We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Clean, Quiet”
Review of 22 Marzo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
22 Marzo Hotel
Ranked #33 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean, Quiet”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Overall it's very reasonably priced and has all the basic amenities we were looking for. Fantastic for travelling on a budget. Obviously it's not one of the best hotels, if you were hoping for that you should be looking at the Grand Hyatt or something.

Pros:

1. Good location. 15 minutes to Duomo via two direct tram services.
2. Cheap. We paid 80 euros per person for 3 nights, this was in mid-summer.
3. Strong air-conditioning. Absolutely essential in Milan's summer heat and the city's lack of air conditioning! Must have been 35 degrees out there. Even Singapore's heat comes nowhere close.
4. Clean. Room and toilet were cleaned daily, despite this being a two-star hotel. Shower was a little old, not significant though.
5. Free wireless internet. Again, absolutely essential and much appreciated.
6. Amazing service. We woke up at 1am to look for food, but all the restaurants were closed. The receptionist saw and gave us croissants, we thought it was so sweet of them!
7. Quiet. We stayed in room 115 on the first floor. It faced a small park and a little alley, was very quiet though.
8. Hangers. Loads provided in closet.

Cons (not much I could think of!) :
1. Thin bedsheets. A little too thin, but manageable.
2. Small TV. Hung up on a random corner. We developed neck aches from craning our heads too much :(

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    185
    48
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
170
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

The hotel manager is called Michele - he is a very very nice fellow. The hotel is only a small hotel and as such feels welcoming, spend ten minutes having a bit of banter with Michele as his advice / recomendations over the course of your stay will be invaluable (he is an inter milan football fan - and would like nothing more than a good chat about any football you like !!!)

Remembering that this is a two star hotel so all of the add-ons that you might associate with a four or five star hotel are clearly not going to be available.

Breakfast was basic, you can have cereal, toast with jams or nuttella, juice, pastries and coffe (esspresso, americano, capachino). There are four or five tables where you can eat your breakfast before heading out to Milan.

The rooms have tiled floors throughout, you then have a wardrobe with hangers and a set of drawers. Inside the wardrobe is a small safe that you can use. I stayed in a twin room which had a bedside cabinet next to each bed with a reading light. You have air conditioning in the room. You also have a small TV showing various italian channels. You have a mirror and various plug sockets. The single beds were absolutely fine, could maybee have done with an additional pillow.

The bathroom has a stand in shower, a wash basin with big mirror and a light, there is a further plug socket for shaving, lots of fresh towels and a toilet.

The decor of your room may not be the greatest, but it is fine. Beige coloured floor tiles, pastel green walls with darker green bed spread and curtains, the wardrobes and side tables a light brown wood effect.

The hotel and your room is cleaned and tidyed every day and towels replaced.

You have wifi internet access for free in your room if you have a laptop with you, refreshments can be purchased from reception.

Considering you will be using the hotel to rest your head and purely as a base to explore Milan, this hotel is absolutely perfect - it only costs around 80 Euros a night too.

You can definately hear people getting up in the morning however or returning on a night time (the walls cant be the thickest - and of course lack of carpets).

The location is great, 10 minute bus ride from the central train station, 10 minute tram ride into the centre to see the Duemo.

You can purchase from a newspaper stall a 24 hour ticket which entitles you to ride any tram, any bus or any underground metro ...........the price....... 3 euro !!

All in all a nice room, but the hospitality of Michelle must be mentioned once again - ask him to recomend somewhere reasonable for lunch and go eat for approx 12 euros (two basic courses with wine, water and a small dessert!) with the italians down the road !!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnsdm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW DELHI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Nice hotel and relaxed stay

I have stayed for around 12 days. Very convenient location for city center and centrale train station. Hotel staff was very cooperative and helpful especially Michale……….. and his father. Both are very helpful. Room was reasonably OK. Breakfast was also OK. I will certainly stay again in this hotel.

  • Liked — very pleasant staff and management
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PANKAJNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We arrived on a Friday (for 2 nights) to a friendly welcome, actually all the staff were very nice and the room was well serviced.
Our room which faced the street was compact , it had lime coloured walls and ceiling with poor lighting in both the bedroom and bathroom, in fact the bathroom was very dull.
The single beds were comfortable but the pillows were flat and need replacing. The TV was mounted high on the wall so there was repositioning necessary on the bed to view it comfortably.

Good size Latte Macciato available at the reception for €2, this was very nice.

The hotel was clean but it is old, the breakfast area on the ground floor is crammed near the internet points and the lift. Breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries, yoghurts and buscits, it was a bit above the Italian average. It was not the ideal place to linger over the meal so we got this out of the way very quickly. On one occasion, there were not enough seats & tables for the guests.

Although our room had double glazing, we still could not block the street noise. The park outside was a meeting place well into the evening and early in the morning.

The location is good with a 20 minute direct walk to the Duomo.
Heading towards the Duomo, just behind McDonalds there is a supermarket (open till 20:30 but closed Sunday).

Although the walls seemed solid, we could clearly hear the neighbouring room as they chatted and socialised into the night. We eventually tapped the wall at 3am and they stopped, we assume they didn't realise!

We took the shuttle bus from Malpensa Airport to Central Rail station for €7:50 then a Taxi to the hotel, the time was 22:30 and cost was €10.60.

  • Liked — Latte Maciatto available all hours
  • Disliked — Noise & lack of privacy between rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Very central hotel. I walk to Duomo. Near the 22 Marzo hotel there are great restaurants and good stores for shopping and also supermarket. It is possible to make late check-in with no preoccupation and also the check out is till 11.am. The personal couldn't be more kind, always care about the guest and always ready to assist our staid in Milan. The all hotel is very clean, the rooms and bathrooms have daily cleaning. There are eating’s in all hotel, in the cold winter of Milan it’s very cosy to enter in a warm room. The breakfast is varieti and you can order one of the best Italian cappuccino that you could ever try, always served with a friendly “buongiono!” The reception have 2 internet points 24h free. Also if you take your own computer you have wireless access from the comfort of your room (this is really good and difficult to find in many hotels). The reception is open 24h/day and here you know that is always someone ready to help, inform or give aguidelines so your visit to Italy became more pleasant. It's easy to connect to important point in Milan-transportation from the hotelBus 60 to central station Bus 73 to Linate AirportTram 27 to Fiera Milano There are no other hotel in the center of the city with this quality, cleaning and personal attention where you can get a single room with a low price.Every time I have to go to Milan, on work or vacations I don’t lost a minute looking for another hotel, Hotel 22 Marzo as the best quality/price relation.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ideamilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Reserved a room at another hotel, and they MOVED me to Hotel 22 Marzo. So I was skeptical.

Overall, it was fine. Rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly & helpful. About a 15 minute walk to Duomo. No air conditioning.

For Milan, which is pricey, its was a decent place to stay for a decent value.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank btilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I do NOT recommend staying at this hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel by taxi, I witnessed a scuffle between two men with one man pulling the other man by the neck into the hotel lobby. The taxi driver, speaking Italian, asked what was going on. He told me one man was a plain clothes police officer arresting the other man for a drug offense. I decided to check in, as it was late in the day and not convenient to find another hotel to stay in. While checking in, another undercover officer dragged another suspect into the lobby for questioning. A police car then arrived and took both men away. The hotel clerk dismissed the incident as a rare occurrence. However, the small plaza next to the hotel was filled with questionable looking people and activity. When I went to my room, I passed two men in the hallway smoking cigarettes. When I went into my room, I was hit with the thick stench of cigarette smoke.I had requested a non-smoking room and told I would get one. I asked for another room, but was told none was available. The quality of the room was nowhere near what was shown on the hotel website. All the furnishings were old and run down. The bathroom was very small. And the breakfast selection was minimal. I had planned to stay here for three days, but checked out the next morning. The room rate was 160 euros per night, very very over priced I think.

  • Liked — Close to the Milan Cathedral.
  • Disliked — Stuck with a cigarette smoke smelling room. Felt unsafe here.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atravelingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#65 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Marzo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Marzo Hotel

Property: 22 Marzo Hotel
Address: Piazza Santa Maria del Suffragio 3 | Angolo Bonvesin de la Riva, 1, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Milan
#62 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#66 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 22 Marzo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 22 Marzo is situated in the centre of Milan between the Duomo and the Central Station. We are just 30 metres from the bus and tram stop .(tram 12,27,bus 73,60) We also have an arrangement with a parking area just 50m from the hotel, in a top and strategic location, in one of the beautiful street of Milan, full of shops, stores, and public gardens. This excellent position, optimally served by bus, tram and subway, allows to reach important places of the city in few minutes, like The Central Station, the Exhibition of Milan and S.Siro Stadium. Hotel is close to the center, where there is the most important monument of Milan: The Dome. Linate airport is only 15 minutes far from the hotel. Also Malpensa and Orio al Serio airports are easy connected to the hotel area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your 22 Marzo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 22 Marzo
22 Marzo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing