We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Atena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atena Hotel
Ranked #299 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There is nothing about this hotel that screams amazing but then again that's not what it's trying to do this hotel delivers on what is expected of it it's clean comfortable and in a relatively good location with plenty of public transport around to get you around. The staff were friendly and let us have a late check out which was good as we were in no rush to be moving on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B3nno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
14
39
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid (€49), you can't expect much. The staff are half asleep all the time, there were three different staff within the space of one night (one on at a time). They are not helpful at all. We ordered a taxi for 8am and we were downstairs at 7.55am but the taxi was already at €8. Our room was close to reception, it was at times noisy when the receptionist was talking on the phone.

Loud noises throughout the night and early in the morning, other customers I think, also reception.

As for the rooms, small bathroom, small room with tv (no English channels) two single beds pushed together for a double and a balcony. There is an odd smell when you walk into the room and an even worse smell in the bathroom. Stains on the bed covers.

Good location, ten minute walk to Duomo and to a big shopping street. Have to buzz reception on the intercom, go through two giant doors and upstairs to the second floor.

Good place if you just want a cheap place to sleep.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavieremp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked this as our final stop in Italy. Confirmed air conditioning and got none.
No screens either...bug city. The location was just a bummer...the 24 hour desk staff was very nice and that was good. Everything else listed as amenities was really terrible.

Room Tip: get your money back when you roast in your room and leave with dozens of bug bites from the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

very nice hotel for 2-3 night stay. Clean rooms, balcony, normal breakfast (not a big choice so but good if you stay 3 days there). Location is reasonable, by foot 20min to Duomo. Don't expect 5* hotel if you pay 50 euros! Very good hotel for 2 star quality. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We took advantage of a very cheap offer (45 euros for a night). The hotel is in a very good location, near Palestro metro stop and Corso Venezia, but of course nothing special. You get whay you pay: tiny rooms, a tiny bathroom, yet everything was ok except for a few hair in the blankets. Staff is friendly but talks loud during the morning and you can hear it from the room. Continental breakfast is enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaLaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty far from Milano Centrale. However, instead of taking a taxi or the metro (like we did), take the tram that stops right outside the station. It takes you a block away from the hotel. Which brings me to the location. It is excellent for seeing the center of the city. It's about 5-7 blocks from a street that takes you right through the center of Milan. We easily walked there and back. There is a supermarket two blocks away, which was nice.

When we first arrived, the reception-guy was very nice. He was accommodating and helpful with our questions. However, the second day there was a less-than-helpful guy. He almost mocked us when we couldn't open our room door (granted, it was silly, but he was very rude about it) and wasn't helpful in regards to our questions. I didn't catch names, but he looked younger with lighter hair than the main reception-guy.

Our room was literally 10 feet from reception, which was convenient but a little noisy at times. Our room was fairly clean. A big problem was the wifi, which was very spotty. I would have expected better wifi service for a room so close to reception.

Overall, for 106€ for two nights and very close to the center of Milan this was a great choice. They could improve on a few things but overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliburrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Doesn't cost much, so don't expect too much. Beds were comfortable, sheets and towels clean and (most important to me) the location was great. Staff could be nicer though (a smile goes a long way), bathroom could be free of mold and install some new shower doors. Breakfast is mediocre, but gets you through the morning. Decent, very decent hotel, especially price/quality wise so close to the center of the city (15 - 20 min walk to the Duomo).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eefque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Dover
#265 of 428 in Milan
47 reviews
Hotel Pavone
#334 of 428 in Milan
124 reviews
Hotel Roxy
#240 of 428 in Milan
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cinque Giornate Hotel
#318 of 428 in Milan
117 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Cervo Milan
Hotel Cervo Milan
#220 of 428 in Milan
406 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#283 of 428 in Milan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atena Hotel

Property: Atena Hotel
Address: Viale Piave 5, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Atena Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atena Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing