We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising, we were cheated - STAY AWAY!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eco Art Hotel De Albertis
Ranked #352 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Baltimore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“False advertising, we were cheated - STAY AWAY!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We chose this hotel because we needed a reasonably priced hotel to stay in Milan. This one seemed like a perfect match. The price was right, the reviews were good, and it stated on our booking site that it had all the amenities we needed, including free parking, high speed internet access, and air conditioning in the rooms.

When we arrived, the clerk at the desk, who apparently was the owner and only employee, showed us our two rooms. One was clean. The other had a stench of cigarette smoke. We complained, and he said we could have a "triple" room for €85 more a night, which for the 4 nights we stayed there, is approximately US$500. We were tired after driving across the country all day, and we did not know the city, so we had to reluctantly accept and pay.

So after paying this $500, that defeated the purpose of a 'budget' hotel like we were looking for. Had we known we would be spending that kind of money, we could have stayed at the Sheraton down the street or quite a lot of other nice places around town.

We didn't get our money's worth either. The only difference between the "double" we had originally booked and the "triple" where we stayed was the number of beds. It had one extra twin bed, that's all, and we didn't even need that bed. The room itself was about the same size, and had no other extra amenities.

The $500 was just one thing we were ripped off for. There was also another piece of false advertising. It was in the lack of an air conditioning unit in the room. This was in dead hot July, and the guy seemed to think that was not a problem at all. Just another reason we had longed to be at the Sheraton. Had we not had to pay the $500, I think we could have tolerated this.

Throughout the stay, I had the intuition that the guy was very untrustworthy. I never saw him act like a 'monster' and he didn't look like one either. But I just had a bad feeling about him. So every time we left the room, even for a short errand, we took all our valuables with us, including our iPad, GPS, jewelry, cash, etc. These are things we would ordinarily think would be safer in the room than in a car parked on the street.

The room itself was pretty clean. That is one nice thing I can stay. But there are many clean hotels in town, and I would not pick this particular one just for a clean room.

So if you are looking for a cheap hotel in Milan just to save money, don't pick this one. With all we had to pay extra, you could find a 5-star place for less.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colorknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
10
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Some aspects of the Lonely Planet review are fair, but I feel this hotel is so expensive to defy logic. 190 Euro per night for a double room.
Rooms badly lit. Noisy and poorly furnished.
The hotel is some distance from the Duomo. I just think better value is out there.
I only managed breakfast one morning, the coffee so foul, I chucked it down the sink. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Bournemouth, Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed at the De Albertis for 2 nights on a budget trip to Milan. I paid 100 Euros for 2 nights accomodation including breakfast, booked through Venere, which I consider to be good value for money. I believe the hotel is family owned and the lady of the house made me welcome on my arrival. My room was clean with an en-suite shower room with toilet and bidet. The room was at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the courtyard as I had requested. The continental breakfast offered a good selection with the landlady providing a fresh cappuccino each morning. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Piazza Grande where a 15 minute bus or tram ride will take you straight to the Duomo. Buy a 1 day travel ticket for 3 euros from the newspaper kiosk in the piazza. Expect nothing more than a clean a budget hotel in an expensive city and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimoneyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Just came back from a lovely trip to Milan+Bergamo+Lake Como and I must say this little two star hotel in Milan was a find!

Downs:
- Not very central, but with a 5-10 minutes walk you get to bus stops to: stazione centrale, linate airport or the Duomo (Piazza san Babila). The bus rides are quite short to all these places.
- Staff doesn't speak great English but they've been very patient to my attempts to communicate in italian (which I speak at a basic level)
- Some stairs to be climbed and I didn't notice an elevator, but if you don't have any restrictions this is not really a down.

Ups:
- Friendly staff (apparently run by a family).
- Stayed in room 114 which was ensuite (not sure if all rooms are), huge, had lovely antique furniture, comfy king size bed and was spotlessly clean (room and linen sparkling white)
- Room with air conditioned, tv, mini fridge, cable adsl (you just need to ask for the modem at the reception), great shower
- Quiet residential area, perfect for getting proper rest
- All this for 60 Euro/night, including a generous continental breakfast (with great capuccino), in Milan?? Honestly I couldn't ask for more!

I feel lucky to have found it. Definitely recommended for who doesn't mind walking a little bit to get buses to the touristic places.

TIP1: In case you want to eat in the room after a busy day touring, do ask staff for suggestions of local pizza delivery :-)

TIP2: In Milan, make sure you buy plenty of transport tickets/passes for your whole stay because sometimes it is difficult to find places that sell them, specially at inconvenient times like sunday morning.

TIP3: Besides visiting the lakes (Como is lovely), if you have time DO get a train to Bergamo to see the Citta Alta (High City), it's enchanting and it's where people from Milan go to when they want some shelter from the buzz.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.2 mi away
Milano Hotel America
Milano Hotel America
#294 of 428 in Milan
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Caravella
La Caravella
#301 of 428 in Milan
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#194 of 428 in Milan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marte Milano
Hotel Marte Milano
#331 of 428 in Milan
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Molise 2
Hotel Molise 2
#268 of 428 in Milan
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Aladin Hotel
#322 of 428 in Milan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Art Hotel De Albertis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Art Hotel De Albertis

Property: Eco Art Hotel De Albertis
Address: Via Sebastiano de Albertis 7, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Eco Art Hotel De Albertis 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco Art De Albertis is' a Hotel Environmentally sustainable. Unique in its class for comfort and services with particular attention to the environment, where ecological and biodegradable products are used. The rooms are pleasant and offers a friendly atmosphere with free WiFi, TV, Minibar, Bathroom with hair dryer, Set Courtesy ecological The professional staff is available to customers to provide useful information to make your stay in Milan: transport and tourist attractions, events and exhibitions, just minutes from downtown. The Hotel Bar offers Breakfast with products from Organic farming, accompanied by goodness' of Caffe Bio. A small garden in fine weather, guests can take breakfast or a relaxing moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eco Art Hotel De Albertis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing