We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but noisy”
Review of 22 Marzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
22 Marzo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Central but noisy”
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We arrived on a Friday (for 2 nights) to a friendly welcome, actually all the staff were very nice and the room was well serviced.
Our room which faced the street was compact , it had lime coloured walls and ceiling with poor lighting in both the bedroom and bathroom, in fact the bathroom was very dull.
The single beds were comfortable but the pillows were flat and need replacing. The TV was mounted high on the wall so there was repositioning necessary on the bed to view it comfortably.

Good size Latte Macciato available at the reception for €2, this was very nice.

The hotel was clean but it is old, the breakfast area on the ground floor is crammed near the internet points and the lift. Breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries, yoghurts and buscits, it was a bit above the Italian average. It was not the ideal place to linger over the meal so we got this out of the way very quickly. On one occasion, there were not enough seats & tables for the guests.

Although our room had double glazing, we still could not block the street noise. The park outside was a meeting place well into the evening and early in the morning.

The location is good with a 20 minute direct walk to the Duomo.
Heading towards the Duomo, just behind McDonalds there is a supermarket (open till 20:30 but closed Sunday).

Although the walls seemed solid, we could clearly hear the neighbouring room as they chatted and socialised into the night. We eventually tapped the wall at 3am and they stopped, we assume they didn't realise!

We took the shuttle bus from Malpensa Airport to Central Rail station for €7:50 then a Taxi to the hotel, the time was 22:30 and cost was €10.60.

  • Liked — Latte Maciatto available all hours
  • Disliked — Noise & lack of privacy between rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    186
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
172
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Very central hotel. I walk to Duomo. Near the 22 Marzo hotel there are great restaurants and good stores for shopping and also supermarket. It is possible to make late check-in with no preoccupation and also the check out is till 11.am. The personal couldn't be more kind, always care about the guest and always ready to assist our staid in Milan. The all hotel is very clean, the rooms and bathrooms have daily cleaning. There are eating’s in all hotel, in the cold winter of Milan it’s very cosy to enter in a warm room. The breakfast is varieti and you can order one of the best Italian cappuccino that you could ever try, always served with a friendly “buongiono!” The reception have 2 internet points 24h free. Also if you take your own computer you have wireless access from the comfort of your room (this is really good and difficult to find in many hotels). The reception is open 24h/day and here you know that is always someone ready to help, inform or give aguidelines so your visit to Italy became more pleasant. It's easy to connect to important point in Milan-transportation from the hotelBus 60 to central station Bus 73 to Linate AirportTram 27 to Fiera Milano There are no other hotel in the center of the city with this quality, cleaning and personal attention where you can get a single room with a low price.Every time I have to go to Milan, on work or vacations I don’t lost a minute looking for another hotel, Hotel 22 Marzo as the best quality/price relation.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ideamilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Reserved a room at another hotel, and they MOVED me to Hotel 22 Marzo. So I was skeptical.

Overall, it was fine. Rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. About a 15 minute walk to Duomo. No air conditioning.

For Milan, which is pricey, its was a decent place to stay for a decent value.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank btilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I do NOT recommend staying at this hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel by taxi, I witnessed a scuffle between two men with one man pulling the other man by the neck into the hotel lobby. The taxi driver, speaking Italian, asked what was going on. He told me one man was a plain clothes police officer arresting the other man for a drug offense. I decided to check in, as it was late in the day and not convenient to find another hotel to stay in. While checking in, another undercover officer dragged another suspect into the lobby for questioning. A police car then arrived and took both men away. The hotel clerk dismissed the incident as a rare occurrence. However, the small plaza next to the hotel was filled with questionable looking people and activity. When I went to my room, I passed two men in the hallway smoking cigarettes. When I went into my room, I was hit with the thick stench of cigarette smoke.I had requested a non-smoking room and told I would get one. I asked for another room, but was told none was available. The quality of the room was nowhere near what was shown on the hotel website. All the furnishings were old and run down. The bathroom was very small. And the breakfast selection was minimal. I had planned to stay here for three days, but checked out the next morning. The room rate was 160 euros per night, very very over priced I think.

  • Liked — Close to the Milan Cathedral.
  • Disliked — Stuck with a cigarette smoke smelling room. Felt unsafe here.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atravelingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2007

The price was fair, and it was walking distance from the Duomo, but this hotel was NOT what I had expected. The rooms were hot and didnt feel clean, and compared to other places we stayed in Italy for a similar price, it did not stand up. In addition, the hotel was a 33 euro cab ride from the main train station, and a 60 euro cab ride from the airport. Overall, not a great stay.

  • Liked — Proximity to the sights
  • Disliked — the rooms!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovesniceplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrsac, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2007

I stayed in december last year and i had nice,clean and warm room!Breakfast was good and especially Michele`s cappuccino! :)Very helpful person U should ask him for help if You have any problems or even need advice.Close to Duomo, you can take a walk or take a bus 60 and arive at piazza San Babila.Close to Central Station and it makes easy to get to airport by bus.I do like the place and had very nice stay. Grazie!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank majkamaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

We got a reasonable deal luckily. We were on the 1st floor, it is quite noisy as they have tiles and not carpeting and there were those bells dinging. Also it was a bit cold, but the weather had dropped from 20 to under 10 in a matter of a day. The best bits were the staff - really nice and helpful - and the fact that it is very close the Rolling Stone venue.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
687 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 428 in Milan
454 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#64 of 428 in Milan
390 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Marzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Marzo Hotel

Property: 22 Marzo Hotel
Address: Piazza Santa Maria del Suffragio 3 | Angolo Bonvesin de la Riva, 1, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#36 Family Hotel in Milan
#62 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#66 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 22 Marzo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 22 Marzo is situated in the centre of Milan between the Duomo and the Central Station. We are just 30 metres from the bus and tram stop .(tram 12,27,bus 73,60) We also have an arrangement with a parking area just 50m from the hotel, in a top and strategic location, in one of the beautiful street of Milan, full of shops, stores, and public gardens. This excellent position, optimally served by bus, tram and subway, allows to reach important places of the city in few minutes, like The Central Station, the Exhibition of Milan and S.Siro Stadium. Hotel is close to the center, where there is the most important monument of Milan: The Dome. Linate airport is only 15 minutes far from the hotel. Also Malpensa and Orio al Serio airports are easy connected to the hotel area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your 22 Marzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 22 Marzo
22 Marzo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing