We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambrosiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambrosiana
Ranked #291 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location and good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Arriving in Milano during fashion week, we struggled to get good accommodation for a decent price. We booked in to Hotel Ambrosiana - the location being our main drawcard. The staff were friendly, the breakfast small, the room clean, the shower head broken, the beds comfortable and the Wifi connection good.

Room Tip: First floor so that you don't have to lug suitcases up another floor - there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gonetroppo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    50
    45
    20
    23
See reviews for
12
41
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived at 1 am so we were a little bit tired and looked forward to rest our heads. But it seems that the walls are made of paper. You can hear everything. The receptionist had a very loud Italian conversation with some lady so we couldn't sleep. As our room was very next to the bathroom, it was like a hell in the morning with all the people taking showers and using the toilet. There are showers in the room, but those do not work properly and are very holey so when I took my shower all our room was wet, even our bed. The TV didn't work. And breakfast...it was really poor, deep under my expectations. The breakfast consist of coffee, snifter of orange juice and one croissant (packed one, not fresh).
If you need to stay in Milan just for one night and nothing at all can wake you up or if you plan to be in alcohol coma it could meet your needs (I mean if you need just bed). The hotel is relatively cheap. Actually its more like a hostel. But definitely not a hotel. Otherwise I would recommend anything else.

Room Tip: As far as possible from shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukaHlisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Where to start... No air conditioning, tv didn't work sat on toilet and seat was broke, bathroom door didn't shut so no privacy, room had no working plug ins so had to use the hallway, the owner/manager was extremely creepy we were afraid to leave any belongings in the room. The window we had, had a metal blind system and when you raised it up to see outside there was no screen or anything so to have airflow in the room you were completely vulnerable to outsiders getting in... Very unsafe feeling

Room Tip: go somewhere else or just sleep in the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tylerlampley2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good points: This hotel has a good location, is cheap and has pretty cool décor. The rooms are also large and there is a lovely terrace where you can sit and relax or eat breakfast. There is also a 24 hour reception, which can come in handy.

Bad points: The showers did not work very well and were very dated. However, the main problem was the heat. I stayed here in the middle of August when temperatures topped 35 degrees in Milan, and remained very hot at night. There is no air conditioning in the rooms so I found it impossible to sleep whilst I was at Ambrosiana. To make matters worse, we were sleeping with the window open at night because of the heat, and the curtains were not great. As a result some mosquitos got into our room and my friend and I were extremely badly bitten, which sort of ruined my stay at Ambrosiana.

Overall it is certainly not awful, but I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The standards of the Hotel are more like the ones of a hostel, even though there is a 24h reception. the rooms are okay and clean, but the showers aren't working properly and there is no aricondition, which makes it almost impossible to sleep there in summer.
also, the location isn't the best one, you have to take the metro (which is a 10 minutes walk away) to get into the towncentre. but it's near the big -(but unfortunately not very pretty) main-shopping-street. the next supermarket is 15 minutes walk away. anything else is too far away to walk to (we walked the way into town once, which was okay as we like to walk a lot, but it would be too annoying to walk the same long way everyday again).

there is a little terrace in the court but you can't sit there for too long as there thousands of mosquitos, so take care!!
the only good thing: the staff was very nice and helpfuland even helped us to order some food at the takeaway :)

there is a reason, why the hotel is so cheap, and it's okay for people who are searching for a simple and cheap place to stay, but i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Good location, cheap and a very cosy atmosphere. The staff was also very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. Breakfast was included: it was sober but good enough.
However, the shared shower was dirty and cramped, the only power socket in my room was broken and all the noise in the surrounding rooms and hallway was completely audible inside my room, which was very annoying.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chocobofeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here june 2013 & the rooms were not cleaned, private bathroom was a disgrace & constantly smelt awful, really out of date, old & broken plugs, also in desperate need of cillit bang & bleach ! no cleans sheets or towels, early hours staff was miserable & rude ! Room was like a furnace with no fans or air con available ! Several flights of stairs, no lifts & no help with cases ! Over priced dump !

Helpful?
Thank Adele002
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#270 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Milano Hotel America
#237 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Hotel Edy
#203 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#379 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#208 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
OstellOlinda
#365 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosiana

Property: Ambrosiana
Address: Via Plinio 22, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ambrosiana 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located inside the courtyard of a building and for this reason it is safer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambrosiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosiana Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing