We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charly”
Review of Charly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charly
Ranked #176 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The towels were extremely thin, but did the job of drying. The hotel was very convenient to the main train terminal and to the subway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marilou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Charly hotel is a very nice place to stay near Milano Centrale, and also close to the Lima subway station. The buildings are very well maintained. Rooms had a fair size and bathroom was good too. People in front desk were very helpful and efficient and did indicate nearby supermarkets and a very good and not expensive restaurant two blocks away (Little Italy). Breakfast was average, with no fruits. Overall recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I usually do not fancy two-star-hotels, especially in Italy, where the overall quality of hotels is very low and the service attitude bad and uninspired. My rule about Italian hotels generally suggests that one should always deduct at least one of the hotel's indicated stars to get to the "real" star-rating the hotel would deserve in a more "civilized" country. With Milan's Hotel Charly, it's just the opposite! It is listed as a two-star-hotel, but really feels like a three star!

Most of the hotels in Milan's central station area are shabby and often disgusting - I even had a bedbugs-experience in the nearby Hotel Impero a few years ago! The Hotel Charly is a hidden gem amongst all those low-quality-junk-hotels surrounding it: it is clean (really!), has charm (incredible!), serves a plain, but decent breakfast on a lovely glass garden loggia, and if you book a nonsmoking-room overlooking the garden, you might even feel like you're not in Milan, but in a much more romantic place ;-)

The rooms are in two neighboring villas from the 19th century, maybe 5 minutes by foot to the central station (subway station "stazione centrale") and 5 minutes by foot to the subway station "lima". Given the age of the buildings, they obviously don't have an elevator, so don't overload your luggage. Just across the street, you'll find a great traditional bakery at the corner, and a few block towards the city center you'll discover some of Milan's finest art nouveau buildings. The neighborhood near the central station is not the best, but Hotel Charly is in a more residential and surely not that scary area of the neighborhood.

For a two-star-hotel, it's really a great catch! As long as I can't afford the luxury-five-star-hotels in Milan, I'll definitely return to Hotel Charly ;-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lovely garden! The rooms facing the street might be nosier. Oh, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank conceptual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Charly for 1 evening while enroute to Venice, Italy from Nice, France. While Milan the city was quite disappointing, Hotel Charley exeeded my expectations. The check-in was very simple, although my wife and I don't like leaving our passports at the counter for check-in while the receptionist fills out all the info. We were able to pick them up about 10 minutes after checking in. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very nice. Our only complaint was the bed was extremely hard. Probably the hardest we encountered on our 2 week honeymoon in Europe. The breakfast in the morning was really nice by European standards, and the location was an easy walk from the Central Train station and to the closest metro (subway stop).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av8ir2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The people don't care that much but the rooms are spacious and nice. Don't expect a great breakfast, very average.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed two nights and got a cosy room at the third floor (no elevator). The simple breakfast with fresh coffee is served on the terrace overlooking a nice garden. Very refreshing in hot en busy Milano. 7 minutes by foot from the back of the Central Station, where you can take also the special bus to Malpensa (1 hour)
Some tips:
- Although the streets in the neighbourhood are not so nice, they were safe, also at night when we came late from the Metro station (600 m. away)
- Take tram 1 from nearby (300 m) for a tour through Milano, with a touristic map in your hand. (ask the helpful owners). Don't forget to buy tickets in advance. Get off and on from Monte Napoleone street, before it's not interesting.
- When you are at the Duomo, visit the roof and you will discover a world of amazing architectural intricacy . Imagine that also hundreds of years ago people were making a tour there (now with the elevator).
- Visit Monte Napoleone (fancy shops and neighbourhood) and Brera with caffee's and restaurants at noon and in the evening. Take care, they might charge you up to 7 euro for coperta and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

walking distance from the center, maybe around 500m
we stayed in a double room --> enough cabinets to store our things; very comfortable; a little noisy
safe hotel, 24h reception, you have your own key to the entrance, so you can stay out as late as you can
breakfast was just ok --> typical italian breakfast: croissant, coffee
some of the staff didn't speak english, at all

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AC_Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#183 of 431 in Milan
457 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#151 of 431 in Milan
557 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#156 of 431 in Milan
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#229 of 431 in Milan
403 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#195 of 431 in Milan
194 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#75 of 431 in Milan
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charly

Address: Via Lodovico Settala 76, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#42 Family Hotel in Milan
#101 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £59 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charly 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charly Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing