We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So and so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #156 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So and so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Very little room, the Tv was broken and the internet connection was really slow. The room was clean, and so the bathroom

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    88
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
45
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for the long weekend over Easter, when Milan is devoid of Milanese. It was a very small room - and your knees touched the other wall when sat on the loo (which also meant almost climbing over the toilet to get to the shower). However, if you are not well built this is no problem :) The only light in the room was a bright halogen white industrial light but the bathroom had a make-up friendly light :) We found the owner/staff of the hotel really wonderful - thanks :) On the same road, very close to the Firenze, are two very good venues for aperitivo time (Milanese Happy Hour whereby you pay for a drink and generally get to eat an all you like buffet - but behave modestly, no one likes a glutten and that is not the point of aperitivo time, small portions and returning is much better than piled high). We arrived into Bergamo, the bus into central Milan was easy and there is a train which stops just 5 minutes up the road (1 stop from the main station) from the hotel which helps if you are carrying big bags.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swissrmeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiveliscombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I would definitely recommend this very good small “Piccolo” hotel. Just returned from a weeks trip to Milan - very friendly owners, clean and well managed. Location was great -very good cafes and restaurants nearby with easy access to the centre by bus and metro. Excellent 40 minute walk into the centre – through the park, past the museum and into the shopping area. Breakfast good, bedroom functional, shower small – the owners are keen to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CityBreakSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We chose this hotel for proximity to Fiera mIlano (conference centre) and pretty good value for Milan.
The hotel is appropriately named, with tiny elevators (Which is typical for Italy), stairway and bathroom. For a short stay, the breakfast is tolerable, but avoid if you want a comfortable longer stay.
Conveniently located near to bus to Duomo and near cafes and restaurants, but with that comes noisy street traffic well into the night. Bring earplugs.
Wireless is available but very slow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street need earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We spent a few days at the Piccolo in January. First impressions were that it was small and dated but everything was super clean and well taken care of. The room and bathroom were spacey, except for the shower cubicle which was pretty small. The breakfast was nice with juice, coffee machine, selection of ham and cheese, bread rolls, pastry and cereal. Location was good with easy access to the centre by bus and a metro stop 10 minutes away. Very affordable public transport! Lots of affordable cafes and restaurants nearby as well as a little supermarket. There is a fantastic gelato place just 5 mins away! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

I was surprised after reading the reviews of this hotel how unhappy I was with the Piccolo. The worst part was the bed. I think a sleeper sofa would have been more comfortable. You could actually feel the springs in the bed. It seemed like it was a hotel for business travelers. The management was very nice so if sleeping well is not a priority, you might be ok!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkeller1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBelcastro, Direttore at Piccolo Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Mr Keller,
we are very very sorry that you slept so so bad in April 2011.
We inform you however that in June 2014 we renovated our rooms with modern furnishings and new mattresses and pillows more comfortable.
We look forward to see you again in our hotel,
Best regards
Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We spent 3 nights in Milan and chose Piccolo based on price and recommendations from Trip Advisor. The Owner 'John' speaks fluent English and was of great assistance as to his staff. The rooms are basic while the bathrooms well equipped & clean. Small showers cubicles so if you are of biggish build consider an alternative. Buffet Breakfast was excellent and WiFi is offered. Getting around is easy via the number 57 Bus or alternatively you can walk to the main city or catch a tram. Laundry, supermarket and other speciality shops in close proximity. We found the walls to be somewhat paper thin as our neighbours woke us one night, revelling over an AC Milan soccer win. The street noise of a weekend is a bit horrid as patrons spill out of a night club just around the corner. But other than this our stay was terrific and would recommend the hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Losanna
Hotel Losanna
#207 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qualys Hotel Nasco
Qualys Hotel Nasco
#86 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#68 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
UNA Hotel Scandinavia
UNA Hotel Scandinavia
#74 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Berlino
Hotel Berlino
#128 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
ADI Hotel Poliziano Fiera
ADI Hotel Poliziano Fiera
#132 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel

Property: Piccolo Hotel
Address: Via Piero della Francesca 60, 20154 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#95 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piccolo is a modern 3-star hotel in a quiet neighbourhood of Milan. It is directly managed by the Belcastro family, hoteliers since 1960, who take great care with assisting their guests throughout their stay in Milan. The Hotel offer you a free Wi-Fi in the whole building and excellent public transport links. Available from 7am until 9.30Am, the Buffet Self-Service Breakfast is available in a large and bright room. All the rooms are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom with shower; a reading and TV lounge with international channels are also available. Upon request you can use a private and guarded Garage. You will also find a 24-hour Reception with fax and photocopying service. Piccolo Hotel is nearby from the MICO congress centre (400 mt.), In the FieraMilanoCity trade fair area, and a 20 minutes journey on public transport from the FieraMilano exhibition centre in Rho. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing