We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem In A City Of Hype”
Review of TownHouse 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownHouse 31
Ranked #209 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem In A City Of Hype”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Milan is a tough city because one can easily way overpay to be close to very touristy locations, or (worse yet) be stuck by the train station. Townhouse 31 is a place that a Europhile can truly enjoy: elegant, understated, warm service, location an easy walk from most everything in a hip neighborhood. The staff all speak excellent English and are gracious about it.

Americans will be pleasantly surprised by the sizable (by European standards) rooms. The morning breakfast is definitely Euro in nature (fresh cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, breads and pastries) so don't expect waffles and bacon; if, like me, you don't come to Italy to eat at IHOP then you will be quite satisfied.

An excellent walk is west on via Goldoni, north on Viale Piave, then work your way west to Corso Venzia. From there either continue across the street to the park or head south (southwest, really) down Corso Venezia through Piazza Santa Babila, down Corso Vittorio Emanuele II to the Duomo...about 15-20 minutes. Make your way back up Corso Venzia and hang a left onto the tiny via della Spiga for excellent window shopping.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building (I believe there are 3 total).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolnyOtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    70
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
55
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

we had an upgrade to a lovely room with 2 beds and two big bathrooms, sky tv, very quiet. Extremely clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a true banquet and so much really excellent, they even laid on umbrellas as it was raining. It is exactly a 30 minute walk from the Duomo and a 25 min walk to the station or a 9euro taxi ride, I preferred to walk after all the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Charming place to celebrate my birthday, I decided after seeing their pictures / information at SLO.com.


Somewhat unorthodox reception area – the receptionist sits, the patrons have to stand at her desk. Worked well with me, can be somewhat tricky for the guests with limited mobility or tired legs.



As the hotel was fully booked, we did not get a free upgrade, normally a perk they offer to SLH loyal clients. The receptionist claimed she had never seen SLH membership card before in her life. A rather strong statement in a SLH hotel.


According to her, our „free-welcome-drink“ was not mentioned in our booking (it WAS actually!) but she was kind enough to offer us „a free drink“.



Town House 31 has a nice location, peaceful if somewhat tired courtyard and little-better-than-your-average-hotel-buffet breakfast. One morning we got a passable hot chocolate, the next morning, the same drink was just awful.


They tell you breakfast hours are between 7:30 and 10:30 but buffet is accessible almost until noon, which is nice. Getting food during peak hour(s) is somewhat challenging – they bring in the new food not fast enough to keep their hungry guests happy. The pieces arriving on the table are, in general terms, fresh and tasty though.


The deluxe room comes with cosy wooden floors, pleasant selection of amenities and too many TV channels (definitely, to be considered as a good thing by less active guests).


Two major downsides – free Wi-Fi did not work (might be not too easy to fix without proper technical understanding) and the thing easier to fix – all the walls were dirty (just a couple of hours if not less, soap and water needed to come over this).

140-160 € for a DBL in Milan is a rather good price, but not really an excuse for dirt in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarmoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Direttore at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and we really regret not being able to upgrade you into a higher category, due to the full occupancy of the Hotel.

At the desk there was a new employee on you arrival, and we are very sorry to know that you had some misunderstanding with her regarding the membership card
During your stay our computer technicians were doing some maintenance on our wireless connection system, that’s why we did not assure the best connectivity.
However we thank you for all your comments, over all for the negative ones because they help us to improve our service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Town House 31, offering you a free upgrade and our best care.

All the best,
TownHouse 31
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Honestly, I don't quite understand the negative reviews here....we were recently guests @ Town House 31 for 3 nights. I found the accommodations to be exceptional, clean and elegant.

We arrived after drive from Portifino, quickly found the hotel and checked in. The elevator was not working, however, the concierge quickly arranged for someone to carry our bags up the stairway. Additionally, we were on a time schedule to return our rental car, and the staff could not have been more accommodating, giving us maps and directions and bus information for our return.

The next morning, we had an arrangment to see "The Last Supper" and wanted the quickest way to get there....so we walked (5 minutes) to the train stations, which in turn, took us to the Metro line for a quick transfer. It was very crowded (impending strike) but we arrived at our destination with time to spare.

We walked from "The Last Supper" to the Casteel Sforza and then on to the Duomo and back to the hotel....total trip, about 3 miles....but the Metro was readily available as well.

I thought the breakfast was the best of our who 3 weeks in Italy.. the service was efficient, with staff always asking for what you may want or need and the selection was fulfilling. I thought the table set up was a little odd, but it doesn't force you to "speak" or acknowledge anyone.

On our last day, the hotel arranged for a car transfer to Malpensa airport, and the night porter took our luggage downstairs, and served us coffee/tea, fruits and yogurt for our journey.

All in all, a pleasant stay, and a great end to our trip. I would stay here again if I ever were to visit Milan. I for one, appreciated the quietness of the neighborhood and the service of the staff.

Ciao!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here for a work congress at MiCO. Is a little out of the way and the walk into the centre is about 20 minutes. The room was small but lovely with a wet room, which was slightly irritating as you had to walk across the wet floor to get to the toilet. Good breakfast spread, but no food at other times.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjonasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. Guest feedback such as yours help us to continuously review our policies and training procedures. All guest reviews are shared with and communicated to our staff in order to ensure our property standards. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we had such an amazing stay. the staff were so helpful and friendly. as the hotel is only 15 minute walk into the city it was nice and quiet. the walk into town was straight forward and easy ti find your way back. breakfast was nice, fresh fruit etc etc.

we would defiantly stay again. thanks loads Town House 31.

Room Tip: try get room 102, it has a huge balcony and over looks the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I returned this year to the Townhouse 31 Hotel in Milan after 5 years and found it very much the same. The rooms are small and basic but very clean and functionable. My "king double" had a king bed, small desk and desk chair, mini-fridge, safe and flat screen TV. The hotel has a lovely common area downstairs and a courtyard garden. Breakfast in the common downstairs area is very good. While the hotel does not have a restaurant, they do serve cocktails in the evening (aperitivi) with nice snacks. There are numerous couches and overstuffed armchairs in the downstairs area. You may encounter other hotel guests, but you will have no problem having your own comfortable space. It's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the city center (Duomo area). It's a 5 - 7 minute walk to the nearest subway/metropolitan, which is clean, convenient and reliable.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and had a window very near the hotel's side entrance. Sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustnyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
TownHouse 31/33
#242 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
TownHouse 12
#227 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Centro Storico
TownHouse Galleria
TownHouse Galleria
#159 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
TownHouse Duomo
TownHouse Duomo
#229 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Hotel Vittoria
#201 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse 31

Property: TownHouse 31
Address: Via Carlo Goldoni 31, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Milan
#137 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — TownHouse 31 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownHouse 31 is a charming 4-star boutique hotel located in small elegant 19th century palace next to TownHouse 33. Recreating a home like atmosphere, the tranquil palm garden and the contemporary-ethnic style Classic rooms ensure an intimate hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the metropolitan city of fashion and design. Located in a residential area of one of the most affluent neighborhoods in Milan, TownHouse 31 is within walking distance from the world renowned showrooms, bars and restaurants in Piazza San Babila, Via Monte Napoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and Porta Venezia. Dateo train Station, close to the Hotel, enables guests to easily reach fieramilano Rho exhibition center within 20 minutes. TownHouse 31 is not inside Milan's "Area C" (limited traffic zone with entrance fee), and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownHouse 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 31 Hotel Milan
Town Hotel Milan
Town Hotel 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing