hostel hoping it wouldn't blend in with the neighborhood but it did perfectly. The staff not very friendly (not unfriendly either though) and yes, you have to pay for everything....I'm surprised that you can use the toilets for free. I mean come on - €4 for holding my luggage? That's not how one makes fans ...

Just a very unpleasant atmosphere so we decided to stay somewhere else instead. Go there on your own risk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank the_logod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewGenerationHostel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello "the_logod"!
thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback,

but we are sorry you had a bad impression in any restaurant in the area and for this reason you have decided not to stay in our hostel.

If you had stayed with us you could try and enjoy our hospitality: we try to offer the best comfort with prices don't fear any comparison in Milan!

... and we believe you'd even changed his mind about the neighborhood: most guests say that the locals are very friendly and cheap ;-)

sincerely,
NGH's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We only had a two night stay in this hostel, but it was great! The first front desk we encountered was a little rude and sort of put us on edge, but that was the only negative part of our stay. The hostel is EXTREMELY clean. Everything is very modern. In a 16 person room, there are three separate, private bathrooms (a gem in the hostel world). They also provide you with a kitchen to cook in, meaning that you don't have to go out and buy supper at a restaurant every night. Big money saver! The wifi works VERY well! Better than any of the other hostels that we stayed in!

The only downfall is that, if you did not think ahead and bring all of your own stuff like, cutlery, towels, hairdryers, outlet converters, etc, they charge a hefty fee to rent them. Also, there is a ridiculous fine system, so you can get fined for many things... These things were not problems for my travel buddy and I, but I imagine they are bad for some people. The location isn't anything special, but it isn't terrible either. It is very close to the metro, allowing you to get anywhere in the city.

WARNING: NO AIR CONDITIONING. ROOMS GET VERY HOT.

Room Tip: Try and get a bed close to window as there is no air conditioning in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda22707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had read the previous bad reviews and still went with this hostel as it was some of the cheapest accommodation in Milan. I found the staff friendly and the rooms were very modern and clean. It was great to have a toilet and bathroom easy to access in the dorm room. The hostel is also well located to the train system. I would recommend this place to others and I would return myself again if I was to visit Milan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having stayed at dozens of hostels all over the world New Generation Urban Hostel is like nothing I have ever experienced before, and not in a likeable way.
Pros:
Cheap and the bathroom on our four bed room was excellent
Cons:
My biggest gripe is the rental and fines system. Everything needs to be rented, right down to the cutlery. I can understand people paying a deposit for bedding (20 euros) but to charge people for cutlery rental when you don't even offer breakfast seems a bit out there.
Also the fines are ridiculious. A large board greets you at reception with a list of rules and it documents how much you will be fined if you break these rules. Accidently leave your key in the lock? 50 euros please. Leave your door open? 30 euros.
Hostels are supposed to feel like home, I don't recall being fined or charged a rental for everything growing up.
Staff were indifferent at the best of times, no real friendliness or genuine welcome. Check in was a pain due to a mountain of paperwork that needed to be filled out, though I understand this is standard in Italy and not just for New Gen.
The rooms have a very odd set up with an a) and b) organisation. So if you are staying in a 4 bed dorm it's actually two different rooms, room 4a and 4b. While this was convenient for my girlfriend and I it creates a very odd and intrusive feel as there is a non lockable door between you and the other part of the room. We never even met our room mate as such, though he could have readily come in at any time.

If they ditched the fines and rental and got some friendlier staff this hostel would be one of the best. For now it's one of those that I won't be going back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank As2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hostel is cheap (44 euro for a double room with bathroom) and very clean. They ask you for a 20 euros deposit when you check in, but you get them back. The staff was nice and helpful.There is free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
New Generation Hostel Urban Brera
Koala Hostel
#4 of 261 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Milan Hostel Colours
#55 of 261 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Ostello Bello Grande
Ostello Bello Grande
#1 of 261 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Navigli
New Generation Hostel Chic Navigli
Mio Hostel
#77 of 261 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi

Property: New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi
Address: Via Giuseppe Ponzio 75, 20133 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 261 Speciality Lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free WiFi throughout and an on-site mini-market, New Generation Hostel Urban is a 5-minute walk from central Milan's Piola Metro Station. With air conditioning and allergy-free mattresses, rooms have modern furnishings and a refrigerator. The private bathroom comes with a shower and bidet. There are lockers available in the rooms. Facilities include a games room, a shared kitchen and a 24-hour front desk. Milano Lambrate Train Station is a 10-minute walk from Hostel Urban New Generation, while Milan Cathedral is a 15-minute metro ride away. Linate Airport is 5 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing